Gates Of Ishtar

Gates Of Ishtar
STYLE: ORIGIN: SwedenFORMED: 1992LABEL: Independent
  • Mikael Sandorf - vocals
  • Andreas Johansson - guitars
  • Tomas Jutenfäldt - guitars
  • Niklas Svensson - bass

Gates of Ishtar is a melodic death metal band from Sweden.

Gates of Ishtar was formed in late 1992 by Mikael Sandorf (vocals), Andreas Johansson (drums), Stefan Nilsson (guitar) and Harald Åberg (bass guitar). Eventually, the band recruited guitarist Tomas Jutenfäldt. During the band’s rehearsal for their demo, Seasons of Frost, Harald coined the band’s name, and Andreas designed the logo.

In May 1995, Seasons of Frost was recorded at Lucichrist studio. This demo led to the group’s contract for its first full-length album on the Finnish label Spinefarm Records. In 1996, their debut album, A Bloodred Path was recorded in the Finnish studio Tico-Tico and released by Spinefarm in June. Due to the popular response to this album, and the band’s dissatisfaction with Spinefarm Records, Gates of Ishtar switched to the German label Invasion Records. A contract for two full-length albums was signed, and the band started to work on their second album, The Dawn of Flames.

Before work on their second album began, Oskar and Niklas left the band due to personal disagreements with other band members. Henrik Åberg who was their live guitarist was recruited to play drums. Still missing a bass guitarist, Tomas asked an old friend, Danjel Röhr, to perform as a session musician for The Dawn of Flames. In early 1997, the band traveled to Örebro to record at Unisound studio. On March 25, 1997, the album was released worldwide.

The band reunited in 2015.

On March 3, 2016, drummer Oskar Karlsson died.


At Dusk and Forever / 1998

Gates Of Ishtar-At Dusk And Forever
  • Album Info
  • 1998
  • Invasion Records

1. Wounds
2. The Nightfall
3. At Dusk and Forever
4. Battles to Come
5. The Burning Sky
6. Never Alone Again
7. Always
8. Forever Beach

At Dusk And Forever is the third full-length album by Swedish melodic death metal band Gates Of Ishtar, released in 1998 on Invasion Records.

The Dawn of Flames / 1997

Gates Of Ishtar-The Dawn Of Flames
  • Album Info
  • 1997
  • Invasion Records

1. Perpetual Dawn (The Arrival of Eternity – End My Pain)
2. Trail of Tears
3. Forever Scarred
4. Dreamfields
5. Dawn of Flames
6. Eternal Sin
7. No Time
8. The Embrace of Winter

The Dawn Of Flames is the second full-length album by Swedish melodic death metal band Gates Of Ishtar, released in 1997 on Invasion Records.

A Bloodred Path / 1996

Gates Of Ishtar-A Bloodred Path
  • Album Info
  • 1996
  • Spinefarm Records

1. Inanna
2. Where the Winds of Darkness Blow
3. The Silence
4. Tears
5. The Dreaming Glade
6. When Daylight’s Gone
7. Into Seasons of Frost
8. A Bloodred Path
9. I Wanna Be Somebody (W.A.S.P. cover)

A Bloodred Path is the debut album by Swedish melodic death metal band Gates Of Ishtar, released in 1996 on Spinefarm Records.

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.