STYLE: , , , ORIGIN: FinlandFORMED: 2000LABEL: Spinefarm Records
  • Mikko Salovaara - guitars
  • Teemu Tuominen - bass
  • Jari Pailamo - keyboards
  • Rainer "Raikku" Tuomikanto - drums

KIUAS (pronounced Key-wass), was formed in the year 2000, these Finnish hybrid metallers mix clean vocals with death metal, sprinkled with an amount of heroic power on top. KIUAS‘ self-financed pre-Spinefarm releases “The Discipline of Steel” 2002 and “Born Under the Northern Lights” 2003 got rave reviews upon their release, and with those releases’ success the band was briefly signed onto the now defunct Rage of Achilles (UK). After only a short stint of working together, the label had to eventually let their bands go due to financial problems, and KIUAS was cast out among others. RoA released 2004 EP “Winter in June”. The salvation came in the form of Spinefarm Records.

So the KIUAS saga continued with their debut album The Spirit of Ukko, an album paying homage to the Finnish Zeus: Ukko, the mightiest one! Springtime of 2005 saw the release of this melodic, aggressive and graceful debut that, not naming any influences, bore a streak of tantalizing resemblances to some good old metal bands.

After being released in Japan by Universal Music, The Spirit of Ukko was carried all the way to the land of the rising sun where KIUAS played their debut gig. After Japan KIUAS toured Finland extensively, and then headed to the studio to record a follower to their debut.

The recordings of Reformation were begun at the Sonic Pump Studios in Winter 2006, in Helsinki. Mixed and produced by Sonic Pump‘s Nino Laurenne, the album was then mastered at Finnvox by Mika Jussila. Reformation hit the 21st place on the official Finnish Top40 chart.

KIUAS‘ third full-length album The New Dark Age was released on the 12th of March 2008 in Finland and Central Europe. The album hit the 10th place on the official Finnish album chart. The album was the highest newcomer of the week. The New Dark Age was released on the 12th of May in the UK and the US (Spinefarm US) + Japanese (Universal) release follows in July 2008. KIUAS toured in Britain in September 2008 and in Europe in November 2008 with Firewind.

The song “Of Sacrifice, Loss and Reward” was also released as a single in Finland (February 20th). The single hit the 1st place on the official Finnish single chart.

A 10-track affair produced by Janne Joutsenniemi (Ensiferum, Suburban Tribe and Stone) and mixed by Mikko Karmila (Children Of Bodom, Nightwish), Lustdriven sees the Finnish five-piece further creating a signature style that draws from a broad range of influences; these include both power metal & prog, with death, symphonic & folk metal also playing a part, the whole thing topped off with a healthy sprinkling of myth & legend, plus the soul-stirring vocals of high-energy frontman Ilja Jalkanen.

“On this new album, we’ve kept the most aggressive elements of KIUAS, says guitarist Mikko Salovaara, “Everything is very raw and in your face. At the same time, however, we’ve pushed the epic, orchestral side to new heights, and although you’ll find some of our fastest and heaviest songs here, we’ve tried to maintain a real sense of melody throughout.”

KIUAS toured Finland intensively on April and May 2010, and later the same year promoted Lustdriven on a headlining tour in the UK.

In the beginning of 2011 KIUAS went through a dramatic but necessary and evolutionary line-up change.

After a long careful consideration and looking at all possible options, in 2013, KIUAS decided it was time to put the band to its final rest.

If you noticed we are missing a video from this artist (Official one) please let us know by sending e-mail to [email protected]

Lustdriven / 2010

Kiuas - Lustdriven
  • Album Info
  • 2010
  • Spinefarm Records

“Lustdriven” is the fourth and final studio album by Heavy Metal band KIUAS. It was released March 31, 2010 by Spinefarm Records.

The New Dark Age / 2008

Kiuas - The New Dark Age
  • Album Info
  • 2008
  • Spinefarm Records

“The New Dark Age” is the third studio album by the Finnish Heavy Metal band KIUAS. The album was released through Spinefarm Records on March 12, 2008 for Finland with new dates to be announced for other areas. The song, “Conqueror“, directed by Owe Lingwall was shot as a music video on February 18, 2008. “Of Sacrifice, Loss and Reward” was released on February 20 as a single in Finland and topped the Finnish charts at number 1. The single will include two other songs and a Japanese bonus track exclusively to the single and Japan only. The album cover was designed by Niklas Sundin of Cabin Fever Media, and guitarist for Dark Tranquillity. It is of an original renaissance woodcut illustration with the portrayal of KIUAS‘ band members as the “five” Horsemen of the Apocalypse. A second music video for “The Decaying Doctrine” was again directed by Owe Lingwall.

Reformation / 2006

Kiuas - Reformation
  • Album Info
  • 2006
  • Spinefarm Records

“Reformation” is the second full-length studio album from KIUAS, released on May 24, 2006 by Spinefarm Records. On some releases it features a cover titled “Hunting Girl”, by the progressive rock band Jethro Tull.

The Spirit of Ukko / 2005

Kiuas - The Spirit of Ukko
  • Album Info
  • 2005
  • Spinefarm Records

“The Spirit of Ukko” is the debut full-length studio album by the Finnish heavy metal band KIUAS, released on May 4, 2005 by Spinefarm Records. “Ukko” in Finnish mythology is the greatest of the pagan gods and is a Finnish male name. The Japanese version features a bonus song eponymously titled from the “Winter in June” EP. The third quarter piece of the song, “Across the Snows” is sung in Finnish.

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.