STYLE: ORIGIN: SwedenFORMED: 1996LABEL: Season of Mist
  • Niklas Kvarforth - Vocals
  • Peter Huss - Guitars
  • Marcus Hammarström - Bass

Founded in 1996 by frontman and only remaining original member Niklas Kvarforth, SHINING‘s debut 7” “Submit To Self-Destruction” was released two years later on Kvarforth’s own newly- formed record label Selbstmord Services. And with it, SHINING spawned what people today refer to as “Suicidal Black Metal”.

SHINING’s first full-length album, “I / Within Deep Dark Chambers”, appeared in 2000, and “II / Livets Ändhållplats” followed just six months later. In 2002, all members (who Maestro Kvarforth refers to as his tool-box) were fired and new ones brought in, with new drummer Hellhammer helping shape a more solid sound on 2003’s “III / Angst” and 2004’s “IV / The Eerie Cold”, both of which were released by the Italian label Avantgarde Music.

SHINING then focused on bringing their vision and, according to some, controversial live performances, to Europe, and for a while it seemed like SHINING had become a solid live act. But once again, the frontman’s mental health resulted in cancelled tours, physical and psychological fights within the band, and an eventual breakup.

Kvarforth then assembled a new line-up, signed a contract with Osmose Productions and started working on the fifth album “V / Halmstad”, which was released in 2007. Thanks to the enormous success and impact of the album, SHINING headlined several festivals throughout Europe and South America, as well as touring both as a headliner, and as a support act to bands such as SATYRICON and MAYHEM.

Several line-up changes later, SHINING once again entered the studio, recording two albums in one session. The first of these, “VI / Klagopsalmer” was released in 2009, after which the band once again went on the road, headlining, as well as supporting WATAIN. In 2011 SHINING signed to Spinefarm Records who released “VII / Född Förlorare” . The band also received their first gold disc for the single “Förtvivlan, Min Arvedel” in their home-country Sweden.

In January 2012, several line-up changes later, Kvarforth and Peter Huss entered Andy LaRocque’s Sonic Train Studios to record the cover EP “Lots of Girls Gonna Get Hurt” and “Redefining Darkness”, the eighth album, which unfortunately sank into obscurity due to the ever-growing difficulties between band and label.

2013 saw SHINING release the one-off project “8 ½ – Feberdrömmar I Vaket Tillstånd”, on Dark Essence Records. An album consisting of tracks originally recorded in the “Livets Ändhållplats” and “Angst” period, which had been illegally released in their pre-production state without the consent of the band. However, as there had been no vocals recorded on either of these takes, 6 of Kvarforth’s personal favourite vocalists were initiated, making the release a bit more special than just a mere re-release of already existing bootleg material.

In 2014 SHINING inked a deal with Season Of Mist and went on to release their 9th studio-album, “IX / Everyone, Everything, Everywhere, Ends”, which, despite being hobbled by yet another problematical booking agency, was followed the year thereafter by touring Europe, North America, Japan and Russia. After a series of backlashes and a certain amount of good ol’ turbulence SHINING finally settled down with Rock The Nation.

2016 marks the 20-year anniversary for the adversary and possibly the worst is yet to come…


Varg Utan Flock / 2018

Shining - Varg Utan Flock
  • Album Info
  • 2018
  • Season Of Mist

1. Svart Ostoppbar Eld
2. Gyllene Portarnas Bro
3. Jag Är Din Fiende
4. Han Som Lurar Inom
5. Tolvtusenfyrtioett
6. Mot Aokigahara

Everyone, Everything, Everywhere, Ends / 2015

Shining - Everyone, Everything, Everywhere, Ends
  • Album Info
  • 2015
  • Season Of Mist

1. Den Påtvingade Tvåsamheten
2. Vilja & Dröm
3. Framtidsutsikter
4. Människotankens Vägglösa Rum
5. Inga Broar Kvar Att Bränna
6. Besök Från I(ho)nom

Redefining Darkness / 2012

Shining - Redefining Darkness
  • Album Info
  • 2012
  • Spinefarm Records

1. Du, mitt konstverk
2. The Ghastly Silence
3. Han som hatar människan
4. Hail Darkness Hail
5. Det stora grå
6. For the God Below

Redefining Darkness is the eighth studio album by the Swedish black metal band Shining. It was released through Spinefarm Records on 29 October 2012. The album is dedicated to the memory of Trond Bråthen (a.k.a. “Trondr Nefas”).

