Hooded Menace

Hooded Menace
STYLE: , ORIGIN: FinlandFORMED: 2007LABEL: Season Of Mist
  • Harri Kuokkanen - Vocals
  • Teemu Hannonen - Guitars
  • Lasse Pyykkö - Guitars
  • Antti Poutanen - Bass
  • Otso Ukkonen - Drums

Hooded Menace are a death/doom band formed in Joensuu, Finland in 2007 by Lasse Pyykkö (also known from the cult Finnish death metal band Phlegethon). Very much influenced by the 80´s Candlemass, early Cathedral and Paradise Lost, Autopsy, Asphyx and Winter, the band wanted to play really doom-laden death metal that combined crushing and somber riffs with a hint of melody. Many of their lyrics are inspired by the classic 1970s Spanish horror series The Blind Dead that included the films “Tombs of the Blind Dead”, “Return of the Evil Dead”, “Horror of the Zombies”, and “Night of the Seagulls”.

In 2007, Hooded Menace recorded a 2-song demo titled “The Eyeless Horde” and the following year the demo was pressed on 7″ by Doomentia Records. The band unleashed their debut album “Fulfill the Curse” in 2008 on Razorback Records with Doomentia handling the LP version. Doomentia also reissued the album on CD in 2010. After “Fulfill the Curse“, the band signed to Profound Lore to release the much acclaimed second full-length “Never Cross the Dead” in 2010. Once again, Doomentia took care of the vinyl version. Decibel Magazine listed “Never Cross the Dead” on their Top 100 Doom Metal Albums of All Time -list as well as Top 30 Finnish Metal Albums of All Time -list. The group got a new record deal with Relapse Records and went on releasing two albums on the label; “Effigies on Evil” in 2012 and “Darkness Drips Forth” in 2015.

Hooded Menace have also released several vinyl splits (with Asphyx and Coffins to name a few) and EP´s, most of them via Doomentia Records. They have toured Europe and the US, opened for legendary bands such as Candlemass and Saint Vitus, and played festivals like Roadburn, Hellfest, Maryland Deathfest, California Deathfest, Netherlands Deathfest, Tuska, Party.San Open Air, Obscene Extreme and many more.

2016 saw the band signing to Season of Mist who released “Ossuarium Silhouettes Unhallowed” in early 2018.


Ossuarium Silhouettes Unhallowed / 2018

Hooded Menace-Ossuarium Silhouettes Unhallowed
  • Album Info
  • 2018
  • Season Of Mist

1. Sempiternal Grotesqueries
2. In Eerie Deliverance
3. Cathedral of Labyrinthine Darkness
4. Cascade of Ashes
5. Charnel Reflections
6. Black Moss
7. Sorrows of the Moo

Ossuarium Silhouettes Unhallowed is the fifth full-length album by Finnish death/doom metal band Hooded Menacereleased in 2018 on Season Of Mist. This album was released digitally.

Darkness Drips Forth / 2015

Hooded Menace-Darkness Drips Forth
  • Album Info
  • 2015
  • Relapse Records

1. Blood for the Burning Oath / Dungeons of the Disembodied
2. Elysium of Dripping Death
3. Ashen with Solemn Decay
4. Beyond Deserted Flesh

Darkness Drips Forth is the fourth-full length album by Finnish death/doom metal band Hooded Menace, released in 2015 on Relapse Records. This album was released digitally.

Effigies of Evil / 2012

Hooded Menace-Effigies of Evil
  • Album Info
  • 2012
  • Relapse Records

1. Vortex Macabre
2. Effigies of Evil
3. In the Dead We Dwell
4. Curses Scribed in Gore
5. Crumbling Insanity
6. Summoned into Euphoric Madness
7. Evoken Vulgarity
8. Retribution in Eternity

Effigies Of Evil is the third full-length album by Finnish death/doom metal band Hooded Menace, released in 2012 on Relapse Records.

Never Cross The Dead / 2010

Hooded Menace-Never Cross The Dead
  • Album Info
  • 2010
  • Profound Lore Records

1. Never Cross the Dead
2. Terror Castle
3. Night of the Deathcult
4. The House of Hammer
5. Rituals of Mortal Cremation
6. As the Creatures Ascend
7. From Their Coffined Slumber
8. Theme from Return of the Evil Dead (Antón García Abril cover)

Never Cross The Dead is the second full-length album by Finnish death/doom metal band Hooded Menace, released in 2010 on Profound Lore Records.

Fulfill the Curse / 2008

Hooded Menace-Fulfill The Curse
  • Album Info
  • 2008
  • Razorback Recordings

1. Rotting Rampage (Menace of the Skeletal Dead)
2. Fulfill the Curse
3. Grasp of the Beastwoman
4. Laboratory of Nightmares
5. Beauty and the Feast
6. The Eyeless Horde
7. The Love Song of Gotho, Hunchback of the Morgue
8. Arcane Epitaph
9. Theme from Manhattan Baby (Fabio Frizzi cover)

Fulfill The Curse is the debut album by Finnish death/doom metal band Hooded Menace, released in 2008 on Razorback Records.


Seeing the album cover with figures of darkness almost instantly gave me a warm feeling. Not being familiar with the entire back catalog of Hooded Menace, this surely gave me

February 13, 2018 by Tero Tolkki
Date Venue City Country Info Tickets
DISCLAIMER! None of the tourdates presented on this page belong to Nordic Metal. All the tourdates content belong to Bandsintown. We are using their data through a written consent between Nordic Metal and Bandsintown. Tourdates are shown as they are and Nordic Metal is not responsible for any false information.