Suburban Tribe

Suburban Tribe
STYLE: , ORIGIN: FinlandFORMED: 1994LABEL: Cobra Records
  • Ville Tuomi – vocals (2000–2011)
  • Roope Sirén - guitars (1994–2011)
  • Euge Valovirta - guitars (2006–2011)
  • Janne Joutsenniemi - bass (1994–2011)
  • Alec Hirst-Gee - drums (1994–2011)

SUBURBAN TRIBE was a metal and rock band from Finland. It released its first album Primitive in 1994.
The line up featured members of two of Finland’s greatest thrash metal bands; Janne Joutsenniemi, who played in the band STONE, and guitarist Roope Sirén, who played in AIRDASH.

The band’s name was originally typed Sub-Urban Tribe, but it was changed to its present shape after a short break in 2001. TV-series Big Brother Finland choose their song “While The World Awaits” as theme song in season 2006.

In March 2011 the group announced their decision to disband in July 2011. The reason to call it quits on their 20th anniversary was the lack of motivation to write new material.

SUBURBAN TRIBE is remembered as an energetic live band, and for their hits “First Spring Day”, “Frozen Ashes”, “Oil and Water” ,“Silent Rain”, and the latest “Now and Ever After”.

The band released a total of eight studio albums. The last album, Now and Ever After, was released in spring 2010. The first four albums were sang by Jouni MarkkanenVille Tuomi from KYYRIA became SUBURBAN TRIBE‘s vocalist in 2000.

Janne Joutsenniemi, Roope Sirén and Alec Hirst-Gee are the founding members of the band. Emerson Burton played keyboards between 1996 and 2000. Euge Valovirta became second guitarist in 2006.

If you noticed we are missing a video from this artist (Official one) please let us know by sending e-mail to [email protected]

Now And Ever After / 2010

Suburban Tribe - Now And Ever After
  • Album Info
  • 2010
  • Cobra Records

1. No Promises
2. Now and Ever After
3. Stay
4. Wheels of Time
5. Smallest Little Things
6. Stretch Marks
7. Song of the Whale
8. Gilded Cage
9. Silent Eyes
10. Point of No Return
11. Hold On

“Now and Ever After” is the eighth studio album of  SUBURBAN TRIBE, released in April 2010.
A single with the same name of the album was released. The album reached position 4 at the Official Finnish Chart.

¡Revolt Now! / 2006

Suburban Tribe - ¡Revolt Now!
  • Album Info
  • 2006
  • EMI Finland

1. Complications
2. Nothingness
3. Nevermore
4. Bound by Grace
5. You Can’t Break What’s Already Broken
6. Carved in Silence
7. While the World Awaits
8. Ad Infinitum
9. Gravity
10. The Time Is Now
11. Hollow Inside

¡Revolt Now!” is the seventh studio album of Finnish rock band SUBURBAN TRIBE, released in 2006. It was ranked 7 in the Official Finnish Chart.

Manimal / 2004

Suburban Tribe - Manimal
  • Album Info
  • 2004
  • EMI Finland

1. You Can’t Stop Us Now
2. Untameable
3. The Weight
4. Torn Apart
5. Firedance
6. Cancer
7. Swallow
8. Portrait of Lost Innocence
9. In My Skin
10. Silent Rain
11. Drowning

“Manimal” is the sixth studio of Finnish rock band SUBURBAN TRIBE, released in 2004. It was ranked 2nd in the Official Finnish Chart. A video for the single “Silent Rain” was released, directed by Taku Kaskela.

The documentary “Suburban Tribe Manimal Instinct”, produced by Mika Seppälä, was filmed between early 2003 and summer of 2004. It was premiered on 18 September 2004 at the “Love & Anarchy – Helsinki International Film Festival”.

Suburban Tribe / 2001

Suburban Tribe - Suburban Tribe
  • Album Info
  • 2001
  • EMI Finland

1. Perfect Dark
2. Oil and Water
3. Frozen Ashes
4. Dialogue for One
5. If Only…
6. Shadows and Silhouettes
7. Watching You
8. Rodeo
9. Lost Time
10. Into the Blue
11. Color of Silence

“Suburban Tribe” is the fifth studio album of SUBURBAN TRIBE, released in 2001.
The album reached position 5 at the Official Finnish Chart.

Elektro 57 / 1998

Suburban Tribe - Elektro 57
  • Album Info
  • 1998
  • Spinefarm Records

1. Disappear in You
2. God Only Knows
3. Sister
4. Snowfall
5. Desert Island
6. Naked and Frail
7. Masquerade
8. More
9. Silver and Gold
10. Moon Garden

“Elektro 57” is the fourth studio album of SUBURBAN TRIBE, released in 1998 through Spinefarm Records.

Panorama / 1997

Suburban Tribe - Panorama
  • Album Info
  • 1997
  • Zen Garden Records

1. Far Side of the Sun
2. Sun Queen
3. Frequency
4. Voice with the Smile
5. First Spring Day
6. Dog Days
7. Celebrate the Rain
8. Kite Song
9. Impossible
10. Ill Trees
11. Lehto
12. Bad Forest
13. Goodbye (I Walk Away)

“Panorama” is the third studio album of SUBURBAN TRIBE, released in 1997 through Zen Garden Records.

The album reached position 23 at the Official Finnish Charts and remained on the list for four weeks. The single “First Spring Day” ranked 37 in Rumba Magazine‘s Top 50 Hits Chart.

Purity / 1995

Suburban Tribe - Purity
  • Album Info
  • 1995
  • Zen Garden Records

1. Purity
2. One of My Little Memories
3 .Sudden Changes
4. Porcupine
5. Liquid Stairs
6. Old Corners
7. Tin Can
8. Hungry
9. Idle
10. Whose Ghost Are You
11. Run
12. Fall
13. Sudden Changes (Reprise)
14. Swamp Song

“Purity” is the second studio album of SUBURBAN TRIBE, released in September 1995 through Zen Garden Records.

The cover of the album makes reference to the “house inhabited by mosquitoes in the middle of nowhere” where the album was recorded, except for track 2, recorded at the Munkkiniemen MD-studio in Helsinki. The album was recorded during the summer. Joutsenniemi mentioned the making of “Purity” as one of the band’s finest moments.

The album debuted at position 29 in the Official Finnish Chart, and ranked 27 in its next week.

Primitive / 1994

Suburban Tribe - Primitive
  • Album Info
  • 1994
  • Zen Garden Records

1. Sunflower
2. Once Again
3. Out of Bounds
4. Cold Rush
5. Grey
6. To and Fro
7. Room
8. Silence
9. Small Words
10. There
11. For Evermore

“Primitive” is the debut album of SUBURBAN TRIBE, released in 1994. The album ranked 28 in the Official Finnish Charts and remained on the list for four weeks.

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.