Född förlorare / 2011

Shining - Född förlorare
  • Album Info
  • 2011
  • Spinefarm Records

1. Förtvivlan, min arvedel
2. Tiden läker inga sår
3. Människa o’avskyvärda människa
4. Tillsammans är vi allt
5. I nattens timma
6. FFF

Född förlorare (Born Loser) is the seventh album by Shining, released by Spinefarm Records on 25 May 2011.

Klagopsalmer / 2009

Shining - Klagopsalmer
  • Album Info
  • 2009
  • Osmose Productions

1. Vilseledda barnasjälars hemvist
2. Plågoande o’helga plågoande
3. Fullständigt jävla död inuti
4. Ohm – Sommar med Siv
5. Krossade drömmar och brutna löften
6. Total utfrysning

Klagopsalmer (roughly, Hymns of Lament) is the sixth album by Shining. It was released on 30 June 2009, by Osmose Productions.

Halmstad / 2007

Shining - Halmstad
  • Album Info
  • 2007
  • Osmose Productions

1. Ytterligare ett steg närmare total jävla utfrysning
2. Längtar bort från mitt hjärta
3. Låt oss ta allt från varandra
4. Besvikelsens dystra monotoni
5. Åttiosextusenfyrahundra
6. Neka morgondagen

Halmstad (Niklas angående Niklas) is the fifth album by Shining. It was released by Osmose Productions on 16 April 2007. A black LP edition was released and limited to 500 copies.

The Eerie Cold / 2005

Shining - The Eerie Cold
  • Album Info
  • 2005
  • Avantgarde Music

01. I och med insikt skall du förgå
02. Vemodets arkitektur
03. Någonting är jävligt fel
04. Eradication of the Condition
05. The Eerie Cold (Samvetskvalens Ballad)
06. Claws of Perdition

The Eerie Cold is the fourth album by Shining. It was released on Avantgarde Music in 2005. A black LP version was released, limited to 500 copies. This album was originally intended to be the band’s last.

Angst, självdestruktivitetens emissarie / 2002

Shining - Angst, självdestruktivitetens emissarie
  • Album Info
  • 2002
  • Selbstmord Services

1. Mörda dig själv…
2. Svart industriell olycka
3. Självdestruktivitetens emissarie
4. Submit to Self-Destruction
5. Till minne av daghen
6. Fields of Faceless

Angst, självdestruktivitetens emissarie is the third album by Shining.

Livets ändhållplats / 2001

Shining - Livets ändhållplats
  • Album Info
  • 2001
  • Selbstmord Services

1. Ett liv utan mening
2. Att med kniv göra sig illa
3. Ännu ett steg närmare total utfrysning
4. Död
5. Svart (ur Dagermans perspektiv)
6. Livets ändhållplats

Livets ändhållplats is the second album by Shining. It was released originally on Selbstmord Services, in 2001 on white splatter vinyl limited to 555 copies.

Within Deep Dark Chambers / 2000

Shining - Within Deep Dark Chambers
  • Album Info
  • 2000
  • Selbstmord Services

1. Reflecting in Solitude
2. Stonelands
3. Vita detestabilis
4. Ren djävla ångest (Pure Fucking Angst)
5. Inisis
6. And Only Silence Remains…

Within Deep Dark Chambers is the first album by the Swedish band Shining. It was originally released by Selbstmord Services, in 2000. At first, it was a black LP limited to 500 copies.

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.
Date Venue City Country Info Tickets
DISCLAIMER! None of the tourdates presented on this page belong to Nordic Metal. All the tourdates content belong to Bandsintown. We are using their data through a written consent between Nordic Metal and Bandsintown. Tourdates are shown as they are and Nordic Metal is not responsible for any false information.