This Ending

This Ending
STYLE: , ORIGIN: SwedenFORMED: 2005LABEL: Apostasy Records
  • Mårten Hansen - Vocals
  • Linus Nirbrant - Guitars
  • Peger Nagy - Guitars
  • Linus Pettersson - Bass
  • Fredrik Andersson - Drums

THIS ENDING was created in 2005, but the true history dates even earlier. The band existed in a previous incarnation as A CANOROUS QUINTET, which was formed in 1991 by Fredrik Andersson, Mårten Hansen and Linus Nirbrant. After some changes, the line-up was complete with the addition of Leo Pignon and Jesper Löfgren. The band released an EP “As Tears” (1994) and two full-length albums, “Silence Of The World Beyond” (1996) and “The Only Pure Hate” (1998). They performed numerous shows with acts including: AT THE GATES, DISSECTION, HYPOCRISY and EDGE OF SANITY to name a few, and garnered a reputation for being a very aggressive live band. They’ve gained a strong cult following since the mid nineties – especially in Sweden and Germany.

A CANOROUS QUINTET became inactive in 1998 when the members decided to go separate ways. Linus, Jesper and Fredrik continued with GUIDANCE OF SIN. Linus also worked with Bulls Eye Dirt alongside members of CrashDiet and General Surgery among other projects. Fredrik however left Guidance of Sin in 1999 to continue his duties in AMON AMARTH full time. Mårten, sang with OCTOBER TIDE and a few other bands, he later joined SINS OF OMISSION.

The first seed for a new collaboration was sown when Fredrik recorded a 5-song demo under the name CURRICULUM MORTIS in 2004. During the winter of 2004/2005 the members played with the idea of regrouping for something new, and in early 2005 they decided it was time for a new era. During the spring and summer, 13 songs were created, three of which were chosen for the downloadable demo Let The World Burn, which was recorded at Offbeat Studio later the same year. The demo was sent to one record label only – and that landed the band a deal with Metal Blade Records.

In September 2006, THIS ENDING once again entered Offbeat Studio to record their first full-length album “Inside The Machine”. Ten songs of top notch technical, brutal & melodic metal were recorded for a late 2006 release. The album was well received among metal fans and critics.

Even before the release of “Inside the Machine”, THIS ENDING commenced working on their new album later to be titled “Dead Harvest”. The recording of “Dead Harvest” saw THIS ENDING returning to Offbeat Studio, and after 2 months of grueling work the recording was finally completed. The first mix and mastering were unsatisfactory to the band, so they chose to go back and re-mix and re-master the album, which pushed the release into 2009.

Plans were also set in motion to create a video for the track “Parasites”. The song represents the trademark THIS ENDING sound by showing off the band’s broad spectrum of styles. The video was shot at two different locations over two days. The first location was Sweden’s first nuclear reactor, built in the 1950′s below Stockholm and long since decommissioned. Desolate and vast, some of the chambers of this massive underground vault had not seen a human soul in 50 years! It created perfect setting for the THIS ENDING theme. The second location was in the studio for some green screen shots, enabling epic, apocalyptic scenes in the video using CGI.

A second video was recorded for the title track “Dead Harvest”, a song and video that represents the band’s view on a world in downfall.

In 2012 the EP “Systematic Worship” was self-released digitally. Three songs recorded and mixed during 2011. The songs appear as bonus tracks on the printed “Garden of Death” CD that was released in 2016.


Garden of Death / 2016

Garden of Death
  • Album Info
  • 2016
  • This Ending

Garden of Death – This Ending

  1. 1. Torrent of Souls
  2. 2. Blackened Shrine
  3. 3. Boundaries of Hell
  4. 4. Dark Samaritan
  5. 5. Garden of Death
  6. 6. Victims
  7. 7. World of Nightmares
  8. 8. Chaos Within
  9. 9. Vultures

Systematic Worship / 2012

Systematic Worship
  • Album Info
  • 2012
  • This Ending

Systematic Worship – This Ending

  1. 1. Army of (N)one
  2. 2. No more silence
  3. 3. Our creation

Dead Harvest / 2009

Dead Harvest
  • Album Info
  • 2009
  • Metal Blade Records

Dead Harvest – This Ending

  1. 1. Trace Of Sin
  2. 2. Parasites
  3. 3. Machinery
  4. 4. Instigator Of Dead Flesh
  5. 5. Dellusionists
  6. 6. Army Of The Dying Sun
  7. 7. Dead Harvest
  8. 8. Tools of Demise
  9. 9. Deathtrade
  10. 10. The Asylum

Inside the Machine / 2006

Inside the Machine
  • Album Info
  • 2006
  • Metal Blade Records

Inside the Machine – This Ending

  1. 1. Seed of Destruction
  2. 2. Inside the Machine
  3. 3. Pitch Black
  4. 4. Plague Angel
  5. 5. Lidless Eyes
  6. 6. Armageddon
  7. 7. Nailed Down
  8. 8. Let The World Burn
  9. 9. Into Pain
  10. 10. This Ending
No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.
Date Venue City Country Info Tickets
2024-08-30T13:00:00Bulgasal Metal Fest 2024VästeråsSwedenInfoTickets
2024-09-06T19:00:00Metal Embrace 2024BarlebenGermanyInfoTickets
DISCLAIMER! None of the tourdates presented on this page belong to Nordic Metal. All the tourdates content belong to Bandsintown. We are using their data through a written consent between Nordic Metal and Bandsintown. Tourdates are shown as they are and Nordic Metal is not responsible for any false information.