Hanging Garden

hanging garden
STYLE: , ORIGIN: FinlandFORMED: 2004LABEL: Lifeforce Records
  • Toni Toivonen-Vocals
  • Mikko Kolari-Guitars
  • Jussi Hämäläinen-Guitars
  • Jussi Kirves-Bass
  • Nino Hynninen-Keyboards
  • Sami Forsstén-Drums
  • Riikka Hatakka-Vocals

Hanging Garden was given birth in 2004, playing heavy, doom-oriented metal music. Over a decade, three albums and numerous line-up changes later, the bands style has evolved to a more melodic, contemporary sound. While still retaining strong roots in metal music, Hanging Garden now possesses a versatile, many-layered style of playing, drawing influence and inspiration from music and art far and wide.

First started as a brainchild of Matti Reinola and Ari Nieminen, the band with a complete line-up was put together in 2005. Soon signed by Spinefarm, the band’s first album, Inherit the Eden, was released in 2007, followed by a more post-metal sounding TEOTWAWKI in 2009.

The third album, At Every Door, featuring several line-up changes, was released by Lifeforce Records in 2013. On said album, Nino Hynninen had joined the band playing keyboards, Antti Ruokola had taken the place of Janne Jukarainen in drums, Toni Toivonen had replaced Ari Nieminen on vocals, and Jussi Kirves was recruited as the bassist after Matti Reinola had left the band. Style-wise, the band had taken a significant step away from the classic doom genre on At Every Door, flirting with various styles and genres beyond metal.

The fourth album, to be released in September 2015, titled Blackout Whiteout, takes this change further; the new album has incorporated classical instruments, varying vocal styles, and boasts a many-faced dramatic arc spanning from crushing heaviness to ethereal mellow tunes, and back again.

Just after the completion of Blackout Whiteout, Antti Ruokola leaves the band. Sami Forsstén, known to many of the members from earlier projects, fills the vacant seat.

Blackout Whiteout is followed in 2017 by “I Am Become“, drawing themes from different aspects of death, passing and departure.

Latest full-length album, “Into That Good Night“, depicts fictive narratives of the impending collapse of civilization. Riikka Hatakka, who has lent her voice to the few previous releases, joins the band as a full-time member.


Into That Good Night / 2019

Hanging Garden-Into That Good Night
  • Album Info
  • 2019
  • Lifeforce Records

1. Of Love and Curses
2. Fear, Longing, Hope and the Night
3. Into That Good Night
4. Rain
5. Silent Sentinels
6. Anamnesis
7. Navigator
8. Signs of Affection

Into That Good Night” is the sixth full-length album by Finnish melodic death/doom metal band Hanging Garden, released in 2019 on Lifeforce Records.

I Am Become / 2017

Hanging Garden-I Am Become
  • Album Info
  • 2017
  • Lifeforce Records

1. As Above, So Below
2. Hearthfire
3. Elysium
4. Our Dark Design
5. Kouta
6. From Iron Shores
7. One Hundred Years
8. Forty One Breaths
9. Ennen

Blackout Whiteout / 2015

Hanging Garden-Blackout Whiteout
  • Album Info
  • 2015
  • Lifeforce Records

1. Borrowed Eyes
2. Whiteout
3. Embers
4. Eclipse
5. Aoede
6. Unearth
7. Words That Bear No Meaning
8. My Rising Is Your Fall
9. Blackout

At Every Door / 2013

Hanging Garden-At Every Door
  • Album Info
  • 2013
  • Lifeforce Records

1. Ten Thousand Cranes
2. Ash and Dust
3. Hegira
4. Wormwood
5. At Every Door
6. The Cure
7. Evenfall
8. To End All Ages


Hanging Garden-TEOTWAWKI
  • Album Info
  • 2009
  • Spinefarm Records

1. Where Serpents Dwell
2. The Blackbirds
3. Hands That Decay
4. Times of Disgrace
5. Wolves Cry Out
6. Oceans Away
7. The Fires of Sheol
8. Inherit the Eden

Inherit the Eden / 2007

Hanging Garden-Inherit the Eden
  • Album Info
  • 2007
  • Spinefarm Records

1. Sleep of Ages
2. As the Circle Fades
3. Ethereal Passing
4. Shards of Life
5. Paper Doves
6. Stillborn
7. The Mourners Plain
8. Fall into Tehom


As the decade comes to a close, metal fans will remember all the great releases that had come out in the past ten years. But before we reach 2020, we

December 1, 2019 by Nikki Katsi

I got a thing for Hanging Garden. Don’t tell Katatonia. They’re my new side piece. All joking aside, since the announcement of Katatonia’s hiatus (of which they had recently become

April 10, 2019 by Nikki Katsi
Date Venue City Country Info Tickets
DISCLAIMER! None of the tourdates presented on this page belong to Nordic Metal. All the tourdates content belong to Bandsintown. We are using their data through a written consent between Nordic Metal and Bandsintown. Tourdates are shown as they are and Nordic Metal is not responsible for any false information.