STYLE: ORIGIN: IcelandFORMED: 2013LABEL: Norma Evangelium Diaboli
  • D. G.-guitar, bass, vocals
  • H. R. H.-drums
  • G. E.-bass
  • T. Í.-guitar

Misþyrming are a black metal band from Reykjavík, Iceland. The band formed in June 2013 and are currently signed to the French record label Norma Evangelium Diaboli. They released their debut studio album Söngvar elds og óreiðu on February 7, 2015, to widespread critical acclaim. The band have since toured Europe and the United States, performed at Eistnaflug, and were named an ‘artist in residence’ at the famous Roadburn Festival in 2016. They were featured in a long piece by The Reykjavík Grapevine about Iceland’s black metal scene alongside Svartidauði, Wormlust, and others.

The band was formed as a solo project when founding member D.G. was still in upper secondary school, at which time he was already running the Vánagandr record label with fellow band-member Tómas Ísdal. He eventually deferred his graduation date in favour of touring with the band, passing his final exams after being tutored by band-mate Helgi.

Their debut studio album, Söngvar elds og óreiðu, was released in February 2015 to positive reviews from critics, being named one of the best metal albums of 2015 by Stereogum, and was featured by NoiseyThe Reykjavik Grapevine, and other outlets.

Later that year the band performed in Brussels, Belgium at the Nidrosian Black Mass V festival.

The band were one of three artists in residence at the famous Roadburn Festival in 2016. A review of the band’s show on April 14 for Invisible Oranges, described the band’s performance as “incredible”, writing that “These new songs were a swirl of near dissonance, levied by “blink and you’ll miss it” melodies that grounded the listener just long enough to kick the floor out from under them again. It was more head spinning than head banging.” Later that year, Metal Hammer named them one of the 10 best Icelandic black metal bands.

On January 10, 2017 the band released a split 10″ EP with fellow Icelandic band Sinmara, each band contributing one song; Misþyrming’s song was titled “Hof” while Sinmara’s was titled “Ivory Stone“. The EP was released through Terratur Possessions.

On April 27th, 2019, the band announced their long awaited sophomore album would be titled Algleymi and was released on May 24th through Norma Evangelium Diaboli. According to D.G.; he wrote the music in 2015 after the release of the band’s debut and started recording it in 2016 however due to production and mixing errors caused by cheap equipment, the album was delayed, and entirely rerecorded from scratch. The band continued touring in spite of this and even played some of the new songs in concerts throughout 2016, 2017 and 2018. In 2017, after extensive rehearsal of the material, the band secured a professional studio; Orgone Studios, to record a new version of the album, which was done between Autumn 2017 and 2018, and featured guest vocals by Sturla Viðar of Svartidauði and Wraath of Behexen, as well as the second lyrical contribution from poet and musician Kristófer Páll for one of the songs. Algleymi like its predecessor, was very well received by fans and critics alike. The band also announced performances at Ascension Festival in their native Iceland and La Dernière Messe in Switzerland on June, as well as headlining a European tour in support of Algleymi with Terratur Possesions label mates Darvaza and French band Vortex of End. 




Algleymi / 2019

  • Album Info
  • 2019
  • Norma Evangelium Diaboli

1. Orgia
2. Með svipur á lofti
3. Ísland, steingelda krummaskuð
4. Hælið
5. Og er haustið líður undir lok
6. Allt sem eitt sinn blómstraði
7. Alsæla
8. Algleymi

Algleymi is the second full-length album by Icelandic black metal band Misþyrming, released in 2019, on Norma Evangelium Diaboli.

Söngvar elds og óreiðu / 2015

Misþyrming-Söngvar elds og óreiðu
  • Album Info
  • 2015
  • Terratur Possessions

1. Söngur heiftar
2. …af þjáningu og þrá
3. Endalokasálmar
4. Frostauðn
5. Er haustið ber að garði
6. Friðþæging blýþungra hjartna
7. Söngur uppljómunar
8. Ég byggði dyr í eyðimörkinni
9. Stjörnuþoka

Söngvar elds og óreiðu is the debut album by Icelandic black metal band, Misþyrming, released in 2015 on Terratur Possessions Records.

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.
Date Venue City Country Info Tickets
DISCLAIMER! None of the tourdates presented on this page belong to Nordic Metal. All the tourdates content belong to Bandsintown. We are using their data through a written consent between Nordic Metal and Bandsintown. Tourdates are shown as they are and Nordic Metal is not responsible for any false information.