STYLE: , , ORIGIN: FinlandFORMED: 2007LABEL: Inverse Records
  • Hannu Karppinen - vocals
  • Tapio Anttiroiko - guitars, backing vocals
  • Atte Jääskelä - guitars
  • Sami Kotila - bass
  • Aki Pusa - drums

Initiated by guitarist Atte Jääskelä in Northern Finland during 2007. After a few transformations, in 2009 the band found a definitive direction with a new line up, and began to use the name NICUMO. Incredibly strong vocals by Hannu Karppinen, lively, heavy rhythm section by Sami Kotila (bass) And Aki Pusa (drums), recognizable emotional guitar melodies with strong riffs by Atte Jääskelä and phenomenally rambling solos by Tapio Anttiroiko provides a musical mixture that is worth to hear.

After two EPs: “Close Our Eyes For Good” (2010) and “Scars & Glassy Eyes” (2011), NICUMO released their debut album The End Of Silence (2013, Inverse Records). Appropriately named debut reached a 24th place on The Official Finnish Charts on it’s first week and proved to be a critical success in all reviews published.

After the End Of Silence, NICUMO has noted in metal underground and the band has played dozes of gigs in six different countries for growing audiences. Touring has increased the band technically and musically to band which has even more to offer.

Finally, after a long creation process NICUMO published second album Storms Arise (2017, Inverse Records) 7th of July 2017. On it’s releaseweek Storms Arise reached 12th position on Finland’s Top 40 Album chart and the song “Poltergeist” reached 7th place on “Finnish 50 Most Viral” -list on Spotify.

NICUMO’s music has its roots in melodic metal, but the style today has taken many fearless sidesteps to another genres. Due the bands home region, north is the strongest unifying element you can hear in NICUMO’s music. The strength in the band’s music is versatility, from very punchy pop-rock to more progressive and even mesmerizing vibrations and all the way back to straight death metal.


Nicumo has released a second single from forthcoming third album which will be released later this year. Song’s name is “Tree of Life” and you can check it below: Vocalist Hannu Karppinen comments:

May 22, 2019 by Tero Tolkki

Nicumo will celebrate their 10th anniversary next year, and the celebration begins today! Last year the band released their successful second album ‘Storms Arise’ and now they have published a

March 27, 2018 by Tero Tolkki

Storms Arise / 2017

Nicumo - Storm Arise
  • Album Info
  • 2017
  • Inverse Records

1. The Dawn
2. Old World Burning
3. Beyond Horizon
4. Unholy War
5. Death, Let Go
6. Guilt
7. Poltergeist
8. If This Is Your God, I Don’t Need One
9. Sirens
10. Aiolos
11. Dream Too Real

Recording & mixing: Olli Tainio
Mastering: Svante Forsbäck, Chartmakers
Produced: NICUMO & Olli Tainio
Partner in the publication and distribution: Inverse Records

The End Of Silence / 2013

Nicumo - The End Of Silence
  • Album Info
  • 2013
  • Inverse Records

1. Follow Me
2. All Gone
3. Devil
4. Exorcist
5. Firestorm
6. My Bullet
7. Difference
8. Kills Me
9. My Own Silence
10. Lines Drawn by Tears

Recording & mixing: Kalle Keskikuru, during 2012 – 2013
Mastering: Jens Bogren, Fascination Street Studios, SWE
Produced: NICUMO & Kalle Keskikuru
Partner in the publication and distribution: Inverse Records

DISCLAIMER! None of the tourdates presented on this page belong to Nordic Metal. All the tourdates content belong to Bandsintown. We are using their data through a written consent between Nordic Metal and Bandsintown. Tourdates are shown as they are and Nordic Metal is not responsible for any false information.

No album reviews found for this band.

If you are interested of writing album reviews, contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.
No livereviews found for this band.

If you are interested of going to concerts and writing reviews, contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.
No videos found for this band.