STYLE: , ORIGIN: SwedenFORMED: 2004LABEL: Century Media Records
  • Johannes Andersson-Vocals, Bass
  • Jonathan Hultén-Guitars
  • Adam Zaars-Guitars
  • Oscar Leander-Drums

Tribulation are a Swedish heavy metal band from Arvika that formed in 2004. In early 2009, the band released its debut studio album The Horror. Their second full-length studio album, The Formulas of Deathwas released in 2013. In 2015, they released their third full-length studio album Children of the Night which showed a departure from the death metal sound of their first two albums, drawing significantly on traditional heavy metal, psychedelic rock, gothic rock, as well as the occult and supernatural mythology.

Emerging from the darkness of the Swedish death metal abyss in 2004, the band immediately stood apart from what was already a crowded scene, betraying an uncompromising vision that refused to be shackled by any genre stereotypes.

If you noticed we are missing a video from this artist (Official one) please let us know by sending e-mail to [email protected]

Down Below / 2018

Tribulation-Down Below
  • Album Info
  • 2018
  • Century Media Records

1. The Lament
2. Nightbound
3. Lady Death
4. Subterranea
5. Purgatorio
6. Cries from the Underworld
7. Lacrimosa
8. The World
9. Here Be Dragons

Down Below is the fourth studio album by Swedish death/black/gothic metal band Tribulation. The album was released January 26, 2018 via Century Media Records. The band released a video for the song “The Lament”.

According to Loudwire, the album “showcases how adept Tribulation are at tempering moods and incorporating different influences (goth rock, traditional metal, death metal, black metal) to craft something entirely unique in a metallic world obsessed with aimless genre-mashing. What helps propel their ethereal sound even in their heaviest moments (such as the earth-cracking Subterannea, Lacrimosa) is the interplay of guitarists Adam Zaars and Jonathan Hultén. When the rhythm riffing sustains, the melodies interject, leaving Tribulation with the ability to dip back into their early roots without ever losing sight on the present.”

The Children of the Night / 2015

Tribulation-The Children of the Night
  • Album Info
  • 2015
  • Century Media Records

1. Strange Gateways Beckon
2. Melancholia
3. In the Dreams of the Dead
4. Winds
5. Själaflykt
6. The Motherhood of God
7. Strains of Horror
8. Holy Libations
9. Cauda Pavonis
10. Music from the Other

The Children of the Night is the third studio album by Swedish death/black/gothic metal band Tribulation. It was released on April 20, 2015 through Century Media Records.

The album’s sound is stark departure from the death metal style of Tribulation’s previous records. The Children of the Night features a heavy metal and extreme metal sound with elements from psychedelic rock, progressive metal, thrash metal, classic rock, hard rock, and gothic rock. It also attributes influences to various rock and metal music acts such as Mercyful FateAt the GatesLed ZeppelinHawkwind, The DoorsIron MaidenDeep Purple and Pink Floyd.

The album generally received positive reviews from music critics. Chris Dick of Decibel magazine wrote: “There are few bands who are capable of Children of the Night“. Pitchfork critic Grayson Haver Currin described the album as “a heavy metal record that wanders beyond any comfort zone” and “a sprawling, compulsory tale that doesn’t turn dull”. Loudwire’s Joe DiVita thought that the record “offers a refreshing take on a beloved style with enough extreme metal elements in tact that should please fans on both sides of the fence.” Michael Nelson of Stereogum regarded it as “the best record he has heard in 2015.”

Pitchfork’s Brandon Stosuy listed The Children of the Night as number two on his list of “The Best Metal Albums of 2015”. Spin magazine critic Colin Joyce also listed the album as number six on the publication’s list of “The 20 Best Metal Albums of 2015”.

The Formulas of Death / 2013

Tribulation-The Formulas of Death
  • Album Info
  • 2013
  • Invictus Recordings

1. Vagina Dentata
2. Wanderer in the Outer Darkness
3. Spectres
4. לילה
5. Suspiria de Profundis
6. Through the Velvet Black
7. Rånda
8. When the Sky Is Black with Devils
9. Spell
10. Ultra Silvam
11. Apparitions

The Formulas Of Death is the second full-length album by Swedish death/black/gothic metal band Tribulation, released in 2013 on Invictus Records.

The Horror / 2009

Tribulation-The Horror
  • Album Info
  • 2009
  • Pulverized Records

1. Into the Jaws of Hell
2. Crypt of Thanatophilia
3. Curse of Resurrection
4. Beyond the Horror
5. The Vampyre
6. Sacrilegious Darkness
7. Spawn of the Jackal
8. Seduced by the Smell of Rotten Flesh
9. Graveyard Ghouls

The Horror is the debut album by Swedish death/black/gothic metal band Tribulation, released in 2009 on Pulverized Records.


Ghost played sold out Hartwall Arena in Helsinki on 28.11.2019 as an additional show to their “The Ultimate Tour Named Death” tour accompanied by fellow Swedish melodic death metallers Tribulation

December 5, 2019 by Serena

We were able to catch up with Adam Zaars, guitarist of Tribulation before they set off on their European tour with Ghost. Here’s what he had to say about the

November 7, 2019 by Serena

It’s not often that you get a band like Tribulation, that combines the best of both worlds seamlessly. I’ve been eagerly awaiting this album since the release of The Lament

February 20, 2018 by Riffvader
Date Venue City Country Info Tickets
2024-03-01T13:00:00The Underworld CamdenLondonUnited KingdomInfoTickets
DISCLAIMER! None of the tourdates presented on this page belong to Nordic Metal. All the tourdates content belong to Bandsintown. We are using their data through a written consent between Nordic Metal and Bandsintown. Tourdates are shown as they are and Nordic Metal is not responsible for any false information.