The Sins of Thy Beloved

The Sins of Thy Beloved
STYLE: , ORIGIN: NorwayFORMED: 1996LABEL: Independent
  • Anita Auglend-Vocals
  • Glenn Morten Nordbø-Guitars, Vocals
  • Arild Christensen-Guitars, Vocals
  • Maiken Olaisen-Keyboards
  • Ola Aarrestad-Bass
  • Stig Johansen-Drums

The Sins of Thy Beloved was a death-doom/gothic metal band from Bryne, Norway, founded in 1996.

The band was formed in November 1996 by Glenn Morten Nordbø, Arild Christensen and Stig Johansen. The band was initially called Purgatory but they soon decided to change their name to something less common. Anita Auglend and Ola Aarrestad joined the band shortly thereafter, and they recorded their first demo All Alone in January–February 1997.

Anders Thue and Ingfrid Stensland then joined before they recorded their second demo Silent Pain in January 1998. Pete Johansen played the violin on that demo, although he did not officially join the band until the recording of their first full-length album “Lake of Sorrow” later in 1998.

They toured across Europe, before recording their second full-length album “Perpetual Desolation in 2000. During the following tour, Anita Auglend, Anders Thue and Ingfrid Stensland grew weary of traveling and left the band in 2001. A live performance was released on CD and VHS in 2001, but it was not distributed worldwide and is thus very hard to come by.

The band has been dormant since the departure of its three members. Pete Johansen has since left to play the violin on several Tristania and Sirenia albums. In 2007, it was rumored that Anita Auglend had returned to the band, although these rumors were never confirmed.

Despite years of a rumored reunion, Pete Johansen officially announced that they had split up in 2013. That same year, band members Anders Thue and Stig Johansen formed the band Savn with Midnattsol singer Carmen Elise Espenæs.  In 2016, the guitarist, composer and singer Arild Christensen forms the band RAINAREA with Nelly Khosrovyan.


Perpetual Desolation / 2000

The Sins of Thy Beloved-Perpetual Desolation
  • Album Info
  • 2000
  • Napalm Records

1.The Flame of Wrath
4.Partial Insanity
5.Perpetual Desolation
6.Nebula Queen
7.The Mournful Euphony
8.A Tormented Soul
9.The Thing That Should Not Be (Metallica cover)

Perpetual Desolation is the second and final studio album by the Norwegian gothic metal band The Sins of Thy Beloved. It was recorded and mixed at Sound Suite Studio during September/October 1999 and released in 2000 through Napalm Records.



Lake of Sorrow / 1998

The Sins of Thy Beloved-Lake of Sorrow
  • Album Info
  • 1998
  • Napalm Records

1.My Love
2.The Kiss
3.Worthy of You
4.Lake of Sorrow
5.Until the Dark
6.All Alone
7.Silent Pain

Lake of Sorrow is the debut studio album by the Norwegian gothic metal band The Sins of Thy Beloved. It was recorded at Sound Suite Studio and released in August 8, 1998 through Napalm Records.

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.