STYLE: ORIGIN: SwedenFORMED: 2017LABEL: Nuclear Blast
  • Bill Hudson-Guitars
  • Jimmy Pitts-Keyboards
  • Mikael Planefeldt-Bass
  • Patrick Johansson-Drums, Percussion

NorthTale is a Swedish/American power metal supergroup formed in late 2017 by guitarist Bill Hudson, Christian Eriksson, and Patrick Johansson. The band teased their debut song, “Shape Your Reality“, in October 2018, to positive reception. In April 2018, the band announced that they have signed with Nuclear Blast and that their debut album is entitled “Welcome to Paradise“. It was released on August 2 2019.

An early concept for the band was formed in late 2017 by Bill Hudson as a side project while he was in U.D.O.. Initially, Hudson planned to release a solo album. However, shortly after Christian Eriksson’s departure from Twilight Force in October 2017, Hudson took the opportunity to recruit Eriksson as the lead vocalist, and former Yngwie Malmsteen drummer Patrick Johansson. All three had previously met before, and starting a band seemed like an obvious choice. Hudson and Eriksson had formerly met in person after a festival where both U.D.O. and Twilight Force had performed, and Eriksson and Johansson became acquainted while the latter was on tour with Malmsteen in California.

To form a complete roster, Eriksson brought on fellow Swede Mikael Planefeldt, who he studied with while he was a student at the Musicians Institute in Hollywood, California. Hudson said that choosing Jimmy Pitts as keyboardist was an “easy choice,” as they had previously met through mutual acquaintances while he played with Trans-Siberian Orchestra. On January 25th, 2018, Eriksson officially announced the formation of a new power-metal band that would eventually become NorthTale.

The group initially did not have a permanent name, and was unsure what to call themselves. In early February of the same year, Hudson held a name contest on Facebook in which fans would have the opportunity to submit a name for the band. After over 1500 suggestions, in May 2018 the band members decided on the name NorthTale.

After Hudson split from U.D.O. in April 2018, he decided to set his focus on NorthTale full time.

If you noticed we are missing a video from this artist (Official one) please let us know by sending e-mail to [email protected]

Welcome to Paradise / 2019

NorthTale-Welcome to Paradise
  • Album Info
  • 2019
  • Nuclear Blast

1. Welcome to Paradise
2. Higher
3. Follow Me
4. The Rhythm of Life
5. Time to Rise
6. Way of the Light
7. Shape Your Reality
8. Everyone’s a Star
9. Siren’s Fall
10. Bring Down the Mountain
11. Playing with Fire
12. If Angels Are Real
13. Even When

Welcome To Paradise is the debut album by Swedish/American power metal band NorthTale, released on August 2, 2019 on Nuclear Blast records.


Are you worried about the dying art of Power Metal? Well I am or at least I was before NorthTale entered my life. Small flashback here might be in order.

October 17, 2019 by Tero Tolkki
Date Venue City Country Info Tickets
2025-03-12T19:00:00Legend ClubMilanoItalyInfoTickets
DISCLAIMER! None of the tourdates presented on this page belong to Nordic Metal. All the tourdates content belong to Bandsintown. We are using their data through a written consent between Nordic Metal and Bandsintown. Tourdates are shown as they are and Nordic Metal is not responsible for any false information.