ORIGIN: FinlandFORMED: 2000LABEL: Scarlet Records
    • Marcus Lång - vocals (2015-present)
    • Aleksi Hirvonen - guitars (2014-present)
    • Onni Hirvonen - bass (2016-present)
    • Henri Pirkkalainen - drums (2000-present)
    • Jarmo "Jappe" