STYLE: ORIGIN: SwedenFORMED: 1986LABEL: Black Lodge Records
  • Roger "Rogga" Pettersson-Vocals
  • Erik Wallin-Guitars
  • Peter Stjärnvind-Guitars
  • Stefan "Stipen" Carlsson-Drums

Merciless is a Swedish extreme metal band. The band was formed during the summer of 1986 in Strängnäs, Sweden by Erik Wallin (guitar), Fredrik Karlén (bass guitar) and Stefan Carlsson (drums). They were inspired by the early fast-playing bands such as KreatorSodomDestruction and BathoryFirst they did some local gigs as “Obsessed” and “Black Mass” but changed their name to Merciless in early 1987. A demo was recorded titled Behind the Black Door, which led to the replacement of Kåle by Rogga in early 1988. With this line-up, they recorded a second demo, Realm of the Dark, in June 1988. This demo drew the attention of Deathlike Silence Productions – the label of Euronymous. That label released their debut album The Awakening in March 1990.

Their second album, The Treasures Withinwas recorded in June and July 1991, but it was not released until a year later, due to the mismanagement of their new label, Active Records. This delay caused the departure of drummer Stipen, who was replaced by Peter Stjärnvind in February 1992. In September 1993, after their Scandinavian tour, they recorded their third album with Dan Swanö at the Unisound studios and was released by No Fashion Records. In 1994, the band broke up because of disillusionment with record labels, but got back together in 1995 to record the song “Crionics” for the Slayer tribute album. In 1999, their debut album was re-issued by Osmose Productions, which eventually led to the reinstallment of the band. In May 2002, they entered the studio to record the successor to their 1994 album, simply named Merciless.


Merciless / 2002

  • Album Info
  • 2002
  • Black Lodge Records

1. Cleansed by Fire
2. Violent Obsession
3. Cold Eyes of Grey
4. Human Waste
5. Burn All the Way
6. Unearthly Salvation
7. Painless End
8. Mind Possession
9. Fallen Angels Universe
10. In Your Blood

Merciless is the fourth album of the Swedish death metal band Merciless. It was released in 2002 after they re-united.

Unbound / 1994

  • Album Info
  • 1994
  • No Fashion Records

1. Unbound
2. The Land I Used to Walk
3. Feebleminded
4. Back to North
5. Silent Truth
6. Lost Eternally
7. Nuclear Attack
8. Forbidden Pleasure

Unbound is the third album of the Swedish death metal band Merciless. It was released in 1994. The cover artwork is created by Kristian Wåhlin.

The Treasures Within / 1992

Merciless-The Treasures Within
  • Album Info
  • 1992
  • Active Records

1. The Treasures Within
2. Mind Possession
3. Darkened Clouds
4. The Book of Lies
5. Perish
6. Shadows of Fire
7. Lifeflame
8. Act of Horror
9. Branded by Sunlight
10. Dying World

The Treasures Within is the second album by Swedish death/thrash metal band Merciless. It was released in 1992 and re-released in 2003.

The Awakening / 1990

Merciless-The Awakening
  • Album Info
  • 1990
  • Deathlike Silence Productions

1. Pure Hate
2. Souls of the Dead
3. The Awakening
4. Dreadful Fate
5. Realm of the Dark
6. Dying World
7. Bestial Death
8. Denied Birth

The Awakening is the debut album by the Swedish death metal band Merciless. The original album was recorded in Summer 1989, but was not released by Deathlike Silence Productions until February 1990. The original press was limited to 1000 CDs and LPs and is now considered one of the most rare and expensive albums in heavy metal collecting. It was later re-issued in 1999 by Osmose Productions with a different color cover and four live bonus tracks. The live tracks were recorded in Uppsala, Sweden on December 7, 1990.

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.
Date Venue City Country Info Tickets
DISCLAIMER! None of the tourdates presented on this page belong to Nordic Metal. All the tourdates content belong to Bandsintown. We are using their data through a written consent between Nordic Metal and Bandsintown. Tourdates are shown as they are and Nordic Metal is not responsible for any false information.