STYLE: , ORIGIN: NorwayFORMED: 1998LABEL: Ascendance Records
  • Zet - Vocals, Guitar
  • SfinX - Vocals
  • Küth - Drums, Percussion
  • Lanius - Bass, Didgeridoo
  • KA - Keyboards

Ram-Zet is an extreme metal/avant-garde metal band formed in Hamar, Norway in 1998. It began as a one-man project by singer and guitarist Zet (Henning Ramseth), which later evolved into a full-grown band with the arrival of Küth (drums) and Solem (bass), leading to the release of Ram-Zet’s debut album Pure Therapy in September 2000.

In 2013, after releasing five studio albums and 14 years of existence, Ram-Zet took a break indefinitely, before the departure of some of its leading members; in particular, the guitarist Zet became part of the melodic death metal band Vardøger. That same year, Sfinx was joined to Viper Solfa, as the female vocalist.

Ram-Zet’s music is very diverse ranging from black metal to thrash metal. It has industrial sounds, progressive structures, and traditional instruments forming a style which some people, including band mastermind Zet, have called “schizo-metal”. Their music contains lots of rare time signatures, unconventional harmonies, and unusual violin parts. They can be regarded as an avant-garde metal band, because of the wide range of genres influencing them.

Ram-Zet’s lyrics are strongly linked to a schizophrenia theme. The lyrics of Pure TherapyEscape, and Intra all revolve around this mental disorder. Forming a story which runs through all three albums, they feature two main characters: a schizophrenic patient in a dubious mental institution (sung by Zet), and a nurse trying to help him evade (sung by Sfinx).


Freaks in Wonderland / 2012

Ram-Zet-Freaks in Wonderland
  • Album Info
  • 2012
  • Space Valley Records

1. Story Without a Happy End
2. I Am
3. Mojo
4. Land of Fury
5. Madre
6. Circle
7. The Sign
8. As the Carpet Silent Falls

Freaks in Wonderland is the fifth album by the avant-garde metal band Ram-Zet released on January 24, 2012 in the US by Buil2Kill Records.

Neutralized / 2009

  • Album Info
  • 2009
  • Ascendance Records

1. Infamia
2. I Am Dirt
3. 222
4. Addict
5. God Don’t Forgive
6. Beautiful Pain
7. To Ashes
8. Requiem

Neutralized is the fourth album by avant-garde metal band Ram-Zet released on October 12, 2009 in the US by Ascendance Records. The album was recorded from 2008 to early 2009. Ram-Zet employed a lengthy, busy writing schedule with the album being mixed in summer of 2009 to be ready for a tentative release date of September.

Intra / 2005

  • Album Info
  • 2005
  • Tabu Recordings

1. The Final Thrill
2. Left Behind as Pieces
3. Enchanted
4. Ballet
5. “Peace”
6. And Innocence
7. Born
8. Lullaby for the Dying
9. Closing a Memory

Intra is the third album by avant-garde metal band Ram-Zet released on September 6, 2005 in the US by Tabu Records. It was produced by the bands founder, vocalist, and guitarist, Zet and co-produced by Ram-Zet and Daniel Bergstrand, who also mixed the album. The band recorded at their personal studio in Norway, Space Valley Studios.

Escape / 2002

  • Album Info
  • 2002
  • Spikefarm Records

1. “R.I.P.”
2. Queen
3. The Claustrophobic Journey
4. Sound of Tranquillity / Peace?
5. The Seeker
6. Pray
7. I’m Not Dead
8. The Moment She Died

Escape is the second album by avant-garde metal band Ram-Zet released on April 30, 2002 in the US by Spinefarm Records and Century Media Records. The band produced the album themselves. They recorded and engineered it at their personal studio in Norway, Space Valley Studios.

Pure Therapy / 2000

Ram-Zet-Pure Therapy
  • Album Info
  • 2000
  • Spikefarm Records

1. The Fall
2. King
3. For the Sake of Mankind
4. Eternal Voice / Peace?
5. No Peace
6. Kill My Thoughts
7. Sense
8. Through the Eyes of the Children

Pure Therapy is the debut album by avant-garde metal band Ram-Zet released on April 30, 2000 under the Finnish record label Spikefarm Records. The band produced the album by themselves.

Pure Therapy starts the schizophrenia theme, continued in the following two releases Escape (2002) and Intra (2005), with a unique story about this mental disorder in two main characters.

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.
Date Venue City Country Info Tickets
DISCLAIMER! None of the tourdates presented on this page belong to Nordic Metal. All the tourdates content belong to Bandsintown. We are using their data through a written consent between Nordic Metal and Bandsintown. Tourdates are shown as they are and Nordic Metal is not responsible for any false information.