Mors Principium Est

Mors Principium Est
    • Ville Viljanen – vocals (2000 – present)
    • Iiro Aittokoski – LIVE drums (2017–present)
    • Teemu Heinola – bass (2001 – present)
    • Andy Gillion – lead guitar, programming (2011–present)

In the beginning, back in the year 1999 in Pori, Finland, Mors Principium Est was established by the three founding members Jori, Jarkko and Toni. Percussion instruments were missing, but later in the same year Mikko joined the band to play the drums. Jori was playing lead guitar and vocals, Jarkko guitar and Toni keyboards. The band played for a while with this set, but in the beginning of year 2000 Jori got tired of singing and wanted to concentrate only on playing guitar. A new singer was needed.

Meanwhile Ville had just left his old band and was looking for something new. He contacted the band and after audition, he became the new vocalist. The first demo was made without a bass-player, but after Listenable Records got interested in the band, it was necessary to find a fulltime bass-player. In the year 2001 Teemu joined the band to play bass-guitar.

Two more demos and few gigs were made and finally the hard work got rewarded. In 2002, Listenable Records offered a contract, which the band signed for 3 albums. The debut album “Inhumanity” was recorded and mixed by Ahti Kortelainen in Finland at Tico-Tico Studios, in December 2002 and mastered at Finnvox Studios, in January 2003.The album was released in spring 2003. The album got some raving reviews from all around the world and the band played few shows in Finland.

The second album “The Unborn” was recorded at Tico-Tico Studios, in November 2004 and mastered at Finnvox Studios, in December 2004. The album was released in spring 2005, except for USA, where it was released at the end of 2005. Also this time the album got some raving reviews, maybe even more than before. The band also played its first gig outside Finland in may 2005 and that was, none other than the BW&BK SixPack Metal Festival in Cleveland, USA. After that, the band played couple of gigs in Finland.

The third album “Liberation=Termination” was recorded in many places around Finland, one of them was, for example, Astia Studio. The album was mastered at Imperial Mastering in California (USA) in the year 2006. It was released during 2007. Right after finishing the album, Jori decided to quit. He felt this whole band thing is not his thing anymore. Again, the album got some really good reviews and the band played couple gigs outside of Finland and few gigs in Finland. Then it was time to let Joona go.

The years between 2007 and 2011 the band played few gigs with different guitar players, but the core, Ville, Teemu and Mikko remained. When nothing new seemed to happen and they didn’t seem to find the right players for the band, it was time to start searching new members worldwide.

They were sure that there will be the right people somewhere, just need to find them. After about 200 applications the first new member, Andy Gillion, was found from UK. Then, couple of months later, the second guitarist, Andhe Chandler was found from New Zealand.

The band started to write new songs with Andy as the main songwriter. At the beginning of 2012 the band started contacting various labels and the band decided to sign a worldwide deal (excl. Japan, Korea, Taiwan and Australia) with a german AFM Records. For Japan, Korea and Taiwan the band signed with Marquee Records/Avalon Label and for Australia the band signed with Truth Inc Records. The result after working with legendary Thomas ‘Plec’ Johansson ath The Panic Room, Sweden was teh 4th studio album “…and Death said live”.

Line-up changes being no stranger to the band, in 2014, Andhe Chandler left and was replaced by Kevin Verlay. By this time, the band’s fifth album was almost complete and at the end of 2014, “Dawn of the 5th Era” was released.

After several months of touring since the new album’s release, Kevin decided to leave the band due to personal reasons.
However, Andy had already written some new material and the basis for a new album was beginning to form. In 2016, the band began to record their sixth album to be mixed and mastered by Thomas “Plec” Johansson” at Panic Room Studios in Sweden.
In 2017, MORS PRINCIPIUM EST return more impressive than ever with their latest masterpiece, “Embers of a Dying World”. The Cover Artwork is painted by artist Eliran Kantor (Testament, Iced Earth, Sodom).

Mors Principium Est

Holland’s own black metal ghosts Carach Angren have announced their first ever headlining shows in North America, for this upcoming Autumn. Titled Pitch Black Horror […]

May 14, 2018 by Nikki Katsi
DISCLAIMER! None of the tourdates presented on this page belong to Nordic Metal. All the tourdates content belong to Bandsintown. We are using their data through a written consent between Nordic Metal and Bandsintown.
Tourdates are shown as they are and Nordic Metal is not responsible for any false information.

No album reviews found for this band.

If you are interested of writing album reviews, contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.
No livereviews found for this band.

If you are interested of going to concerts and writing reviews, contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.
No videos found for this band.