October Tide

October Tide
STYLE: , ORIGIN: SwedenFORMED: 1995LABEL: Agonia Records
  • Alexander Högbom - Vocals
  • Mattias "Kryptan" Norrman - Guitars
  • Fredrik "North" Norrman - Guitars
  • Johan Jönsegård - Bass
  • Jonas Sköld - Drums

October Tide originated with a 1995 demo tape created by Katatonia members Jonas Renkse and Fred Norrman. Much of the material was written during a break-up of Katatonia (which would end up being only temporary). In 1997 the two signed to VIC Records to release their debut, “Rain Without End“. In 1999 , October Tide would release their second and last album entitled “Grey Dawn” which had Mårten Hansen (of A Canorous Quintet) replacing Renkse on vocal duties.

The album received much deserved praise from fans and the media alike. Renkse and Norrman made a decision to not grant interviews nor tour whatsoever, which resulted in short lived public profile. These two albums continue to live on in the underground community and are widely regarded as two treasures to result from the temporary break-up of Katatonia.

Despite staunchly refusing the notion of future material for an astounding 11 years, October Tide returned in 2010 with “A Thin Shell”, a new full-length masterpiece released through Candlelight Records.

Recorded at Black Lounge studios with producer Jonas Kjellgren (Scar Symmetry) and featuring artwork by Travis Smith (Opeth, Testament, etc) “A Thin Shell” delivers what fans have anxiously awaited from this treasured band. Seven doom-laden and emotive songs that are every bit as heavy as they are catchy fill the impressive recording that officially closes the band’s self-imposed, decade-long hiatus.

After the release of “A Thin Shell” the band toured heavily playing shows and festivals from Finland in the north to Spain in the south and from Ireland in the west to Slovenia in the east.

In early 2012, October Tide parted ways with both the vocalist and bassist due to family and musical reasons and new members in form of Mattias Norrman (ex-Katatonia) and Alexander Högbom (Volturyon, Spasmodic) were quickly recruited.

Some weeks during the fall of 2012 were spent at Black Lounge studios recording ”Tunnel of no Light”, October Tide’s anticipated fourth album which was released in April 2013 through the band’s new label home, Pulverised Records.

Following the release, October Tide played several shows & festivals all over Europe securing themselves as one of the leading European death/doom bands.

In the fall of 2015, October Tide recorded their latest album, “Winged Waltz”, which was released on April 22, 2016 through Agonia Records, their new label partner. The album has received outstanding reviews and is hailed as their most powerful and well-thought release so far, a true masterpiece of melodic and melancholic doom/death!

If you noticed we are missing a video from this artist (Official one) please let us know by sending e-mail to [email protected]

October Tide-Of Splendor Below / 2019

October Tide-Of Splendor Below
  • Album Info
  • 2019
  • Agonia Records

1. I, the Polluter
2. We Died in October
3. Ögonblick av nåd
4. Stars Starve Me
5. Our Famine
6. Guide My Pulse
7. Seconds
8. Envy the Moon

Of Splendor Below is the sixth full-length album by Swedish melodic death/doom metal band October Tide, released in 2019 on Agonia Records.

Winged Waltz / 2016

October Tide-Winged Waltz
  • Album Info
  • 2016
  • Agonia Records

1. Swarm
2. Sleepless Sun
3. Reckless Abandon
4. A Question Ignite
5. Nursed by the Cold
6. Lost in Rapture
7. Perilous
8. Coffins of November

Tunnel Of No Light / 2013

October Tide-Tunnel Of No Light
  • Album Info
  • 2013
  • Pulverized Records

Tunnel of No Light is the fourth studio album by Swedish death/doom metal band October Tide. It was released on March 25, 2013. Tunnel of No Light was produced by Jonas Kjellgren, and released by Pulverised Records, with whom the band had recently signed. It was the first album with an official second guitarist, Emil Alstermark, and the first album with an official bass guitarist, Mattias “Kryptan” Norrman. It is also the first album with Alexander Högbom on vocals. The sound of the new album is described as being a more direct and more heavy direction while maintaining the traditional sound of the band.

A Thin Shell / 2010

October Tide-A Thin Shell
  • Album Info
  • 2010
  • Candlelight Records

A Thin Shell is the third album by Swedish death/doom metal band October Tide. This was the first album the band released in 11 years. This is the only October Tide release with Tobias Netzell.

Grey Dawn / 1998

October Tide-Grey Dawn
  • Album Info
  • 1998
  • Avantgarde Music

Grey Dawn was the second full release of Swedish death/doom metal band October Tide. This is the only October Tide release with Mårten Hansen in the band, and the last with Jonas Renkse. The album was reissued on November 23, 1999.

Rain Without End / 1997

October Tide-Rain Without End
  • Album Info
  • 1997
  • Vic Records

Rain Without End is the first album by death/doom metal band October Tide. This is the only October Tide release with Jonas Renkse on vocals. The album was reissued on November 10, 2008.


October Tide, a band often associated with Katatonia, from their slow down-tempo depressive melodic doomy sounds, to their catchy chorus lines. October Tide, also a band who has developed into

October 31, 2019 by Nikki Katsi
Date Venue City Country Info Tickets
DISCLAIMER! None of the tourdates presented on this page belong to Nordic Metal. All the tourdates content belong to Bandsintown. We are using their data through a written consent between Nordic Metal and Bandsintown. Tourdates are shown as they are and Nordic Metal is not responsible for any false information.