STYLE: ORIGIN: NorwayFORMED: 2004LABEL: Seasons of Mist
  • Hvàll (Jarle Kvåle) - Bass
  • Steingrim (Jørn Holen) - Drums
  • Sture Dingsøyr - Vocals, Guitars
  • Strom (Stian Bakketeig) - Guitars

Hailing from Sogndal, Norway, Vreid (meaning “Wrath” in English) was born from the ashes of iconic black metal band Windir, after the death of their vocalist Valfar. Originally, the lineup consisted of three former Windir members and a new guitarist, but as of 2010, the whole lineup is all former Windir members.

Although Vreid can be considered of the “Sognametal” sound coined by their predecessors of  Windir, their style is often referred to as “black’n’roll” and Metal Hammer UK described their music as “a unique time travel in metal” as elements of 70’s rock, 80’s classic metal, and Norwegian black metal are all clearly audible.”

Vreid have released eight full-length albums, their newest, Lifehunger, released in 2018 via Seasons of Mist.


Kraft / 2004

  • Album Info
  • 2004
  • Tabu Recordings

1. Wrath Of Mine
2. Raped By Light
3. Helvete
4. Unholy Water
5. Eldast, Utan å Gro
6. Evig Pine
7. Empty
8. Songen Åt Fangen

Kraft is the first full length album released by Vreid.

Pitch Black Brigade / 2006

  • Album Info
  • 2006
  • Tabu Recordings

1. Då Draumen Rakna
2. Left To Hate
3. Pitch Black
4. The Red Smell
5. Hengebjørki
6. Our Battle
7. Hang ‘Em All
8. Eit Kapittel For Seg Sjølv

Pitck Black Brigade is Vreid‘s second studio album.

I Krig / 2007

  • Album Info
  • 2007
  • Indie Recordings

2.Under isen
3.I krig
4.Væpna lengsel
7.Dei daude steig av grav
9.Millom hav og fjell

I Krig is the third studio album from Vreid. “I krig” means “At War”.
All lyrics are based upon the poetry collection “Dikt fra krigstiden” by Gunnar Reiss Anderssen (1946).

Milorg / 2009

  • Album Info
  • 2009
  • Indie Recordings

3.Speak Goddamnitt
“Blücher pt. II
5.Heroes & Villains
6.Argumento Ex Silentio

Milorg is the fourth album by Vreid.

V / 2011

  • Album Info
  • 2011
  • Indie Recordings
1. Arche
2. The Blood Eagle
3. Wolverine Bastards
4. The Sound of the River
5. Fire on the Mountain
6. The Other and the Look
7. Slave
8. Welcome to the Asylum
9. Then We Die
V is the fifth studio album by Vreid. “The Sound of the River” was released as the albums only single.

Welcome Farewell / 2013

  • Album Info
  • 2013
  • Indie Recordings

1. The Ramble
2. Way Of The Serpent
3. The Devils Hand
4. Welcome Farewell
5. The Reap
6. Sights Of Old
7. Black Waves
8. At The Brook
9. Fossil (Bonus Track)

Welcome Farewell is he 6th studio album from Vreid. It was released in 2013 by Indie Recordings. There is a music video for the single “The Reap”. The album was recorded at Studio 1184, Austaberget and on the road in the UK & Italy.

Sólverv / 2015

  • Album Info
  • 2015
  • Indie Recordings

1. Haust
2. Sólverv
3. Geitaskadl
4. Ætti sitt fjedl
5. Når byane brenn
6. Storm frå vest
7. Fridom med daudens lang

Sólverv is the 7th studio album from Vreid. The album was released in 2015, under Indie Recordings. It features one music video for the single “Når byane brenn”.

Lifehunger / 2018

  • Album Info
  • 2018
  • Sesons of Mist

1. Flowers & Blood
2. One Hundred Years
3. Lifehunger
4. The Dead White
5. Hello Darkness
6. Black Rites In the Black Nights
7. Sokrates Must Die
8. Heimatt

Lifehunger” is the 8th studio album by Vreid. It was released by Seasons of Mist.


Tons of Rock started back in 2014 with bands such as Volbeat, Anthrax, Slayer and Ghost as headliners. Back then the festival was in an old fortress called “Fredriksten Festning”

July 9, 2019 by Kenneth Larsen
Date Venue City Country Info Tickets
DISCLAIMER! None of the tourdates presented on this page belong to Nordic Metal. All the tourdates content belong to Bandsintown. We are using their data through a written consent between Nordic Metal and Bandsintown. Tourdates are shown as they are and Nordic Metal is not responsible for any false information.