STYLE: ORIGIN: FinlandFORMED: 2006LABEL: Inverse Records
  • Jani Ikonen - vocals
  • Jussi Heikkilä - guitars
  • Janne Niva - guitars
  • Sami Knuutinen - bass
  • Jussi Sauvola - keyboards
  • Aleksi Heiskanen - drums

The story of VERIKALPA began in the year 2006 when Jani Ikonen and Sami Knuutinen began dreaming of a band project that would be centered on folk/troll influenced metal music and the songs would be sang in Finnish and with the accent of Oulu.

The guys loved the material so much that they decided not to leave it to a project stage and started hunting for players around the band and Jussi Heikkilä would be the first addition as a guitar player. At this stage Jani also wanted to concentrate on vocals and skip the guitar playing so Janne Niva was added as a second guitarist.

The second step for the band was to start releasing material yet the music needed keyboards to give the songs more folk/troll spice. Jussi Sauvola from Catamenia was asked to play a few songs to the songs but he liked the material so much that he wanted to become a permanent member of the band. VERIKALPA didn’t yet have a drummer and had to resort to programmed drums, but session drummer Aleksi Heiskanen also chose to become a permanent member.

In the autumn of 2015, VERIKALPA played a first live show in Hevimesta (Oulu). In December 2016, the band started recording the debut album.


Finnish folk metal band VERIKALPA released a new music video from their critically acclaimed debut album “Taistelutahto“. Watch “Viinapiru” here: Band comments: “HEAR YE HEAR YE! Now you officially have

May 18, 2018 by Kris Murias

Finnish troll/folk metal band Verikalpa released their anticipated debut album ‘Taistelutahto‘ today via Inverse Records. The band earlier released two singles Pahan Laulu & Tyrmä which both got stunning feedback from both fans and media. Verikalpa also

February 20, 2018 by Tero Tolkki

Taistelutahto / 2018

Verikalpa - Taistelutahto
  • Album Info
  • 2018
  • Inverse Records

1. Viimiseen asti
2. Tyrmä
3. Neidonryöstäjä
4. Kuoppajaiset
5. Pahan Laulu
6. Verijuhula
7. Taistelutahto
8. Viinapiru
9. Kuoleman Suo
10. Rautatammi

VERIKALPA‘s debut album “Taistelutahto” was released February 16th 2018 via Inverse Records. The band earlier released two singles “Pahan Laulu” & “Tyrmä” which both got stunning feedback from both fans and media.

“Taistelutahto” was recorded in the SURF-SOUND studio in Oulu with the mastermind Janne Huotari who whipped out all that the guys had to give. After pouring everything they had to the album it was finally mastered by Svante Forsbäck of CHARTMAKERS and so “Taistelutahto” (Battlewill) was born.

The lyrics are in Finnish and more specifically in the accent of Oulu. The songs are tales about drinking, hangovers, trolls and of course bloodspattered eternal battles.

DISCLAIMER! None of the tourdates presented on this page belong to Nordic Metal. All the tourdates content belong to Bandsintown. We are using their data through a written consent between Nordic Metal and Bandsintown. Tourdates are shown as they are and Nordic Metal is not responsible for any false information.

Verikalpa - Taistelutahto

Never have I wanted to raise a beer to the sky more than I did while listening to Verikalpa’s  Taistelutahto. These guys sure know how to set the mood for a

March 2, 2018 by Riffvader
No livereviews found for this band.

If you are interested of going to concerts and writing reviews, contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.
No videos found for this band.