• Ari Toivanen - Vocals
  • Mika Kansikas - Guitar
  • Jari Behm - Bass
  • Stenda Kukkonen - Drums


STUD’s new album is called “Circle Of Lies”, with the release date of September 1, 2017. The band has grown popularity among fans with each release, and the new album will certainly continue on that path. The lyrics on the new album are stronger than before, and the three singles already released from the album showcase the band’s strengths: strong material, high-pitched vocals, searing guitar solos and overall skillful playing.

The original STUD line-up Ari Toivanen (vocals), Mika Kansikas (guitar), Pasi Hietanen (bass, replaced by Jari Behm in the current lineup) and Stenda Kukkonen (drums) met in February 2012. Soon enough, they decided to record an album. There was some cool new songs, and loads of great songs left from the 80s, from the time they first had a career in music. The recordings continued through spring and summer until the record was ready in September.

STUD decided to publish a single prior to the album. A single containing “Lovers In The Night” / “Out Of The Darkness” put STUD right back on the map, and earned airplay in several radio stations around the world.

STUD’s debut album “Out Of The Darkness” contains 11 songs, and it was released 18th October 2013. The album have gained loads of great reviews and airplay in 20+ countries. STUD has a contract for worldwide promotion with Metal Revelation, which have also helped to gain a wide audience in social media. The album is available worldwide both in CD, and through digital distribution. With the reception of the debut album and gigs followed by it, it’s clear that there is still place for melodic, guitar-oriented hard’n heavy rock, in the style STUD is known for. And the audience growing.

In March 2014 STUD started to record their follow-up to “Out Of The Darkness”. The recording process was similar to the debut, but the goal was to make an album that could take the band to the next level. With another 11 songs, they have a good chance of doing just that. The band is very pleased with the end result and can’t wait to have it available for the fans.

The name of STUD’s second album is “Rust On The Rose”, and the release date is set to 31st October 2014. The first single “I Don’t Know” was already released in May and introduced STUD to new audiences by getting some rotation in Australian radio. With the title track as the second single, released just before the album, STUD brings another portion of radio-friendly, melodic hard rock to the fans all over the world. The band invites everyone to join their journey in the Rock’n Roll World.


STUD was founded back in 1986, when four musicians who had already played in several different bands teamed up to form one of the period’s most aggressive, skilled and loudest rock bands.

The band chose to sing in Finnish, which soon established an interest in several record companies. On the very same year the biggest record company in Finland, Finnlevy published the first STUD-single “Mä Haluun Elää” / “Viimeinen Yö”, which later became a collector’s item among record collectors around the world.

After publishing the single, STUD toured frequently. They also appeared in famous Finnish TV show MTV3’s Levyraati, and got some airplay on radio as well.

The original line-up was ultimately short-lived, and as a new singer came in, the language was changed to English. In 1987 STUD attended Finland’s Rock Championship contest, where they achieved a place in the finals, which was quite an achievement for a heavy rock band.

Touring expanded across the border, when STUD among the few Finnish bands toured Estonia’s largest cities, at a time when Estonia’s independence was still around the corner.

At the end of the decade, after a new change of singer, STUD planned to record a full-length album, but failed to make a deal with a record company, since new, darker music, had increased popularity in Finland.

STUD made their last gigs in 1989, after which the band broke up.


Circle Of Lies / 2017

Stud - Circle Of Lies
  • Album Info
  • 2017
  • Cranksonic

01. Hey You
02. Circle Of Lies
03. Searching For Freedom
04. No Hero
05. More Than A Woman
06. Eyes Of Hurricane
07. Seems To Be Right
08. Real Man
09. You and I
10. Face Down

Rust On The Rose / 2014

Stud - Rust On The Rose
  • Album Info
  • 2014
  • Cranksonic

01. Raise Your Fist
02. Rock’n Roll World
03. Rust On The Rose
04. We’re Gonna Strike
05. Poor Man’s Buddy
06. Promised To Be Mine
07. Freedom Call
08. Break The Chains
09. I Don’t Know
10. Dangerous
11. Playing To Win

Out Of The Darkness / 2013

Stud - Out Of The Darkness
  • Album Info
  • 2013

01. Out Of The Darkness
02. Rock Little Mama
03. Renegade
04. Lovers In The Night
05. Holy Light
06. Traveller
07. Run To The Shelter
08. Secrets Of Love
09. Feel Good
10. Sea Child
11. Reach Out

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.
Date Venue City Country Info Tickets
DISCLAIMER! None of the tourdates presented on this page belong to Nordic Metal. All the tourdates content belong to Bandsintown. We are using their data through a written consent between Nordic Metal and Bandsintown. Tourdates are shown as they are and Nordic Metal is not responsible for any false information.