STYLE: ORIGIN: NorwayFORMED: 1991LABEL: Nuclear Blast
  • Demonaz Doom Occulta (Harald Nævdal) – lyrics (1991–2003, 2006–present), guitars (1991–1997, 2015–present), vocals (2015–present)
  • Horgh (Reidar Horghagen) – drums (1996–2003, 2006–present)
  • Apollyon (Ole Jørgen Moe) – bass (2006–present)

IMMORTAL, from the Norwegian town Bergen, established themselves as one of the most important black metal bands in the world. Formed by Demonaz(guitars) and Abbath(bass/vocals) in 1990 the band released the first three albums, Diabolical Fullmoon Mysticism, Pure Holocaust and Battles In The North with different drummers, before Horgh (drums) joined the band in 1996.

The band then released the Blizzard Beasts album. Shortly after Demonaz was diagnosed with a shoulder injury. He still continued to work with the band but stopped playing guitar live. Abbath changed from bass to guitar, and the band continued with different bass players over the years, releasing the albums At The Heart Of Winter, Damned In Black and Sons Of Northern Darkness.

In 2003 the band was put on ice, but returned to the stage in 2007 and did several headline appearances and tours of Australia, New Zealand and USA. All Shall Fall was released in 2009, followed by further massive festivalshows and additional concerts worldwide. In 2015, IMMORTAL and ex-singer/guitarist Abbath went separate ways.

IMMORTAL is now working on a new album, due to be recorded in 2016 and released by Nuclear Blast Records.


Northern Chaos Gods / 2018

  • Album Info
  • 2018
  • Nuclear Blast

All Shall Fall / 2009

Immortal - All Shall Fall
  • Album Info
  • 2009
  • Nuclear Blast

1. All Shall Fall
2. The Rise of Darkness
3. Hordes to War
4. Norden on Fire
5. Arctic Swarm
6. Mount North
7. Unearthly Kingdom


All Shall Fall is the eighth studio album by Norwegian black metal band Immortal. The album was released in Europe on September 25, 2009, and in the US on October 6, 2009. The only album to feature bassist Apollyon and the last to feature vocalist/guitarist Abbath Doom Occulta.

Sons of Northern Darkness / 2002

Immortal - Sons of Northern Darkness
  • Album Info
  • 2002
  • Nuclear Blast

1. One by One
2. Sons of Northern Darkness
3. Tyrants
4. Demonium
5. Within the Dark Mind
6. In my Kingdom Cold
7. Antarctica
8. Beyond the North Waves

Sons of Northern Darkness is the seventh album by the Norwegian black metal band Immortal. Musically, it continues the blackened thrash metal style heard on the two previous releases At the Heart of Winter and Damned in Black. This was the band’s first release on Nuclear Blast Records and the last album to feature Iscariah on bass.


Damned in Black / 2000

Immortal - Damned in Black
  • Album Info
  • 2000
  • Osmose

1. Triumph
2. Wrath from Above
3. Against the Tide (In the Arctic World)
4. My Dimension
5. The Darkness That Embrace Me
6. In Our Mystic Visions Blest
7. Damned in Black


Damned in Black is the sixth studio album by Norwegian black metal band Immortal. It was released on 27 April 2000 through Osmose Productions. It is the first album where bass guitar is played by Iscariah, the bassist and vocalist of the band Dead to This World. The musical style started to embrace a more blackened thrash metal sound, a style that would be as prevalent on their next album, Sons of Northern Darkness.

At the Heart of Winter / 1999

Immortal - At the Heart of Winter
  • Album Info
  • 1999
  • Osmose

1. Withstand the Fall of Time
2. Solarfall
3. Tragedies Blows at Horizon
4. Where Dark and Light Don’t Differ
5. At the Heart of Winter
6. Years of Silent Sorrow


At the Heart of Winter is the fifth studio album by Norwegian black metal band Immortal. It was released on 28 February 1999 through Osmose Productions. It is the first Immortal album not to feature Demonaz on guitar, as he suffered from acute tendinitis in his hands. The album marks a shift in Immortal‘s musical sound, towards a black metal and thrash metal fusion.

Blizzard Beasts / 1997

Immortal - Blizzard Beasts
  • Album Info
  • 1997
  • Osmose

1. Intro
2. Blizzard Beasts
3. Nebular Ravens Winter
4. Suns That Sank Below
5. Battlefields
6. Mountains of Might
7. Noctambulant
8. Winter of The Ages
9. Frostdemonstorm

Blizzard Beasts is the fourth studio album by Norwegian black metal band Immortal. It was released on 20 March 1997 through Osmose Productions. It is the last Immortal album to feature founding member Demonaz Doom Occulta on guitar, and the first to feature Horgh on drums. Demonaz was later diagnosed with acute tendinitis which prevented him from playing guitar at the required speed for Immortal‘s music. Stylistically, Blizzard Beasts has primarily songs that are less than three minutes long, contrasting with Immortal’s usual longer song lengths.

Battles in the North / 1995

Immortal - Battles in the North
  • Album Info
  • 1995
  • Osmose

1. Battles in the North

2. Grim and Frostbitten Kingdoms

3. Descent into Eminent Silence

4. Throned by Blackstorms

5. Moonrise Fields of Sorrow

6. Cursed Realms of the Winterdemons

7. At the Stormy Gates of Mist

8. Through the Halls of Eternity

9. Circling Above in Time Before Time

10. Blashyrkh (Mighty Ravendark)



Battles in the North is the third studio album by Norwegian black metal band Immortal. It was released on 15 May 1995 through Osmose Productions. It picks up where its predecessor, Pure Holocaust, left off, featuring extreme tempos, lo-fi production and lyrics about coldness and wintery landscapes. This is the first album where the concept of Blashyrkh becomes a central focus. The last album to feature Abbath on drums.

Pure Holocaust / 1993

Immortal - Pure Holocaust
  • Album Info
  • 1993
  • Osmose

1. Unsilent Storms in the North Abyss
2. A Sign for the Norse Hordes to Ride
3. The Sun No Longer Rises
4. Frozen by Icewinds
5. Storming Through Red Clouds and Holocaustwinds
6. Eternal Years on the Path to the Cemetery Gates
7. As the Eternity Opens
8. Pure Holocaust

Pure Holocaust is the second album by Norwegian black metal band Immortal. It was released on November 1, 1993, on Osmose Productions. It is generally faster sounding than its predecessor Diabolical Fullmoon Mysticism. The lyrics focus mainly on ice, snow, and fantasy landscapes. The first album to feature Abbath on drums.

The album was released as a standard CD, as a limited LP on Osmose Productions (which was reissued in 2005), and as a limited edition picture disc in 1998.

Diabolical Fullmoon Mysticism / 1992

Immortal - Diabolical Fullmoon Mysticism
  • Album Info
  • 1992
  • Osmose

1. Intro
2. The Call of the Wintermoon
3. Unholy Forces of Evil
4. Cryptic Winterstorms
5. Cold Winds of Funeral Dust
6. Blacker Than Darkness
7. A Perfect Vision of the Rising Northland

Diabolical Fullmoon Mysticism is the first album by Norwegian black metal band Immortal. It was released on 1 July 1992 through Osmose Productions. The only album to feature Armagedda on drums.


When Immortal is mentioned, I immediately think of the over the top character, Abbath. With this album, I had to finally put that image in my brain to rest. Immortal

July 11, 2018 by Riffvader