STYLE: ORIGIN: NorwayFORMED: 1991LABEL: Napalm Records
  • Sigurd "Satyr" Wongraven – vocals, guitars, keyboards, bass (1991–present)
  • Kjetil-Vidar "Frost" Haraldstad – drums (1993–present)

Formed in Oslo in 1991, Satyricon made an immediate and enduring impact when they emerged from the flourishing Norwegian black metal scene. An idiosyncratic and fervently non-conformist creative force from the start, chief songwriter and vocalist Satyr and his percussive right-hand-man Frost made perpetual evolution and a noble disdain for the banality of much modern music essential tenets of their artistic approach. Having refined and redefined the second wave of black metal with early albums like “Dark Medieval Times” and “The Shadowthrone“, Satyricon screeched away from their peers in 1996 with the release of the widely acclaimed “Nemesis Divina“, simply one of /the/ classic ‘90s black metal albums and a mercurial blueprint for much of what would follow as the genre progressed into a new millennium.

From 1999’s vicious, industrial-tinged “Rebel Extravaganza” onwards, it was obvious that Satyr and Frost had no interest in toeing the black metal party line. Instead, via noisily acclaimed triumphs like 2006’s stripped down and seething “Now, Diabolical” and its pitch-black follow-up “The Age Of Nero” in 2008, Satyricon were proudly forging their own unique path, on a never-ending quest to express the inexpressible and to tap into the dark spiritual depths of 21st century humanity.

By the time the band released their self-titled album in 2013, their reputation as one of modern metal’s most vital, important and forward-thinking bands was way beyond dispute and routinely backed up by their unerring prowess and power as a live band.

2017 sees the release of their latest and greatest musical achievement, “Deep calleth upon Deep“.

If you noticed we are missing a video from this artist (Official one) please let us know by sending e-mail to [email protected]

Deep Calleth Upon Deep / 2017

  • Album Info
  • 2017
  • Napalm Records

1. Midnight Serpent
2. Blood Cracks Open The Ground
3. To Your Brethren In The Dark
4. Deep Calleth Upon Deep
5. The Ghost Of Rome
6. Dissonant
7. Black Wings And Withering Gloom
8. Burial Rite


Deep Calleth Upon Deep is the ninth studio album by Norwegian black metal band Satyricon. It was released on 22 September 2017.

Satyricon / 2013

  • Album Info
  • 2013
  • Roadrunner Records

1. Voice Of Shadows
2. Tro Og Kraft
3. Our World, It Rumbles Tonight
4. Nocturnal Flare
5. Phoenix
6. Walker Upon The Wind
7. Nekrohaven
8. Ageless Northern Spirit
9. The Infinity Of Time And Space
10. Natt
11. Phoenix (Recording Session Mix)
12. Our World, It Rumbles Tonight (Deeper Low Mix)
13. Natt (Wet Mix)


Satyricon is the eighth studio album by Norwegian black metal band Satyricon.

It is their first topping VG-lista, the official Norwegian Albums Chart. It was released throughout Europe on 9 September 2013, and released on 17 September 2013 in USA and Canada.

The Age of Nero / 2008

  • Album Info
  • 2008
  • Roadrunner Records

1. Commando
2. The Wolfpack
3. Black Crow On A Tombstone
4. Die by My Hand
5. My Skin Is Cold
6. The Sign Of The Trident
7. Last Man Standing
8. Den Siste


The Age of Nero is the seventh studio album by Norwegian black metal band Satyricon. It was released on 3 November 2008, through Roadrunner Records.

The release was backed by a full European headlining tour opening in Stavanger, Norway on 12 November and ending in Hamburg, Germany on 20 December.

Now, Diabolical / 2006

  • Album Info
  • 2006
  • Roadrunner Records

1. Now, Diabolical
2. K.I.N.G
3. The Pentagram Burns
4. A New Enemy
5. The Rite Of Our Cross
6. The Darkness Shall Be Eternal
7. Delirium
8. To The Mountains


Now, Diabolical is the sixth studio album by Norwegian black metal band Satyricon. It was released on 17 April 2006, through Roadrunner Records.

Volcano / 2002

  • Album Info
  • 2002
  • Moonfog Productions

1. With Ravenous Hunger
2. Angstridden
3. Fuel For Hatred
4. Suffering The Tyrants
5. Possessed
6. Repined Bastard Nation
7. Mental Mercury
8. Black Lava
9. Live Through Me
10. Existential Fear-Questions


Volcano is the fifth studio album by Norwegian black metal band Satyricon. It was released on 25 October 2002, through Moonfog Productions.

The album is one of the band’s more successful records, having won several awards including the Norwegian Grammy for Best Metal Album, Alarm awards for Metal Album of the Year, Song of the Year for “Fuel for Hatred” and an Oslo award for Best Overall Album. A video was made for the single “Fuel for Hatred”.

Rebel Extravaganza / 1999

  • Album Info
  • 1999
  • Moonfog Productions

1. Tied In Bronze Chains
2. Filthgrinder
3. Rhapsody In Filth
4. Havoc Vulture
5. Prime Evil Renaissance
6. Supersonic Journey
7. End Of Journey
8. A Moment Of Clarity
9. Down South Up North
10. The Scorn Torrent


Rebel Extravaganza is the fourth studio album by Norwegian black metal band Satyricon. It was released in 1999, through Moonfog Productions.

Nemesis Divina / 1996

  • Album Info
  • 1996
  • Moonfog Productions

1. The Dawn Of A New Age
2. Forhekset
3. Mother North
4. Du Som Hater Gud
5. Immortality Passion
6. Nemesis Divina
7. Transcendental Requiem Of Slaves


Nemesis Divina (Latin for “divine nemesis”) is the third studio album by Norwegian black metal band Satyricon. It was released on 22 April 1996, through Moonfog Productions.

The band have described the album as “darker” and “more aggressive” than their previous work.

A fully remastered edition was released in May 2016 to mark the 20th anniversary of the album.

The Shadowthrone / 1994

  • Album Info
  • 1994
  • Moonfog Productions

1. Hvite Krists Død
2. In The Mist By The Hills
3. Woods To Eternity
4. Vikingland
5. Dominions Of Satyricon
6. The King Of The Shadowthrone


The Shadowthrone is the second studio album by Norwegian black metal band Satyricon. It was released on 12 September 1994, through Moonfog Productions.

Dark Medieval Times / 1994

  • Album Info
  • 1994
  • Moonfog Productions

1. Walk The Path Of Sorrow
2. Dark Medieval Times
3. Skyggedans (Shadowdance)
4. Min Hyllest Til Vinterland (My Tribute To The Winterland)
5. Into The Mighty Forest
6. The Dark Castle In The Deep Forest
7. Taakeslottet (The Fogcastle)


Dark Medieval Times is the debut studio album by Norwegian black metal band Satyricon. It was recorded in August and September 1993 and released in 1994 through Moonfog Productions. It is now out of print and original pressings of the CD are getting harder to find.


Tons of Rock started back in 2014 with bands such as Volbeat, Anthrax, Slayer and Ghost as headliners. Back then the festival was in an old fortress called “Fredriksten Festning”

July 9, 2019 by Kenneth Larsen
Date Venue City Country Info Tickets
2024-06-28T19:00:00Hellfest 2024ClissonFranceInfoTickets
2024-06-29T19:00:00Tons of Rock 2024OsloNorwayInfoTickets
DISCLAIMER! None of the tourdates presented on this page belong to Nordic Metal. All the tourdates content belong to Bandsintown. We are using their data through a written consent between Nordic Metal and Bandsintown. Tourdates are shown as they are and Nordic Metal is not responsible for any false information.