STYLE: ORIGIN: FinlandFORMED: 2004LABEL: Redhouse Finland Music Publishing
  • Jouni Valjakka - Vocals, Guitars
  • Mikko Mattila - Guitars
  • Kai Palo - Bass

It’s not every band whose unique style of metal can coin a new term but Finland’s Whispered aren’t interested in playing by the rules. Melding northern melodic metal, nuances from Japanese folk and symphonic elements and you’re somewhere on the way to Whispered’s ‘samurai metal’.

Formed back in 2004 by vocalist and guitarist Jouni Valjakka, it was clear that from early on his love for Japan and its ancient culture would make its mark on forging the unique Whispered sound. This was cemented when he discovered that traditional Japanese instruments like shamisen, shakuhachi and koto perfectly compliment metal music.

The band’s debut album Thousand Swords, released 2010, was a loose concept album based on the legend of Musashibō Benkei, a japanese monk. Whetting appetites for what would follow, Shogunate Macabre was released in 2014 and was darker than its predecessor, introducing a more brutal and mature version of Whispered without forgetting the melodic and symphonic aspects. The lyrics revolved around Japanese mythology, ghosts and bushido.

The band once again led the way in 2016 with the release of their third and epic masterpiece Metsutan – Songs of the Void out on May 20th via Redhouse FMP / Inverse Records. The album received huge praise from the metal medias all over the world, and the band also stated that this is their best work yet.

Whispered has made their mark in the live circuit making notable appearance in major festivals in Finland, such as Tuska Open Air, Nummirock etc. as well as supporting the likes of Korpiklaani, Turisas, Ensiferum and reaching as far as Japan in 2013. 2016 is proving to be the busiest year for Whispered yet. With several shows in Finland plus an appearance at UK’s top metal festival Bloodstock Open Air followed by an extensive UK tour in the fall.


Metsutan - Songs of the Void / 2016

  • Album Info
  • 2016
  • Redhouse Finland Music Publishing

1. 血ノ舞 – Chi No Odori
2. Strike!
3. Exile of the Floating World
4. Sakura Omen
5. 劍聖 – Tsukiakari
6. Our Voice Shall Be Heard
7. 月明 – Kensei
8. Warriors of Yama
9. Victory Grounds Nothing
10. Bloodred Shores of Enoshima

Whispered’s latest album, Metsutan – Songs of the Void, released in 2016.

Shogunate Macabre / 2014

  • Album Info
  • 2014
  • Redhouse Finland Music Publishing

1. Jikininki
2. Hold the Sword
3. Fallen Amaterasu
4. One Man’s Burden
5. Kappa
6. Lady of the Wind
7. Unrestrained
8. Upon My Honor

Four years after their debut album released, Shogunate Macabre came out via Redhouse Finland Music Publishing.

Thousand Swords / 2010

  • Album Info
  • 2010
  • Redhouse Finland Music Publishing

1. Intro – Hajimari
2. Thousand Swords
3. Faceless
4. Of Honor
5. Dead Cold Inside
6. Fear Never Within
7. Blindfold
8. Wrath of Heaven
9. Blade in the Snow

Thousand Swords is Whispered’s debut album, released in 2010.

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.