• Riina Rinkinen - Vocals
  • Matti Aikio - bass, vocals
  • Aapeli Kivimäki - guitar
  • Juha Lehtioksa - guitar
  • Sami Boman - keyboards
  • Janne Ojala - drums

The story of Silentium goes back to December 1995 into the ashes of a death/gothic metal band called Funeral. From the remains of Funeral, keyboardist Sami Boman and original vocalist Matti Aikio created Silentium by adding violin player Jani Laaksonen, guitar players Toni Lahtinen & Juha Lehtioksa and drummer Jari Ojala into the line-up.

Silentium’s first recording was the four-song-demo-tape Illacrimó which was released in the end of year 1996. Their second, six-song Ep-tape Caméne Misera was released in 1998 and featured female vocals by Tiina Lehvonen who then became a permanent member of the band. This second tape caught the attention of Sami Tenetz who was at the time setting up his record label Spikefarm. After some negotiations Silentium signed a deal with Spikefarm and their first Spike-release Infinita Plango Vulnera in 1999 had the honor of becoming Spikefarm’s first CD, NAULA001. The record also introduced the new drummer, Janne Ojala.

Infinita Plango Vulnera got extremely good feedback, pleasing goths worldwide, as did its successors, the 2001 CD Altum and it’s little sister, the SI.VM E.T A.V.VM mini-CD.

Sufferion’s feedback was as expected; some loved and some couldn’t stand the idea of music and radio play. Every listener was touched someway and the long awaited gigs started to appear in the tour list. After the good start came a kick in the teeth: drummer Janne Ojala announced he’s got a lack of motivation and is leaving the band. Also Laaksonen and Anna Ilveskoski, who already gained the status of permanent vocalist, left and the whole band lived on the edge for awhile. But the guys didn’t want to give up and the help was found surprisingly near; the original drummer Jari Ojala was willing to join in again and Riina Rinkinen gave her amazing voice to the band.

Silentium changed the record label also. In the 2005 they signed to the Finnish Dynamic Arts Records company and in the spring of 2005 it was time to head towards studio Sundi Coop. During the intense month they recorded material for the Silentium’s fourth full-length CD, Seducia, but also for their first single release, Frostnight. In these records can also be heard the change of violin to the cello played by Elias Kahila and the sound of Silentium has only completed from before.

The year 2006 came out to be bigger than ever; welcome for the Seducia was quite good and the fuss began to grow. The band had more touring than ever before and this time outside Finland also. Silentium had a gig in Romania with Amorphis and HIM and the welcome was just amazing. The country and the fans really knocked the band off their feet and they gave their absolute best for the sunny Sibiu. Few months after that came the news of a Silentium song being the part of the Portuguese film and the power play of Silentium in the radio. And all that time the band toured inside Finland and visited new venues and met new fans.

Early 2018 Silentium broke the silence informing the plans of recording a new album later that year.


Amortean / 2008

Silentium - Amortean
  • Album Info
  • 2008
  • Dynamic Arts

1. Leave the Fallen Behind
2. The Messenger
3. A Knife in the Back
4. The Fallen Ones with You Tonight
5. My Broken Angel
6. The Cradle of Nameless
7. Storm Sight Solicitude
8. Embrace the Storm
9. La Fin du Monde

Seducia / 2006

Silentium - Seducia
  • Album Info
  • 2006
  • Dynamic Arts

1. Hangman’s Lullaby
2. Serpentized
3. Dead Silent
4. Unbroken
5. Frostnight
6. Children of Chaos
7. Empress of the Dark
8. Seducia

Sufferion – Hamartia of Prudence / 2003

Silentium - Sufferion Hamartia of Prudence
  • Album Info
  • 2003
  • Spikefarm Records

1. The Letter
2. Flame Still Burns
3. Antracone’s Dream
4. Lost is My Name
5. The Wraith at the Shore
6. Heart Unyielding
7. The Conspiracy
8. Shame Forever Mine
9. Scoria Arrives
10. Dark Whispers
11. The Murderer
12. Wither in Silence
13. The Hideaway
14. The Fall
15. At the Cabin
16. Beyond

Altum / 2001

Silentium - Altum
  • Album Info
  • 2001
  • Spikefarm Records

1. Revangelis
2. Blasphemer
3. To My Beloved
4. Painless
5. …Repent…
6. Into the Arms of the Night…
7. The Lusticon
8. The Sinful
9. The Propheter of the Unenthroned

Infinita Plango Vulnera / 1999

Silentium - Infinita Plango Vulnera
  • Album Info
  • 1999
  • Spikefarm Records

1. Solicitude
2. Forever Sleep
3. Redemption
4. Autumn Heart
5. Whatever the Pain
6. Maiden of the Forest
7. Requiem
8. With Blood Adorned
9. At the Dawn I Wept
10. Solicitude (Instrumental)

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.