Revolution Renaissance

Revolution Renaissance
STYLE: ORIGIN: FinlandFORMED: 2008LABEL: Napalm Records
  • Timo Tolkki - guitars
  • Gus Monsanto - vocals
  • Bruno Agra - drums
  • Magnus Rosén - bass
  • Bob Katsionis - keyboards

REVOLUTION RENAISSANCE was a multinational power metal band founded by guitarist Timo Tolkki after he left STRATOVARIUS in 2008. The band released three studio albums before disbanding in 2010.

New Era

The studio lineup for the New Era album was Michael Kiske, Tobias Sammet and Pasi Rantanen on vocals, Pasi Heikkilä on bass, Joonas Puolakka on keyboards and Mirka Rantanen on drums. Tolkki himself is the only one included in the permanent line up, which was announced later.

Age of Aquarius

In March 2009, the band released their second album Age of Aquarius with a permanent lineup. The band said that it was “by far the darkest, heaviest and most symphonic album that Tolkki has ever been involved in.”. In October 2009 Timo Tolkki announced that both Justin Biggs and Mike Khalilov have left the band due to musical differences.

On November 1, 2009, Magnus Rosén (former bass player for HammerFall) joined REVOLUTION RENAISSANCE.

Trinity and breakup

In an interview with the Finnish news website kp24 published on May 10, Timo Tolkki announced that Greek Firewind and Outloud Keyboarder Bob Katsionis was the new keyboard player of the band and that they were currently mixing their third and final album, Trinity, which was released in fall.

On July 28, Tolkki announced the break-up of REVOLUTION RENAISSANCE. He commented by saying:

“Due to my private problems, the lack of interest in REVOLUTION RENAISSANCE, shows by the promoters, and the current situation in the music industry that affects to everything including the production budgets, it has become impossible to continue the band. We have tried to book shows in these last three years, but we haven’t been able to do so. A rock band cannot exist without direct contact to its fans. Therefore I have no other choice but to make the decision to stop the band and its activities due to the above-mentioned reasons. The third and final album of the band will be released at the end of September. From the bottom of my heart I would like to thank all the fans of my music throughout the years. It’s been a great journey.”

If you noticed we are missing a video from this artist (Official one) please let us know by sending e-mail to [email protected]

Trinity / 2010

Revolution Renaissance - Trinity
  • Album Info
  • 2010
  • Napalm Records

1. Marching with the Fools
2. Falling to Rise
3. A Lot Like Me
4. The World Doesn’t Get to Me
5. Crossing the Rubicon
6. Just Let It Rain
7. Dreamchild
8. Trinity
9. Frozen Winter Heart

“Trinity” is the third and final album by REVOLUTION RENAISSANCE, released on September 24, 2010.

Age Of Aquarius / 2009

Revolution Renaissance - Age of Aquarius
  • Album Info
  • 2009
  • Scarlet Records

1. Age of Aquarius
2. Sins of My Beloved
3. Ixion’s Wheel
4. Behind the Mask
5. Ghost of Fallen Grace
6. Heart of All
7. So She Wears Black
8. Kyrie Eleison
9. Into the Future

“Age Of Aquarius” is the second studio album by the Finnish power metal band REVOLUTION RENAISSANCE. It is the first album featuring singer Gus Monsanto, drummer Bruno Agra, bassist Justin Biggs and keyboardist Mike Khalilov. It was released on 25 March 2009 in South-East Asia by JVC/Victor Entertainment and on 23 March 2009 in the rest of the world by Scarlet Records. A promotional video clip for the title track was recorded and produced in late 2008. The band released the songs “Age of Aquarius” and “Ghost of Fallen Grace” as a free, high-quality mp3 download on their website.

All tracks written by Tolkki, Agra and Monsanto.

New Era / 2008

Revolution Renaissance - New Era
  • Album Info
  • 2008
  • Frontiers Records

1. Heroes
2. I Did It My Way (Lead vocals: Michael Kiske) – 4:22
3. We Are Magic (Lead vocals: Pasi Rantanen) – 4:23
4. Angel (Lead vocals: Kiske) – 4:51
5. Eden Is Burning (Lead vocals: Rantanen) – 5:16
6. Glorious and Divine (Lead vocals: Sammet) – 4:43
7. Born Upon the Cross (Lead vocals: Rantanen) – 4:02
8. Keep the Flame Alive (Lead vocals: Kiske) – 4:32
9. Last Night on Earth (Lead vocals: Kiske) – 4:46
10. Revolution Renaissance (Lead vocals: Kiske) – 6:10

“New Era” is the debut album of Finnish power metal pioneer Timo Tolkki‘s band, REVOLUTION RENAISSANCE. After Tolkki‘s split from Stratovarius in 2008 he used what fan’s knew the album to be titled R… R…. as the namesake for his new project. Using material he had written for Stratovarius‘s upcoming album, Tolkki‘s “New Era” features the talents of German power metal vocalist Tobias Sammet and German singer Michael Kiske among others.

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.