STYLE: , ORIGIN: DenmarkFORMED: 1993LABEL: Cyclone Empire
  • Thomas Akim Grønbæk Jensen-Vocals
  • Indee Rehal-Sagoo-Guitars
  • Julio Fernandez-Guitars
  • Brian Pomy Hansen-Bass
  • Henrik Glass-Drums

In 1991, lead-vocalist Thomas A.G. Jensen started looking for people to start a death metal band. He hooked up with bass player, Brian Hansen, who was also looking for people into the same act. In 1996, the band was signed to Euphonious Records (a division of Voices of Wonder), and in January 1997 “Paradise Belongs to You”, was released.

On the 29th of June 1997, the band played in front of 3,000 fans at the Roskilde Festival. The show climaxed with the songs, Christ Goodbye/The rise of Nakkiel played together with an 8 piece choir conducted by Morten Skrubbeltrang.

The Roskilde show was recorded by Norwegian Radio (NRK) and was broadcasted in Scandinavian Radio during the spring of 1998, and lastly, Christ Goodbye/The rise of Nakkiel was featured on the mini-cd “For The Loveless Lonely Nights” (1998).

The work on “Martyre” had actually already begun at the time “Paradise Belongs to You” was finished, and in the beginning of 1999, Saturnus began looking for a studio and a producer. Enter Flemming Rasmussen and The Sweet Silence Studios. Flemming Rasmussen is of course, the guy who produced the now classic Metallica albums “Ride The Lightning”, “Master of Puppets” and “...And Justice for All”.

The album was recorded during April/May 1999, but due to tons of weird happenings, the album release date was constantly postponed, and it finally saw the light of day on January 10th, 2000.

In August 2006, Firebox Records, (FIN) signed Saturnus on their roster. The band and label negotiated a contract for two albums; the much-awaited third full-length Saturnus studio album was recorded in late 2005 and ‘Veronika Decides to Die’ was released in 2006.

In April/May 2008 the band embarked on their first extensive European tour with Chileans Mar de Grises and Thurisaz from Belgium.

In 2011, Saturnus began to tour more, and this took them to Moldovia, Ukraine, Russia, Belarus, Italy, Netherlands, Armenia and Georgia, where they became the first international metal band who performed there. After a 4 song demo was recorded to find a new record deal, Saturnus signed with Cyclone Empire in 2012 for 2 albums.

The first album together with Cyclone Empire, “Saturn In Ascension”, was recorded at Winding Road Studio with producer Flemming Rasmussen once again, and the album was released on the 30th of November 2012.

In 2013 Saturnus celebrated their 20th year anniversary!


Saturn in Ascension / 2012

Saturnus-Saturn in Ascension
  • Album Info
  • 2012
  • Cyclone Empire Records

1. Litany of Rain
2. Wind Torn
3. A Lonely Passage
4. A Father’s Providence
5. Mourning Sun
6. Call of the Raven Moon
7. Forest of Insomnia
8. Between

Saturn in Ascension is the fourth full-length album released by the band Saturnus. It was released on 30 November 2012.

Veronika Decides to Die / 2006

Saturnus-Veronika Decides to Die
  • Album Info
  • 2006
  • Firebox Records

1. I Long
2. Pretend
3. Descending
4. Rain Wash Me
5. All Alone
6. Embraced by Darkness
7. To the Dreams
8. Murky Waters

Veronika Decides to Die is the third full-length album released by the band Saturnus through Firebox Records. It was released on the 3rd of May, 2006. The album is named after Paulo Coelho’s book of the same name.

Martyre / 2000

  • Album Info
  • 2000
  • Euphonious Records

1. 7
2. Inflame Thy Heart
3. Empty Handed
4. Noir
5. A Poem (Written in Moonlight)
6. Softly on the Path You Fade
7. Thou Art Free
8. Drown My Sorrow
9. Lost My Way
10. Loss (In Memoriam)
11. Thus My Heart Weepeth for Thee
12. In Your Shining Eyes

Martyre is the second full-length album released by doom metal band Saturnus.


Paradise Belongs to You / 1997

Saturnus-Paradise Belongs to You
  • Album Info
  • 1997
  • Euphonious Records

1. Paradise Belongs to You
2. Christ Goodbye
3. As We Dance the Paths of Fire and Solace
4. Pilgrimage of Sorrow
5. The Fall of Nakkiel (Nakkiel Has Fallen)
6. Astral Dawn
7. I Love Thee
8. The Underworld
9. Lament for This Treacherous World

Paradise Belongs to You is the first album released by doom metal band Saturnus.

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.