STYLE: ORIGIN: FinlandFORMED: 1999LABEL: Columbia
  • Jussi Selo - vocals
  • Janne Selo - guitars
  • Pasi Viitala - guitars
  • Teemu Mäntykorpi - bass
  • Jani Auvinen - drums
  • Tuomas Lepistö - keyboards

Uniklubi is a Finnish alternative rock band. It was founded in 1999. The band became well known for its hit Rakkautta ja piikkilankaa in 2004. The band’s lyrics are in the Finnish language. All members are from the town of Hämeenkyrö, except the bassist Teemu Rajamäki, who is from Ikaalinen. Originally they called themselves ‘Pincenez’ but they did not get much positive feedback about it, so they renamed their band ‘Uniklubi’, a Finnish word that means ‘Dream Club’.

The band was founded in 1999 by Jussi and Pasi. The name “Uniklubi” didn’t exist at the time; they went by the name Pincenez (type of glasses without spectacles; it’s a French word). The first songs they played were covers of their favorite bands, in English. However, as they began writing their own songs, Jussi felt more confident with his mother tongue, Finnish. They eventually changed the name to Uniklubi (“dream club”), which has no significance for them, really.

By playing their first gigs, they earned some money they used to go into studio and record their first demo-tapes.

While recording the first album “Rakkautta Ja Piikkilankaa” the drummer left the band. Antti Matikainen replaced him and has been part of Uniklubi ever since.

The first single was “Rakkautta Ja Piikkilankaa”. It was voted by YleX as the most popular song of the year. The album got into the charts (Top 4) and Uniklubi got their first important award: They won an Emma Award (Newcomer of the year). “Rakkautta Ja Piikkilankaa” reached platinum in Finland (They sold more than 30,000 copies of the album). Other releases of “Rakkautta Ja Piikkilankaa”: Kylmää, Näiden Tähtien Alla and Totuus.

The second album, “Kehä” was released on November 2 and the album entered the charts at number one. It stayed in the charts for more than 20 weeks in the Top20 and even the first release of the album “Kaikki Mitä Mä Annoin” entered the charts at number one. The second release was “Kiertää Kehää” and entered the charts at number ten.

During summer 2006, the singer was diagnosed with a bump on his vocal cords, after losing his voice repeatedly during concerts. The band had to cancel a tour in Germany, which would have been their first outside Scandinavia, for Jussi to undergo throat surgery. Everything went fine, and the few gigs performed during the Christmas holidays were marked by a beautiful, new clear voice.

The band entered studios again at the beginning of 2007, and have already released their first single, “Vnus”, in May, along with the track “Aurinkoni” (My Sun) as a b-side. The new album, titled “Luotisade” was released in August 2007.

On March 4, 2009 the band released a new album titled “Syvään valoon.” The first single from the album was “Polje”. They later released “Kukka” as the new single.

During the summer 2010 Uniklubi had several gigs added with the unique group of musicians. They had one pianist, two violinists, altoviolinist and cellist.

On September 22, Uniklubi released their fifth studio album titled “Kultakalat“. On 31 September the band started their album release tour which will last out until the late summer of 2011.


Tulennielijä / 2018

  • Album Info
  • 2018
  • Playground Music

Kultakalat / 2010

  • Album Info
  • 2010
  • Columbia/Sony BMG Music Entertainment Finland

1. Ikuinen
2. Aikasi on nyt
3. Valvekooma
4. Kultakalat
5. Juhlahuone
6. Hopea
7. Maailma puhaltaa
8. Silkkiin käärittyinä
9. Poispäin minusta
10. Sinä maalaat mieleni

Syvään Valoon / 2009

  • Album Info
  • 2009
  • Columbia/Sony BMG Music Entertainment Finland

1. Jäämaisema
2. Polje
3. Sydän
4. Anteeksi
5. En rakasta sinua enää
6. Kukka
7. Mitä vittua?
8. Syvä valo
9. Pyörät
10. Liian lähellä
11. Niin kuin kaikki muut
12. Loppuun asti

Luotisade / 2007

  • Album Info
  • 2007
  • Universal Media Group, Lumbargo Records

1. Kiveen
2. Älä jää
3. Vnus
4. Luotisade
5. Myrkky
6. Vapauta meidät
7. Varjoon juuttunut
8. Paha sisällä
9. Aika muistaa muistot
10. Varjot
11. Se ei lähde pois

Kehä / 2005

  • Album Info
  • 2005
  • Lumbargo Records

1. Kiertää kehää
2. Haudattu
3. Huomenna
4. Uneen
5. Lasinsirpaleilla
6. Kaikki mitä mä annoin
7. Ei kukaan
8. Tuhka
9. Palvelija
10. Menneisyys
11. Kaksi kuvaa

Rakkautta ja piikkilankaa / 2004

  • Album Info
  • 2004
  • Lumbago Records, Universal

1. Kiinni Jään
2. Rakkautta Ja Piikkilankaa
3. Totta Vai Tarua
4. Totuus
5. Kylmää
6. Näiden Tähtien Alla
7. Niin Se Meidät Löytää
8. Hetki Hiljaisuutta
9. Kuivilla
10. Lupa Tuntea
11. Olemme Yhtä

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.
Date Venue City Country Info Tickets
2023-12-02T19:00:00Zemppi Areena OyKempeleFinlandInfoTickets
DISCLAIMER! None of the tourdates presented on this page belong to Nordic Metal. All the tourdates content belong to Bandsintown. We are using their data through a written consent between Nordic Metal and Bandsintown. Tourdates are shown as they are and Nordic Metal is not responsible for any false information.