STYLE: ORIGIN: FinlandFORMED: 2000LABEL: Warner Music Finland
  • Ville Laihiala - vocals (2004-2015), guitars (2000-2015)
  • Antti Remes - bass (2004-2015)
  • Marco Sneck - keyboards (2000-2015)
  • Tarmo Kanerva - drums (2000-2015)

POISONBLACK was a Finnish gothic metal band led by singer/guitarist Ville Laihiala.

In 2003, their first album, Escapexstacy, was on the Finnish national charts for 3 weeks, peaking at No. 21. They opened for Iron Maiden at the Hartwall Areena in Helsinki on December 21, 2003 for the Dance of Death World Tour.

Singer Juha-Pekka Leppäluoto left in the autumn of 2003 to concentrate on his work with Charon. Ville Laihiala, the band’s principal songwriter, assumed vocal duties and has since led POISONBLACK out of the gothic genre of their first album and in a musical direction that closely mirrors that of his former band Sentenced.

In 2006, they toured Europe with Lacuna Coil and their second album, Lust Stained Despair reached No. 2 in Finland for 1 week.

In 2008 they released A Dead Heavy Day which hit the Finnish Album Chart in position 6. After this success they toured Europe with Dark Tranquillity and Fear My Thoughts. In 2010 POISONBLACK released Of Rust And Bones, their fourth album. The fifth album Drive was released in 2011 on Hype Records and the band´s latest album Lyijy was released in September 2013 by Warner Music Finland. The album reached #4 on the Finnish album chart.

On August 23, 2015, singer Ville Laihiala posted a statement on the band’s Facebook page and website stating that the band had broken up.

If you noticed we are missing a video from this artist (Official one) please let us know by sending e-mail to [email protected]

Lyijy / 2013

Poisonblack - Lyijy
  • Album Info
  • 2013
  • Warner Music Finland

1. Home Is Where The Sty Is
2. Down The Ashes Rain
3. The Flavor Of The Month
4. The Absentee
5. Maybe Life Is Not For Everyone
6. Death By The Blues
7. The Halfway Bar
8. Them Walls
9. Blackholehead
10. Pull The Trigger
11. Elämän Kevät

“Lyijy” is the sixth studio album from the Finnish gothic metal band POISONBLACK. The title of the album means lead in Finnish.

Drive / 2011

Poisonblack - Drive
  • Album Info
  • 2011
  • Hype Records

1. Piston Head
2. Mercury Falling
3. A Good Day for the Crows
4. Maggot Song
5. From Now-here to Nowhere
6. Sycophant
7. The Dead-End Stream
8. Futile Man
9. Scars
10. Driftwood

“Drive” is the fifth studio album by the Finnish gothic metal band POISONBLACK. It was released on 27 April 2011 by Hype Records.

Of Rust And Bones / 2010

Poisonblack - Of Rust and Bones
  • Album Info
  • 2010
  • Century Media

1. Sun Shines Black
2. Leech
3. My World
4. Buried Alive
5. Invisible
6. Casket Case
7. Down The Drain
8. Alone
9. The Last Song

“Of Rust And Bones” is the fourth studio album by the Finnish gothic metal band POISONBLACK. It was released on March 22, 2010 in Europe by Century Media Records.

A Dead Heavy Day / 2008

Poisonblack - A Dead Heavy Day
  • Album Info
  • 2008
  • Century Media

1. Intro
2. Diane
3. Left Behind
4. Bear The Cross
5. A Dead Heavy Day
6. Me Myself & I
7. X
8. Human-Compost
9. The Days Between
10. Hatelove
11. Low Life
12. Only You Can Tear Me Apart

“A Dead Heavy Day” is the third studio album by the Finnish gothic metal band POISONBLACK. It was released on September 1, 2008 in Europe by Century Media Records.

Lust Stained Despair / 2006

Poisonblack - Lust Stained Despair
  • Album Info
  • 2006
  • Century Media

1. Nothing Else Remains
2. Hollow Be My Name
3. The Darkest Lie
4. Rush
5. Nail
6. Raivotar
7. Soul In Flames
8. Pain Becomes Me
9. Never Enough
10. Love Controlled Despair
11. The Living Dead

“Lust Stained Despair” is the second album by the Finnish gothic metal band POISONBLACK. Provisionally titled “The Music For the Junkies” by POISONBLACK frontman Ville Laihiala, the album was released in August 2006 after a three-year hiatus due to the search for a new singer (after the departure of Juha-Pekka Leppäluoto).

Escapexstacy / 2003

Poisonblack - Escapexstacy
  • Album Info
  • 2003
  • Century Media

1. The Glow Of The Flames
2. Love Infernal
3. The State
4. All Else Is Hollow
5. In Lust
6. Exciter
7. Lay Your Heart To Rest
8. With Her I Die
9. Illusion / Delusion
10. The Kiss Of Death

“Escapexstacy” is the debut album of Finnish gothic metal band POISONBLACK. It was released on February 17, 2003 in Germany, February 25, 2003 in the United States and Canada, and March 8, 2003 in Japan. Amy Sciarretto gave a favourable review in CMJ New Music Monthly, writing that Escapexstacy boasts gorgeous and progressive Euro-rock, which never gets too heavy…”

The song “The Exciter” was featured in an episode of Viva la Bam, entitled “Where’s Vito?”, during a scene where Vito Margera destroys Bam Margera‘s beloved Hummer via being pushed into a quarry.

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.