STYLE: , ORIGIN: SwedenFORMED: 1994LABEL: Massacre Records
  • Lisa Bohwalli-Vocals
  • Richard Bryngelsson-Guitars
  • Marcus Ehlin-Bass
  • Dennis Ekdahl-Drums
  • Johnnie Gunther-Keyboards

Siebenbürgen was a melodic black metal band from Stockholm, Sweden, formed in 1994.

The band was formed in 1994 by Marcus Ehlin and Anders Rosdahl, who were joined within a few months by Fredrik Brockert. In February 1996, they recorded their first, self-titled, demo tape. After the demo’s release, the band was joined by Linus Ekström. By this time, they had started playing gigs, supporting Swedish metal acts including Bewitched, Sacramentum and In Aeturnum.

During the Halloween weekend of 1996 Siebenbürgen recorded their second demo, Ungentum Pharelis. This demo led to a contract with Napalm Records, and their release of their first album, Loreia, in 1997. In October/November 1997, Siebenbürgen had three shows in Germany, with Forbidden Site and Menhir. During January/February 1998, Siebenbürgen recorded their second album, Grimjaur, which was released in May the same year, followed by another tour in July, this time with Atanatos and Ragnarök. After the release of Grimjaur, Lovisa Hallstedt, who had contributed female vocals and violin on all previous releases, left the band. She was replaced in 1999 with a new female vocalist, Kicki Höijertz.

On their next tour, Siebenbürgen were accompanied by TristaniaThe Sins of Thy BelovedTrail of Tears and Antichrisis. The tour consisted of 18 shows, performed in Germany, Austria, Netherlands, Belgium and Switzerland. Beginning with the follow-up to Grimjaur, titled Delictum, Siebenbürgen made what many still consider to be a departure from their previous direction, choosing to write lyrics in English instead of Swedish (though some albums during the early to mid 2000s contain songs in Swedish). As the lyrics continued to depict creatures from old folklore, written in the style of dark poetic fairytales, some defend the position that Siebenbürgen merely opted to use a more widely spoken language for their lyrics, in order to be more inclusive to fans who do not understand their native language, whilst leaving the actual content of their output unchanged.

After a hiatus starting in 2006, they reformed in 2007 with a new lineup. In 2008, Revelation VI was released. 

Siebenbürgen would be disestablished again in 2009.


Revelation VI / 2008

Siebenbürgen-Revelation VI
  • Album Info
  • 2008
  • Massacre Records

1. Awaken
2. Rebirth of the Nameless
3. Infernaliia
4. Revelation VI
5. Grimheim
6. After the Wolf (Do Dead Men Follow)
7. S.I.N.
8. The Oaken Throne
9. The Soulless
10. In Sanctum
11. Fire Leaps High
12. At the End of Twilight

Revelation VI is the sixth, and final album by Swedish black/gothic metal band Siebenbürgen, released in 2008 on Massacre Records.

Darker Designs & Images / 2005

Siebenbürgen-Darker Designs & Images
  • Album Info
  • 2005
  • Napalm Records

1. Darker Designs
2. Rebellion
3. As Legion Rise
4. A Crimson Coronation
5. Skuggor
6. Born Under a Black Sun
7. Of Blood and Magic
8. Remnants of Ruin
9. Harvest for the Devil
10. Forged in Flames
11. Summoner of the Unseen

Darker Designs & Images is the fifth full-length album by Swedish black/gothic metal band Siebenbürgen, released in 2005 on Napalm Records.

Plagued Be Thy Angel / 2001

Siebenbürgen-Plagued Be Thy Angel
  • Album Info
  • 2001
  • Napalm Records

1. Exordium
2. Plagued Be Thy Angel
3. Destination Supremacy
4. Father of All Lies
5. The Night Alit
6. Angelic
7. For the Ones Who Sleep
8. Skändat sinne
9. The Roses Bleed at Night
10. As Black as a Midnight Heart
11. Her Shadows Adored
12. Deliverance

Plagued Be Thy Angel is the fourth full-length album by Swedish black/gothic metal band Siebenbürgen, released in 2001 on Napalm Records.

Delictum / 2000

  • Album Info
  • 2000
  • Napalm Records

1. Delictum
2. Majesties Infernal
3. Storms
4. Thou Blessed Be by Night
5. As of Sin
6. Levande begravd
7. Thy Sister Thee Crimson Wed
8. Opacitas (Queen of the Dark)
9. A Dream of Scarlet Nights
10. Oculus Malus / Animal (Fuck Like a Beast) (W.A.S.P. cover)

Delictum is the third full-length album by Swedish black/gothic metal band Siebenbürgen, released in 2000 on Naplam Records.

Grimjaur / 1998

  • Album Info
  • 1998
  • Napalm Records

1. Grimjaur
2. Vintervila
3. Nattskräcken
4. Slottet Auragon
5. För mig… ditt blod utgjutet
6. Dödens svarta fana
7. Luna Luciferi
8. I döden fann hon liv
9. Vargablod
10. Ibi Cubavit Lamia

Grimjaur is the second full-length album by Swedish black/gothic metal band Siebenbürgen, released in 1998 on  Napalm Records.

Loreia / 1997

  • Album Info
  • 1997
  • Napalm Records

1. Vampyria
2. Nattens väv
3. Mardröm
4. Ungentum Pharelis
5. …om hösten död
6. Loreia
7. Att dricka någons blod
8. Vittring av liv
9. Morgataria
10. Dödens sömn

Loreia is the debut album by Swedish black/gothic metal band Siebenbürgenreleased in 1997 on Napalm Records.

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.