SKÁLMÖLD Release First Song “Sverðið” From Upcoming Album “Sorgir”

A brand new lyric video by Icelandic Viking Metal Heroes SKÁLMÖLD can be seen below.  “Sverðið” (Icelandic for sword) is the first track off their upcoming fifth album “Sorgir”, set to be released on October 12th via Napalm Records.

SKÁLMÖLD states: “We are happy to share with you the first single from our album “Sorgir” (“Sorrow”). This (quite folky) song is an epic tale of a brave viking fighting a battle and winning against the odds, until his sword brakes in half and he is killed.”

“Sorgir”, the album title (eng.: sorrows), gives the headline for this concept album that is divided in two parts: The first four songs tell four short stories about tragedies and death. It is called Sagnir (tales). The second chapter called Svipir (ghosts) thickens the plot by telling the same four stories from a different perspective.

“Sorgir” is a dark, cold and tragic album dealing with Icelandic myths of superstition, shadows, spectre and despair. Look elsewhere for something light, warm and comforting! Soaring melodies, folk elements and harsh outbursts remind of the chilly beauty of SKÁLMÖLD‘s home country – Iceland, the eternal and awe-inspiring source of inspiration for neckbreakers such as “Gangari” and the gripping epic “Mara”.

The tracklist reads as follows:

1. Ljósið
2. Sverðið
3. Brúnin
4. Barnið
5. Skotta
6. Gangári
7. Móri
8. Mara

The album is available for pre-order in the following formats:

– 1 CD Digipak + Bonus Track
– 2 LP Gatefold in different colors

Pre-Order now here:

Skálmöld - Sorgir

Leave comment