WARDRUNA Release New Single and Video “Lyfjaberg”

“Lyfjaberg”, a new stunning music video from Norwegian folk group WARDRUNA can be viewed below.

When circumstances forced WARDRUNA to postpone the release of their upcoming album “Kvitravn”, it was clear to them that they still wanted to release new music. Music and art can potentially carry great meaning in times of uncertainty. They decided that now was not the time to stay silent and headed straight back into creative mode and the studio to write and record the song “Lyfjaberg”.

The Old Norse word “Lyfjaberg” means Healing-hill or Healing-mountain and is known from Norse mythology and the Eddic poem Fjölsvinnsmál as a place of comfort and cure for the «sick and sore» who manage to climb the mountain and bear offerings at the shrines there – a gift demands a gift in return.

Einar Selvik comments:

“The song expresses that climbing a tough mountain, both in reality and metaphorically, is a mental as well as a physical effort. I have tried to write this journey up the mountain as one for the mind and spirit as much as the feet and body. Anything of true value, comes at a true cost.”

The video for “Lyfjaberg” was mainly filmed in the mountains at Tustna in Norway.

“We shot the video in early May, when all of a sudden winter decided to return with full strength and we ended up wading in half a meter snow for three days and nights. On many levels, the process of making of this video reflected the meaning of the song itself. We all had to climb a few of our inner mountains to get it done. Huge thanks to Ragnarok Film and everyone involved for jumping into this project with full force from day one. We hope you will endure the walk and enjoy the song!”

The lyrics and English translations are found in the description below the video.


The song is also available on all digital platforms and you can even order a special limited 12” Vinyl through the following links:

The limited “Lyfjaberg” vinyl will only be available for pre-orders between June 5th until June 30th. The vinyl will be available for purchase strictly during that period of time and will never be sold again afterwards.

Wardruna - Lyfjaberg

The “Lyfjaberg” vinyl features:

  • 12″ white vinyl with etched B-side.
  • 45 rpm.
  • Lyrics with English translations printed on the artwork.


WARDRUNA‘s new album “Kvitravn” will be released on January 22nd, 2021.

Wardruna - Kvitravn

1. Synkverv
2. Kvitravn
3. Skugge
4. Grá
5. Fylgjutal
6. Munin
7. Kvit hjort
8. Viseveiding
9. Ni
10. Vindavlarljod
11. Andvevarljod