STYLE: ORIGIN: FinlandFORMED: 2015LABEL: Sakara Records
  • Jarkko Ahola - vocals, bass
  • Arto Järvinen - guitars, vocals
  • Viljo Rantanen - guitars
  • Jari Kuokkanen - drums

Teräsbetoni is an epic heavy metal band which has undertaken a steadfast quest for truth, honour and brotherhood. The dynamic, straightforward style of the band’s music is visually enhanced by the look of the band: Jarkko Ahola (lead vocals & bass), Arto Järvinen (guitar & vocals), Jari Kuokkanen (drums) and Viljo Rantanen (guitar) take to the stage chests bare, garbed in black leather adorned with steel.

As lyrics evoke images of epic times, the audience is taken descriptively into the mythical land of “Metallivaltio” (The Metal Republic). This is a place where majestic stallions, nostrils flaring and eyes ablaze are mounted by righteous warriors who ride off valiantly and fight victoriously on the battlefields of medieval times. Song lyrics include references to swords, axes, war, battlefields, treachery, death, mental and physical trials, evil and the enemy. A noteworthy point and one which should be taken into account with respect to the band’s lyrics is that their code of ethics, is relevant in today’s modern world. Their “warrior’s creed”, their message, transcends through the centuries as it encompasses valiant and immortal themes such as faith, honesty, loyalty, trust, the importance of friends and loved ones, humanity, dignity and brotherhood.

A distinguishing quality which comes through in the band’s performances and lyrics is their overall message is straightforward and upbeat. They urge one to celebrate life to its fullest, encourage one to fearlessly remain true to one’s beliefs and bring forth a confidence everyone possesses the inner strength to triumph.

Teräsbetoni ‘s accomplishments include three full length albums: Metallitotuus (Platinum – 2005), Vaadimme Metallia (Gold – 2006) and Myrskyntuoja (Gold – 2008). The band’s debut album was presented with the prestigious Emma Award which is Finland’s equivalent to the Grammy Award. Also, Teräsbetoni had the honour of representing Finland in the Eurovision Song Contest Final of 2008.

With origins in Pirkanmaa region, the band was formed in 2002 by Ahola, Järvinen and Rantanen when they realized a shared common interest in old school heavy metal. Once Kuokkanen was recruited and a suitable name was conceived, the band’s format was set. In the Finnish language “teräs” means steel and “betoni”, concrete. Teräsbetoni: the combination of the two can be thought of as a pillar of strength, i.e. something which is unyielding, solid and strong. The description is appropriate for various reasons including, the powerful sound of the band’s music and also, the band’s unwavering resolve to retain their linguistic choice of Finnish.

When Teräsbetoni’s first demo songs, Teräsbetoni, Teräksen Varjo (The Shadow Of Steel) and Maljanne Nostakaa (Raise Your Chalice), were published on their internet homepages, word of this amazing new band spread rapidly and the demo songs were downloaded in astounding numbers by enthusiastic fans. Warner Music Finland signed Teräsbetoni to a recording contract in 2004 and the band’s first single, Taivas Lyö Tulta (Fire Stricken Skies), was released early in 2005 hitting the top of the Finnish Singles Chart.

Metallitotuus (Metallic Truth), Teräsbetoni’s outstanding debut album, was produced by Anssi Kippo (Children of Bodom, Norther and Entwine). Upon its release in the spring of 2005, the album entered the Finnish Album Chart at the #2 spot and stayed on the list for 29 weeks. The success of the album demanded an extensive tour and so, the band spent a large portion of the next year touring, putting on over 200 performances for crazed audiences. The album Metallitotuus was certified platinum and presented “The Metal Album of the Year Award” at the annual Emma Awards (Finland’s equivalent to the Grammy).

Vaadimme Metallia (We Demand Metal), Teräsbetoni’s sophomore album, was produced by Hiili Hiilesmaa (HIM, Lordi, Sentenced and Apocalyptica). Soon after the album’s release in the summer of 2006, it broke the gold level of albums sold and was well received by audiences and critics. A special edition of the album was released containing bonus tracks and a DVD including, among other material, Teräsbetoni’s first two music videos, Orjatar (Slave Mistress) and Vaadimme Metallia.

Myrskyntuoja (Stormbringer), Teräsbetoni’s third album, was reflective of the band’s original sound, but included some fresh, new elements as well. The album was produced by Hiili Hiilesmaa, hit the Finnish Album Chart at the #1 spot in its first week of release during the spring of 2008 and exceeded the gold level of album sales, soon after.

Teräsbetoni was asked to participate in the Finnish Eurovision Qualification of 2008. The band won the public’s vote with the song Missä Miehet Ratsastaa (Where All The Men Ride Forth), from their then newly released Myrskyntuoja album and proceeded to represent Finland at the Eurovision Song Contest in Serbia. Teräsbetoni went through to the ESC Final and had the prestigious experience of performing for over 100 million viewers.

Teräsbetoni’s epic saga continues with a new album titled Maailma Tarvitsee Sankareita, released on November 24, 2010.

If you noticed we are missing a video from this artist (Official one) please let us know by sending e-mail to [email protected]

Maailma Tarvitsee Sankareita / 2010

  • Album Info
  • 2010
  • Sakara Records

01. Myrsky nousee
02. Metalliolut
03. Maailma tarvitsee sankareita
04. Jumalten usva
05. Mies
06. Tunnemme sinut
07. Uudestisyntynyt
08. Thanatos
09. Konstantinopoli
10. Eteenpäin
11. Gloria

Myrskyntuoja / 2008

  • Album Info
  • 2008
  • Sakara Records

01. Voiman vartijat
02. Painajainen
03. Missä miehet ratsastaa
04. Ukkoshevonen
05. Orjakaleeri
06. Paha sanoo
07. Teräksen taakka
08. Metallin voima
09. Kuumilla porteilla
10. Vihollisille
11. Huominen tulla jo saa
12. Seiso suorassa

Vaadimme Metallia / 2006

  • Album Info
  • 2006
  • Sakara Records

01. Vaadimme Metallia
02. Viimeinen Tuoppi
03. Älä Mene Metsään
04. Varmaan Kuolemaan
05. Kuninkaat
06. Saalistaja
07. Paha Silmä
08. Sotureille
09. Kotiinpalaaja
10. Aika on
11. Kirotut
12. Pyhä Maa
13. Vihollisen Vuoteessa
14. Kunniansa Ansainneet

Metallitotuus / 2005

  • Album Info
  • 2005
  • Sakara Records

01. Teräsbetoni
02. Älä kerro meille
03. Taivas lyö tulta
04. Vahva kuin metalli
05. Silmä silmästä
06. Metallisydän
07. Orjatar
08. Tuonelaan
09. Metallitotuus
10. Voittamaton
11. Teräksen varjo
12. Maljanne nostakaa

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.
Date Venue City Country Info Tickets
DISCLAIMER! None of the tourdates presented on this page belong to Nordic Metal. All the tourdates content belong to Bandsintown. We are using their data through a written consent between Nordic Metal and Bandsintown. Tourdates are shown as they are and Nordic Metal is not responsible for any false information.