The Man-Eating Tree

The Man-Eating Tree
STYLE: ORIGIN: FinlandFORMED: 2009LABEL: Ranka Kustannus
  • Antti Kumpulainen - Vocals
  • Marco Sneck - Keyboards
  • Janne Markus - Guitars
  • Samuli Lindberg - Drums

The Man-Eating Tree Is a Finnish four-piece band based in Oulu, performing atmospheric metal music. The seed of the new band was planted when Vesa Ranta, having taken a break from music after Sentenced, began to overcome his post-Sentenced battle fatigue and lack of musical motivation. The idea of a new band – or bands – was eventually brainstormed over a period of time between Vesa and his friends, including gentlemen Miika Tenkula, Aaron Rantonen, Janne Markus and Mikko Uusimaa. Plans were made reality in 2009; the outfit was completed by the addition of Tuomas Tuominen as a vocalist and Heidi Määttä as a keyboard player. First demo recordings were made in the spring and summer of 2009.

In August 2017, Vesa Ranta retired from his active and long musical career, and stepped aside from The Man-Eating Tree. Vesa was there from the first moments of TMET, and since that he was an essential part in making TMET as it is today. In 2017, Jami Heikkala and Altti Veteläinen left to concentrate on other things. In 2018, Samuli Lindberg (drums) joined the corps, and The Man-Eating Tree continued as a four-piece.

During 2017-18 The Man-Eating Tree put together loads of interesting ideas. But due to various personal issues, the songwriting process itself was hard and eventually prolonged. As the new material finally started to take shape, it was very clear this was going to be some of the deepest, darkest and grief-stricken stuff ever written by The Man-Eating Tree.

The year 2019 will be the birthyear of the new The Man-Eating Tree release.

This is their newest release:


In The Absence Of Light / 2015

  • Album Info
  • 2015
  • Ranka Kustannus
  1. Breathe Emptiness
  2. Flatline
  3. The Heretic Pulse
  4. Vermin
  5. The Divided
  6. Plaguewielder
  7. Death Parade
  8. The Vessel
  9. Obsidian
  10. Dead On Earth


In The Absence of Light is The Man-Eating Tree’s fourth studio album. After four years the band released their third album on March 20, 2015. This album featured vocals from the band’s new vocalist Antti Kumpulainen.

Harvest / 2011

  • Album Info
  • 2011
  • Century Media Records
1.  Harvest Bell
2. At the Green Country Chapel
3. Code of Surrender
4. Armed
5. Like Mute Companions
6. Exhaled
7. Down to the Color of the Eye
8. Incendere
9. All You Kept Free
10. Karsikko
11. Everything Dies
The Man-Eating Tree’s second studio album. Recorded and mixed June to August 2011 at Mastervox studio, Oulu and Yellow House studio, Hämeenlinna. Church Organ recorded at Hämeenlinna church.

Vine / 2010

  • Album Info
  • 2010
  • Cobra Records
  1. Lathing a New Man
  2. The white Plateau
  3. This Longitude of Sleep
  4. King of July
  5. Of Birth for Passing
  6. Out of the Wind
  7. Nights in white satin
  8. Tide Shift
  9. Instead of Sand and Stone
  10. Amended


The first demo recordings from The Man-Eating Tree. were made in the spring and summer of 2009. In 2010 the first album Vine was made a reality. Producer was Hiili Hiilesmaa. The band kicked off with a No. 3 on the Finnish charts for their first single “Out Of The Wind”. After releasing their debut album Vine (2010) outside of Finland, Century Media Records signed The Man-Eating Tree worldwide. They made an extensive Finnish tour supporting bands such as Bullet For My Valentine, Katatonia, KYPCK and after that joined Tarot for a big Europe tour.


Swallow the Sun released their seventh studio album When A Shadow Is Forced Into The Light at the end of January. They played the second show of their album tour

February 13, 2019 by Serena
Date Venue City Country Info Tickets
DISCLAIMER! None of the tourdates presented on this page belong to Nordic Metal. All the tourdates content belong to Bandsintown. We are using their data through a written consent between Nordic Metal and Bandsintown. Tourdates are shown as they are and Nordic Metal is not responsible for any false information.