STYLE: , ORIGIN: FinlandFORMED: 2010LABEL: Svart Records
  • Mikko Kotamäki - Vocals
  • Markus Laakso - Guitars, Keyboards
  • Savon Surma - Guitars
  • Tuomo Räisänen - Bass
  • Toni Ronkainen - Drums

In 2012, the Finnish Doom-Death scene saw newcomer Kuolemanlaakso ascend directly to the ranks of its elite with the critically acclaimed debut Uljas Uusi Maailma (#42 on the Official Finnish Album Chart and #6 on the Rumba Chart). In support of Uljas Uusi Maailma, Kuolemanlaakso toured its native country, hitting some of Finland’s biggest and most respected clubs, then adding a performance at the 2013 Tuska Open Air Festival.

Feeding off of this momentum, Kuolemanlaakso planned new material on the road and entered a secret, secluded location in the forests of Finland, once again with acclaimed producer-engineer-guitarist V. Santura (Woodshed Studios, Dark Fortress, Celtic Frost, Triptykon). In the course of writing and recording, it was soon made obvious that Kuolemanlaakso had not only enough material for a full-length album, but for an EP as well.

“Our goal was to create the tightest and most balanced entities for both releases. The EP introduces our current style in a more straightforward and shorter form, whereas the full-length evolved into something more epic,” stated guitarist-keyboardist and main songwriter Laakso.

“The EP tracks are quite different from one other, with each song displaying a different side of the band and what we are capable of.”

The Musta Aurinko Nousee EP, to be released on November 29th via Svart Records, includes three new Kuolemanlaakso songs, and a captivating cover version of Juice Leskinen’s classic by the same name. The EP will be released as a limited digipak CD and a strictly limited 12” vinyl with three different colors (100 copies/color).


M. Laakso - Vol. 1: The Gothic Tapes / 2016

Kuolemanlaakso-M. Laakso - Vol. 1: The Gothic Tapes
  • Album Info
  • 2016
  • Svart Records

1. Children of the Night
2. Roll the Dice with the Devil
3. Where the River Runs Red
4. The World’s Intolerable Pain
5. She Guides Me in My Dreams
6. No Absolution
7. Deeper into the Unknown
8. My Last Words

M. Laakso – Vol. 1: The Gothic Tapes is the third full-length album by Finnish melodic death/doom band Kuolemanlaakso, released in 2016 on Svart Records.

Tulijoutsen / 2014

  • Album Info
  • 2014
  • Svart Records

1. Aarnivalkea
2. Verihaaksi
3. Me Vaellamme Yössä
4. Arpeni
5. Musta
6. Glastonburyn Lehto
7. Tuonen Tähtivyö
8. Raadot Raunioilla

Tulijoutsen is the second full-length album by Finnish melodic death/doom metal band Kuolemanlaakso, released in 2014 on Svart Records.

Uljas Uusi Maailma / 2012

Kuolemanlaakso-Uljas Uusi Maailma
  • Album Info
  • 2012
  • Svart Records

1. Minä Elän
2. Kuun Lapset
3. Nostos & Algos
4. Roihusydän
5. Etsin
6. Ikiuni
7. Uljas Uusi Maailma
8. Aurinko

Uljas Uusi Maailma is the debut album by Finnish melodic death/doom metal band Kuolemanlaakso, released in 2012 on Svart Records.

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.
Date Venue City Country Info Tickets
DISCLAIMER! None of the tourdates presented on this page belong to Nordic Metal. All the tourdates content belong to Bandsintown. We are using their data through a written consent between Nordic Metal and Bandsintown. Tourdates are shown as they are and Nordic Metal is not responsible for any false information.