STYLE: ORIGIN: SwedenFORMED: 1992LABEL: Century Media Records
  • Kristoffer Olivius-Vocals
  • Andreas Nilsson-Guitars
  • Marcus Norman-Guitars, Bass, Keyboards

Naglfar is a Swedish melodic black metal band formed in 1992. The group was formed by Jens Rydén and Kristoffer Olivius, originally under the name Uninterred.

The band had its first full line-up when Ulf Andersson from Nocturnal Rites joined the band to play drums, and Morgan Hansson and Fredrik Degerström joined on guitar. With this new line-up, Rydén could concentrate on vocals. In March 1994, Degerström left Naglfar, due to personal issues with the band as well as musical differences. Soon afterward, Andersson left the band to concentrate on Nocturnal Rites. It was during this period that the band wrote and recorded their first demo in Garageland Studio, titled Stellae TrajectioThe demo was released in November 1994. Before it was publicly released, however, the band officially changed their name to Naglfar, the name deriving from a ship in Norse mythology made from the nails of the dead.

In early 1995, the band was signed by Wrong Again Records, and that summer they released their debut full-length album, Vittra, which featured new drummer Mattias Holmgren. After the recording was over, Holmgren left the band. Other than appearing on an Iron Maiden tribute CD (performing the song “The Evil That Men Do“), the band was relatively inactive for the next few years. Their second album was titled Diabolical and released in 1998, now with Mattias Grahn on drums.  CMJ New Music Report described it as a “ferocious version of Swedish black/death metal…monumentally mindblowing”. The band signed to Century Media in 2002. After more line-up changes, and a European tour with Deicide, Naglfar recorded an EP called Ex Inferis, which saw the band compared to Dimmu Borgirand a full-length called Sheol, which saw the New York Times describe the band as “one of the most compelling metal bands” and also “one of the most ridiculous”, with the music described as “terrific”. Rydén left the band after the album’s release, with bassist Olivius taking over on lead vocals. Rydén went on to record under the name Profundi, recording the album The Omega Rising in 2006.

In 2005, the full-length album Pariah was released, with AllMusic commenting on its “shockingly profane lyrics”.  The album was followed by a highly successful tour together with Dark Funeral across Europe, as well as several festival dates. In December 2005, touring bassist Peter Morgan Lie was confirmed as the new bass player for the band. For their 2007 album Harvest, the band worked with director Roger Johansson on a video for the track “The Darkest Road”The band also toured the US in 2007.

In December 2011, Naglfar launched their official Facebook page. On December 22, 2011, a new album entitled Téras was announced. It was released in March 2012.  Dirk Verbeuren appears on the album as a session musician. In 2013, Naglfar performed at Wacken Open Air, Europe’s biggest open-air heavy metal festival.

The band started writing its seventh full-length album in February 2014.

Naglfar will be performing at Maryland Deathfest in May 2019.


Téras / 2012

  • Album Info
  • 2012
  • Century Media Records

1. Téras
2. Pale Horse
3. III: Death Dimension Phantasma
4. The Monolith
5. An Extension of His Arm and Will
6. Bring Out Your Dead
7. Come, Perdition
8. Invoc(H)ate
9. The Dying Flame of Existence

Téras is the sixth album by Swedish black metal band Naglfar. It was released on March 26, 2012 on Century Media Records. It is their first album in five years, and their first album as a trio.

Téras was released in different forms by the record label. It was released as a regular CD, as a digital download, as a limited edition deluxe CD digipak including a bonus track and a Naglfar logo patch, and finally as a deluxe gatefold double-LP on 180 gram vinyl (black or red), which included the bonus track and an etching on side D.

Prior to the release of Téras, Century Media Records released a 7″ EP, limited to 500 hand-numbered copies. It was titled “An Extension of His Arm and Will”, and included the exclusive non-album track “As Long As They Fear“.

Harvest / 2007

  • Album Info
  • 2007
  • Century Media Records

1. Into the Black
2. Breathe Through Me
3. The Mirrors of My Soul
4. Odium Generis Humani
5. The Darkest Road
6. Way of the Rope
7. Plutonium Reveries
8. Feeding Moloch
9. Harvest

Harvest is the fifth album by Swedish black metal band Naglfar, released in 2007 on Century Media Records.

Pariah / 2005

  • Album Info
  • 2005
  • Century Media Records

1. Proclamation
2. A Swarm of Plagues
3. Spoken Words of Venom
4. The Murder Manifesto
5. Revelations Carved in Flesh
6. None Shall Be Spared
7. And the World Shall Be Your Grave
8. The Perpetual Horrors
9. Carnal Scorn & Spiritual Malice

Pariah is the fourth album by Swedish black metal band Naglfar, released in 2005 on Century Media Records.

Sheol / 2003

  • Album Info
  • 2003
  • Century Media Records

1. I Am Vengeance
2. Black God Aftermath
3. Wrath of the Fallen
4. Abysmal Descent
5. Devoured by Naglfar
6. Of Gorgons Spawned Through Witchcraft
7. Unleash Hell
8. Force of Pandemonium
9. The Infernal Ceremony

Sheol is the third studio album by Swedish black metal band Naglfar. It was released on March 24, 2003, through Century Media Records and New Hawen Records. It was their first full-length album in five years, after Diabolical (1998).

Diabolical / 1998

  • Album Info
  • 1998
  • War Music

1. Horncrowned Majesty
2. Embracing the Apocalypse
3. 12’th Rising
4. Into the Cold Voids of Eternity
5. The Brimstone Gate
6. Blades
7. When Autumn Storms Come
8. A Departure in Solitude
9. Diabolical – The Devil’s Child

Diabolical is the second album by Swedish black metal band Naglfar, released in 1998 on War Music.

Vittra / 1995

  • Album Info
  • 1995
  • Wrong Again Records

1. As the Twilight Gave Birth to the Night
2. Enslave the Astral Fortress
3. Through the Midnight Spheres
4. The Eclipse of Infernal Storms
5. Emerging from Her Weepings
6. Failing Wings
7. Vittra
8. Sunless Dawn
9. Exalted Above Thrones

Vittra is the debut album by Swedish black metal band Naglfarreleased in 1995 on Wrong Again Records.

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.
Date Venue City Country Info Tickets
2024-02-09T19:00:00Anthem of the Awakened Festival 2024FredericiaDenmarkInfoTickets
DISCLAIMER! None of the tourdates presented on this page belong to Nordic Metal. All the tourdates content belong to Bandsintown. We are using their data through a written consent between Nordic Metal and Bandsintown. Tourdates are shown as they are and Nordic Metal is not responsible for any false information.