Forest Of Shadows

STYLE: , ORIGIN: SwedenFORMED: 1997LABEL: Firedoom Music
  • Niclas Frohagen-Guitars, Keyboards, Vocals

Forest of Shadows was founded as a solo-project in the autumn of 1997 by Niclas Frohagen. After having recorded the demo “The Silent Cry“, multi-instrumentalist Micce Andersson joined the band. Together they reinterpreted and polished up the old material and released it as promotion material both on CD and online at, all with the intention of attracting a record deal.

Putting songs on turned out to be a winning concept and for a couple of weeks, Forest Of Shadows dominated the metal charts. The English company, Rage Of Achilles (Cult Of Luna, Mistress), had noted this, and offered the band a record deal.

In 2001, the EP “Where Dreams Turn To Dust” was released, and soon afterwards, the work on a full-length album began.

During its production, Niclas and Micce started drifting apart, not as friends, but in terms of musical direction. This resulted in that Niclas finished the album, later on titled “Departure“, on his own.

As if the separation wasn’t bad enough, Rage Of Achilles went out of business just as the album was finished. The record deal was handed over to Finnish label Firedoom, who not only released the album, but also offered a deal for yet another album. This time things went more smooth and in 2008, after three years of slow progression, the album “Six Waves Of Woe” was finished.

Appeared on “Tribute To Katatonia: December Songs” with cover of “Rainroom“.



Among The Dormant Watchers / 2018

  • Album Info
  • 2018
  • Inverse Records

Six Waves of Woe / 2008

Forest Of Shadows-Six Waves Of Woe
  • Album Info
  • 2008
  • Firedoom Records

1. Submission
2. Selfdestructive
3. Detached
4. Moments in Solitude
5. Pernicious
6. Deprived

Six Waves Of Woe is the second full-length album by Swedish doom metal and Forest Of Shadows, released in 2008 on Firedoom Music.

Departure / 2004

Forest Of Shadows-Departure
  • Album Info
  • 2004
  • Firedoom Music

1. Sleeping Death
2. November Dream
3. Bleak Dormition
4. Open Wound
5. Departure

Departure is the debut full-length album by Swedish doom metal band Forest Of Shadows, released in 2004 on Firedoom Music.

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.