Velvet Ocean

Velvet Ocean
STYLE: ORIGIN: FinlandFORMED: 2015LABEL: Helsinki Records
  • Riitu Ronkainen - vocals
  • Jarkko Ronkainen - guitar & vocals
  • Jani Lehtinen - guitar
  • Tuomas Vesa - bass
  • Bastian Schallschmidt - drums
  • Jami Alaverronen - synths
  • Arto Alikoski - cello

Velvet Ocean is an alternative melodic metal band from Oulu, Northern Finland. The story of the band began a couple of years ago as a co-writing project of the main singer Riitu and guitarist Jake. As songs kept popping up the project soon evolved into a studio project with both session musicians and later band members joining in. Early in the pre-production stage Oulu symphonic orchestra cello players Arto Alikoski and Harri Österman joined as well as the established Finnish keyboard player Marco Sneck. The recorded album, later given the name “Purposes and Promises” was passed to Fascination Street Studios Johan Örnborg and Jens Bogren for mixing and mastering, respectively. The name of the album describes the motivation behind the album project. It has been the sole purpose of our lives for the recent years and the promise that was made to complete it has kept the project together throughout the hard working period. ​​​​

We believe that music is a connection between one’s emotions and the outside world and that’s why our songs tell stories about things that have been going on in our personal lives. The musical style of Velvet Ocean is basically derived from all the music we have ever heard and draws influences also from other genres than metal music. It is somewhat reminiscent of other contemporary melodic metal bands with female vocals, but adds a twist of pop and grunge as well as distinctive drum beats and acoustic instruments.

Our music is about honesty and dealing with certain emotions that some difficulties or challenges in life have evoked. It’s about expressing yourself and dealing with negative feelings in a way that other people might also be able to relate to.​​​​

​​Riitu, the singer and main songwriter of Velvet Ocean describes her attitude towards music like this: “Music is very important to me. It’s almost as important as the air that I breathe. Music gives a meaning to my life. It’s also a sort of therapy to me. With music I can express the thoughts and emotions that I go through. I’m the kind of person that I have a very vivid imagination and I feel that this is a quality that is very useful in making music. Music connects me very strongly to my emotions in a way that sometimes feels even a little bit excessive. It is very important to me to communicate with the people listening to our music. I mean an emotional level connection that would make the people try to understand the feelings we have put into the blend that has eventually made the music exist. I am also very visual in my composing. I would like the mere music and the sound to fill the whole inner space of the person listening with images and landscapes. Today the world is packed with visual information and leaves less to the imagination which is kind of a negative thing sometimes. In the end, I would love to think that our music will prevail after everything we’ve gone through.”
​​​Velvet Ocean’s debut album “Purposes and Promises” will be released in 2019 through Helsinki Records and distributed by Warner Music Finland. The first single “Requiem” was released 9.5.2019 and the second single “Truth or Illusion” came out 30.8.2019.​

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.
Date Venue City Country Info Tickets
DISCLAIMER! None of the tourdates presented on this page belong to Nordic Metal. All the tourdates content belong to Bandsintown. We are using their data through a written consent between Nordic Metal and Bandsintown. Tourdates are shown as they are and Nordic Metal is not responsible for any false information.