STYLE: ORIGIN: NorwayFORMED: 2001LABEL: InsideOut Records
  • Einar Solberg – lead vocals, keyboards (2001–present)
  • Tor Oddmund Suhrke – guitar, backing vocals (2001–present)
  • Baard Kolstad – drums (2014–present)
  • Simen Børven – bass, backing vocals (2015–present)
  • Robin Ognedal – guitar, backing vocals (2017–present)

In a scene where it’s rare to stand out and make something truly unique, sometimes a diamond shines. The latest diamond to shine on the international prog-scene is the Norwegian band Leprous.


These young Norwegians are an extremely diverse act. They cite influences ranging from Massive Attack, Radiohead, Arvo Pärt to even extreme contemporary acts like Gojira.


The band gained prominence as the backing band for former Emperor frontman Ihsahn’s live shows. Ihsahn has, in turn, contributed to several Leprous albums as a vocalist (on “Thorn” from Bilateral and “Contaminate Me” from Coal) and as a co-producer for Coal.

After releasing several demos with relatively unstable lineups, the band’s roster solidified by the time they recorded their debut album, Tall Poppy Syndrome in August 2008.  Alex Henderson of Allmusic praised the band’s debut for moving past the “staunchly pre-90s mentality” of contemporary progressive metal by blending the influence of Pink Floyd and King Crimson with alternative metal bands such as Tool.

In 2010, Leprous appeared at ProgPower USA and ProgPower Europe, and later supported Therion on their European tour. 

At the end of February 2011 the band announced that they had signed with Inside Out. The band’s debut for Inside Out Records, Bilateral, was released on 22 August 2011 in Europe and a day later in North America. The album featured artwork by American surrealist Jeff Jordan and the Spanish designer Ritxi Ostariz.

On 20 May 2013, Leprous released Coal. Vocalist Einar Solberg described the album as “a more melancholic and darker album than the more playful Bilateral. By darker, I don’t mean more aggressive, but more severe. There is still a big range in the dynamics, but no jumping between different moods within a song.”

On 5 May 2014, the band announced the departure of drummer Tobias Ørnes Andersen. He was replaced by Baard Kolstad, who played with Leprous throughout their 2013 Coal tour. The statement also revealed that the band are currently working on material for their next album.

On 25 May 2015, Leprous released their album The Congregation, via Inside Out Music. After that, the album Malina was released on August 25th, 2017.

If you noticed we are missing a video from this artist (Official one) please let us know by sending e-mail to [email protected]

Malina / 2017

Leprous - Malina
  • Album Info
  • 2017
  • Inside Out Music

1. Bonneville
2. Stuck
3. From the Flame
4. Captive
5. Illuminate
6. Leashes
7. Mirage
8. Malina
9. Coma
10. The Weight of Disaster
11. The Last Milestone


Malina is the fifth studio album by Norwegian progressive metal band Leprous, released on August 25, 2017, through Inside Out Music.

Malina is the first album to feature Robin Ognedal on guitar, and the first not to feature former guitarist Øystein Landsverk, who left the band after 13 years.

The Congregation / 2015

Leprous - The Congregation
  • Album Info
  • 2015
  • Inside Out Music

1. The Price
2. Third Law
3. Rewind
4. The Flood
5. Triumphant
6. Within My Fence
7. Red
8. Slave
9. Moon
10. Down
11. Lower
12. Pixel


The Congregation is the fourth studio album released by the Norwegian progressive metal band, Leprous. The album was released on 25 May 2015 in Europe and 2 June 2015 in North America. This album was partially recorded at Fascination Street in Sweden, and the vocals developed with Heidi Solberg Tveitan and Ihsahn at Mnemosyne Studios in Norway.


Coal / 2013

Leprous - Coal
  • Album Info
  • 2013
  • Inside Out Music, Century Media Group

1. Foe
2. Chronic
3.. Coal
4. The Cloak
5. The Valley
6. Salt
7. Echo
8. Contaminate Me


Coal  is the third studio album released by the Norwegian progressive band, Leprous, released on 20 May 2013.

It is the last album to feature drummer Tobias Ørnes Andersen, who was featured on all albums until then, and bassist Rein Blomquist.

Bilateral / 2011

Leprous - Bilateral
  • Album Info
  • 2011
  • Inside Out Music

1. Bilateral
2. Forced Entry
3. Restless
4. Thorn
5. Mb. Indifferentia
6. Waste of Air
7. Mediocrity Wins
8. Cryptogenic Desires
9. Acquired Taste
10. Painful Detour


Bilateral is the second studio album released by the Norwegian progressive metal band, Leprous. It was recorded in Ivory Shoulder Studios and Juke Joint Studio by Vegard Tveitan and Heidi Solberg Tveitan, and mixed and mastered at Fascination Street Studio by Jens Bogren. Additional editing by Ivar Barstad. Art direction and design by Ritxi Ostáriz. Cover painting by Jeff Jordan. All songs published by Magic Art Publishing.

Tall Poppy Syndrome / 2009

Leprous - Tall Poppy Syndrome
  • Album Info
  • 2009
  • Sensory Records

1. Passing
2. Phantom Pain
3. Dare You
4. Fate
5. He Will Kill Again
6. Not Even A Name
7. Tall Poppy Syndrome
8. White


Tall Poppy Syndrome is the first studio album released by the Norwegian progressive metal band, Leprous. It was recorded and mixed at Black Lounge Studio/The Abyss by Jonas Kjellgren, mastered at West West Side by Alan Douchess. Art Design by Ritxi Ostariz.

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.
Date Venue City Country Info Tickets
2024-02-29T19:30:00Zeche BochumBochumGermanyInfoTickets
2024-03-01T18:30:00Rock CityNottinghamUnited KingdomInfoTickets
2024-03-02T19:00:00Project HouseLeedsUnited KingdomInfoTickets
2024-03-03T19:00:00The AcademyDublin 1IrelandInfoTickets
2024-03-05T19:30:00LA RAYONNEVilleurbanneFranceInfoTickets
2024-03-06T19:30:00Z7 KonzertfabrikPrattelnSwitzerlandInfoTickets
2024-03-16T19:00:00Festiviteten Bar & SceneHamarNorwayInfoTickets
DISCLAIMER! None of the tourdates presented on this page belong to Nordic Metal. All the tourdates content belong to Bandsintown. We are using their data through a written consent between Nordic Metal and Bandsintown. Tourdates are shown as they are and Nordic Metal is not responsible for any false information.