STYLE: ORIGIN: SwedenFORMED: 1986LABEL: Xtreem Music
  • Ola Malmström-Vocals
  • Paul Johansson-Guitar
  • Johan Vikholm-Guitar
  • John Falk-Bass
  • Tommy Holmer-Drums

Sorcery was formed during the summer of 1986 and was influenced early on by the harder part of the hard rock spectrum. On the first demo from 1987, there are clear thrash influences, but on the next release from 1988, the band has changed focus to what was to become known as Swedish death metal, something that the third demo from 1989 is an even clearer proof of. In the summer of 1990, the first single was released and in the following year the debut album “Bloodchilling Tales” was released.

The band was put on hold in 1997 because the members had either moved on to other projects or lost interest in the band. Sorcery contributed with the song “Inhabitants of the Tomb” on a compilation album called “The Voices of Death” in 1997 and this became the band’s last release from the first active period. In the years that followed, the members talked about bringing Sorcery back to life now and then but it was not until the summer of 2009 the reunion became a reality.

In 2013, the first studio album in over 20 years was released. Expectations were huge and a lot of the old fans were holding their breath not knowing what to expect. The band was almost equally nervous to see how the fans and press would receive a follow-up to a classic death metal album. To everyone’s delight “Arrival At Six” received numerous raving reviews, averaging a rating of 8.5/10, and both old and new fans alike was more than pleased with it. With a modern sound that still kept the old vibe along with better song writing and instrument skills it made for a masterpiece of Swedish death metal.

In April 2013, Sorcery did their first U.S. tour headlining together with Infinitum Obscure from Mexico. Over a few weeks the band played from the west coast to the east coast and back again. Back at home, the band played several festivals and gigs in their home country including a special concert with a symphony orchestra.

The band’s latest album came in 2016 and was a worthy follow-up to the previous albums. The interest for the band increased and they toured in five countries in Europe to follow up on its release.

Like many other bands, Sorcery has undergone some line-up changes over the years. Two members still remain from the original line-up from 1986; Ola Malmström on vocals and Paul Johansson on guitar. Johan Vikholm on guitar joined Sorcery in early 2015 and the latest addition to the band, Tommy Holmen, drums, a couple of years later. The latest change in the band is that John Falk is back on bass after some year’s absence. He was last heard playing drums on the Arrival At Six album.

After a four year long wait, the band is ready to once again release a new album. At the moment songs are written and plans are to record the yet untitled album during the spring of 2019 for a possible release during the summer.


Necessary Excess of Violence / 2019

Sorcery-Necessary Excess of Violence
  • Album Info
  • 2019
  • Xtreem Music

1. The Stellar Circle
2. Where We Were Born We Will Demise
3. The Darkest Part of You
4. Of Blood and Ash
5. I’ll Be Gone in the Dark
6. Death Is Near
7. Illuminate
8. King of Nothing
9. Year of the Plague
10. Language of the Conqueror

Necessary Excess Of Violence is the fifth full-length album by Swedish death metal band Sorcery, released in 2019 on Xtreem Music.

Garden of Bones / 2016

Sorcery-Garden of Bones
  • Album Info
  • 2016
  • Xtreem Music

1. Holy Ground
2. The New Armageddon
3. Insanity Arise
4. Dark Waves
5. Hellstorm
6. Cleansed by Fire
7. Mass Murder
8. The Creator
9. Black Wings
10. Garden of Bones

Garden Of Bones is the third full-length album by Swedish death metal band Sorcery, released in 2016 on Xtreem Music.

Arrival at Six / 2013

Sorcery-Arrival at Six
  • Album Info
  • 2013
  • Xtreem Music

1. We Who Walk Among the Dead
2. Created from Darkness and Rage
3. Master of the Chains
4. United Satanic Alliance
5. Arrival at Six
6. Warbringer
7. Maculated Life
8. Beyond the Wall
9. Reborn Through Hate

Arrival at Six is the second full-length album by Swedish death metal band Sorcery, released in 2013 on Xtreem Music.

Bloodchilling Tales / 1991

Sorcery-Bloodchilling Tales
  • Album Info
  • 1991
  • Underground Records

1. Bloodchilling Tales
2. Legacy of Blood
3. The Rite of Sacrifice
4. Death
5. Dragons of the Burning Twilight
6. Rivers of the Dead
7. Immortality Given
8. Descend to the Ashes
9. Lucifer’s Legions
10. By These Words

Bloodchilling Tales is the debut album by Swedish death metal band Sorcery, released in 1991 on Underground Records.

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.
Date Venue City Country Info Tickets
DISCLAIMER! None of the tourdates presented on this page belong to Nordic Metal. All the tourdates content belong to Bandsintown. We are using their data through a written consent between Nordic Metal and Bandsintown. Tourdates are shown as they are and Nordic Metal is not responsible for any false information.