ORIGIN: FinlandFORMED: 1985LABEL: Megamania
    • Janne Joutsenniemi - Vocals & Bass
    • Jiri Jalkanen - Guitars
    • Markku Niiranen - Guitars
    • Roope Latvala - Guitars
    • Pekka Kasari - Drums

Stone is a thrash metal band formed in Kerava, Finland in the mid-1980’s. They released four albums and one live album during the late 1980’s and early 1990’s, before disbanding in 1991 to pursue different musical directions. Stone reunited to play a final set of concerts in 2000, but parted ways again soon afterwards. In 2008, Stone made five “re-union”/comeback appearances. They reunited again in March 2013 for select shows in order to promote their new box set. The band is still active as of March 2014.

Despite their rather short career, Stone’s legacy has provided inspiration for many of the countless metal bands who emerged during the popularity explosion of the genre during the 1990’s. Perhaps the most notable of these bands is Children of Bodom, whose lead guitarist Alexi Laiho credits former Stone member Roope Latvala as a major influence on his playing. Latvala himself would later join Children of Bodom as a session player and eventually permanent guitarist after the departure of Alexander Kuoppala and also played alongside Laiho in the now defunct Sinergy.



  • Stone (1988)
  • No Anaesthesia! (1989)
  • Colours (1990)
  • Emotional Playground (1991)
No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.
2019-05-22T21:00:00Le Double FondParisFranceInfoTickets
2019-05-29T21:00:00Le Double FondParisFranceInfoTickets
2019-06-21T19:00:00Jacobs Pavilion at NauticaClevelandUnited StatesInfoTickets
2019-07-11T12:00:00Carnfield Hall CottageSouth NormantonUnited KingdomInfoTickets
2019-07-12T19:00:00ROCKANDBIKEFESTDerbyshire HillUnited KingdomInfoTickets
DISCLAIMER! None of the tourdates presented on this page belong to Nordic Metal. All the tourdates content belong to Bandsintown. We are using their data through a written consent between Nordic Metal and Bandsintown.
Tourdates are shown as they are and Nordic Metal is not responsible for any false information.

No album reviews found for this band.

If you are interested of writing album reviews, contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.

Stam1na celebrated the 10th anniversary release of their “Raja” album with a special gig at Jäähalli´s Black Box in Helsinki. Rytmihäiriö and Skálmöld joined the party […]

May 31, 2018 by steelrain
No videos found for this band.