STYLE: ORIGIN: FinlandFORMED: 1996LABEL: Sakara Records
  • Marko Annala - vocals
  • Tuomo Saikkonen - guitar & vocals
  • Kuisma Aalto - guitar & vocals
  • Janne Hyrkäs - drums
  • Santtu Hämäläinen - bass guitar

Mokoma is a Finnish thrash metal band formed in Lappeenranta in 1996. Their music also has grindcore and death metal influences with traditional Finnish melancholy.

Mokoma started out as a creation of Marko Annala, who is the band’s lead singer, and has been the band’s only original bandmember. The name comes from Annala’s former girlfriends’ Karelian grandmother, who said “Voi siuta mokomaa”. That means “Oh gosh, you and your tricks”, basically in simple words when put into English. Mokoma is similar but slightly more gracious word to “damned” or “accursed”. Through the years several members have come and gone, but only Marko has remained constant.

The band started out as a more traditional rock band with their first two albums “Valu” and “Mokoman 120 päivää”. However, both albums sold badly and they were eventually dropped when they suggested to their record company (EMI), that they wanted to play something more closer to their hearts, thrash metal. The group moved on and created their own record company, called Sakara Records, and released their third album “Kurimus”, which is sometimes regarded as the first thrash metal album sung in Finnish. That was the first release of the members’ independent record company Sakara Records. Since then they have released seven more albums and an EP called “Viides vuodenaika”, which reached position one in the Finnish albums chart. Their latest album release is “Elävien kirjoihin”.

If you noticed we are missing a video from this artist (Official one) please let us know by sending e-mail to [email protected]

Ihmissokkelo / 2020

  • Album Info
  • 2020
  • Sakara Records

1. Alkupiste
2. Ilmoitusluontoista asiaa
3. Vuoret, huolet
4. Ihmissokkelo
5. Tuhat ei riitä
6. Toinen ihminen
7. Pimeä aine
8. Yöpuoli
9. Leikin loppu
10. Jäljet
11. Syyttävä sormi
12. Huomenna voikin olla niin

Ihmissokkelo‘ is the eleventh studio album by the Finnish Metal band Mokoma, released on February 21st, 2020.

Hengen Pitimet / 2018

Hengen Pitimet
  • Album Info
  • 2018
  • Sakara

Elävien kirjoihin / 2015

  • Album Info
  • 2015
  • Sakara Records

180 Astetta / 2012

Mokoma - 180 Astetta
  • Album Info
  • 2012
  • Sakara Records

180 Astetta is the ninth studio album of the Finnish thrash metal band Mokoma, released on 12. October 2012. 

The album was produced by Mokoma together with Miitri Aaltonen and was recorded in two parts by the Hollola Petrax studio. 


Sydänjuuret / 2010

  • Album Info
  • 2010
  • Sakara Records

Luihin Ja Ytimiin / 2007

  • Album Info
  • 2007
  • Sakara Records

Kuoleman Laulukunnaat / 2006

  • Album Info
  • 2006
  • Sakara Records

Tämän Maailman Ruhtinaan Hovi / 2004

  • Album Info
  • 2004
  • Sakara Records

Punainen Kukko / 2003

  • Album Info
  • 2003
  • Sakara Records

Kurimus / 2003

  • Album Info
  • 2003
  • Sakara Records

Mokoman 120 päivää / 2001

  • Album Info
  • 2001
  • EMI

Valu / 1999

  • Album Info
  • 1999
  • EMI

Valu was the debutalbum of Mokoma, released in 1999.


Rock in the City is a new festival tour in Finnish summer, happening in 9 mid-sized “cities” or more like towns, and the very first in line was Kuopio, the

June 22, 2019 by Jussi Hevander

For Finnish audience Mokoma needs no introductions. They have been in the core of the Finnish metal industry for 2 decades and their latest release “Hengen pitimet” is their 10th

May 30, 2018 by Tero Tolkki
Date Venue City Country Info Tickets
2024-07-13T20:30:00Metallivuori 2024TurkuFinlandInfoTickets
2024-07-18T20:00:00Mokoma @ Coolhead LiveHelsinkiFinlandInfoTickets
2024-07-19T12:00:00Sunset Beach Party 2024KarkkilaFinlandInfoTickets
2024-07-20T12:00:00John Smith Rock Festival 2024PeurunkaFinlandInfoTickets
2024-07-26T19:00:00Qstock 2024OuluFinlandInfoTickets
2024-07-27T16:30:00Kuopiorock 2024KuopioFinlandInfoTickets
2024-08-09T12:00:00Dark River Festival 2024KotkaFinlandInfoTickets
DISCLAIMER! None of the tourdates presented on this page belong to Nordic Metal. All the tourdates content belong to Bandsintown. We are using their data through a written consent between Nordic Metal and Bandsintown. Tourdates are shown as they are and Nordic Metal is not responsible for any false information.