STYLE: , , ORIGIN: FinlandFORMED: 1997LABEL: Nuclear Blast
  • Kimberly "Kim" Gloss - Vocals & Keyboards
  • Alexi Laiho - Guitars & Backing Vocals
  • Roope Latvala - Guitars
  • Janne Parviainen - Drums
  • Lauri Porra - Bass

Sinergy formed when the then Dimmu Borgir keyboard player Kimberly Goss met with In Flames guitarist Jesper Strömblad during a joint world tour. They discussed the idea of assembling a female-fronted metal band, but were unable to achieve this due to time constraints.

When Kimberly quit Dimmu Borgir and moved to Sweden, she decided that it was time to turn her project with Strömblad into a reality. The first incarnation of Sinergy was composed of them, bassist Sharlee D’Angelo (from Arch Enemy and Mercyful Fate), drummer Ronny Milianowicz and guitarist Alexi Laiho (from Children of Bodom).

The debut album Beware the Heavens was recorded in 1999 and had a basic concept: returning to the essence of woman-fronted metal bands, throwing aside the operatic elements introduced in the 90’s, and bringing back the style of singers such as Doro Pesch(from Doro and Warlock).

The album sold rather well and was received with excitement by European metal fans, but Sinergy was facing serious problems when it came to managing the time its members spent with their main bands. To complicate matters further, Kimberly moved to Finland by the end of the same year, making it almost impossible for them to meet regularly, with three of the band members residing in Sweden.

Thus, the band was essentially dissolved, but Kimberly and Alexi wanted to continue with the project. They assembled a new line-up, composed of Finnish members only. Roope Latvala (founding member of Stone, one of the bands which started the heavy metal movement in Finland) assumed the position of rhythm guitarist, Marco Hietala (from Tarot) became the bassist and Tonmi Lillman was chosen as the new drummer. This line-up recorded To Hell and Back and subsequently toured with Nightwish. By that time, Sinergy was starting to receive world recognition. This tour is perhaps most notable for being included on Nightwish’s DVD release of From Wishes to Eternity, during which band members played a practical joke in which a selection of support musicians made their way on stage pretending to be Nightwish. Ironically, Marco Hietala filled the role of Nightwish’s bassist Sami, who he was to replace on their next album.

Soon after the recording of the third album Lillman left the band. He was soon replaced by Barathrum drummer Janne Parviainen. Bassist Marco left the band shortly after, presumably due to his Nightwish commitments. The position was eventually given to Lauri Porra from metal band Warmen.

A fourth Sinergy album, Sins of the Past, began production in 2004, but due to Children of Bodom’s busy schedule the album was never completed. In 2007 Roope Latvala performed a song with bassist Lauri Porra and drummer Janne Parviainen for the album Guitar Heroes featuring some of Finland’s leading guitarists. Latvala stated that he had originally written the song for Sins of the Past. According to Laiho, Sinergy has disbanded and is no longer an active music project.


To Hell and Back / 2000

  • Album Info
  • 2000
  • Nuclear Blast

1. The Bitch Is Back!
2. Midnight Madness
3. Lead Us To War
4. Laid To Rest
5. Gallowmere
6. Return To The Fourth World
7. Last Escape
8. Wake Up In Hell
9. Hanging On The Telephone


To Hell and Back is the second album by the power metal band Sinergy, it was released in the year of 2000.

It featured a cover version of “Hanging on the Telephone”, originally by Blondie and the Japanese release bonus track is a cover version of “Invincible”, originally by Pat Benatar.

Suicide by My Side / 2002

  • Album Info
  • 2002
  • Nuclear Blast

1. I Spit On Your Grave
2. The Sin Trade
3. Violated
4. Me, Myself, My Enemy
5. Written In Stone
6. Nowhere For No One
7. Passage To The Fourth World
8. Shadow Island
9. Suicide By My Side
10. Remembrance
11. Rock You Like A Hurricane
12. Gimme Gimme Gimme
13. Invincible


Suicide By My Side is the third and final album by the power metal band Sinergy, released in 2002.

It shows a substantial progress in their musical style; singer Kimberly Goss performs in a sharper, more aggressive vocal style, and guitarists Alexi Laiho and Roope Latvala perform more technical solos. Goss has noted that while the title (and the title track lyrics) are to an extent autobiographical, unlike she states in the music video, she has never attempted suicide.

The clip at the beginning of the title track is from the stabbing scene of the film Sid and Nancy, which tells the tragic love story of Sex Pistols bassist Sid Vicious and his toxic lover.

The song “Shadow Island” is inspired by Alone in the Dark: The New Nightmare.

The last song, “Remembrance”, is an instrumental dedicated to the people who died during the terrorist attacks on 11 September 2001.

Beware the Heavens / 1999

  • Album Info
  • 1999
  • Nuclear Blast

1. Venomous Vixens
2. The Fourth World
3. Born Under Fire And Passions
4. The Warrior Princess
5. Beware The Heavens
6. Razor Blade Salvation
7. Swarmed
8. Pulsation
9. Virtual Future


Beware the Heavens is the first album by the power metal band Sinergy, released in 1999.

The album features two instrumental tracks “Born Unto Fire and Passion” and “Pulsation”, and a track inspired by the series Xena: The Warrior Princess, entitled “The Warrior Princess”.

Some melodies that can be heard in the song “Beware the Heavens” were sampled from a song called “Translucent image” by IneartheD (now known as Children of Bodom); the song is featured on IneartheD’s 1995 demo Ubiquitous Absence Of Remission.

This is the only album where Jesper Strömblad (In Flames guitarist) plays guitar alongside Alexi Laiho; his position was filled in by Roope Latvala on all subsequent albums.

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.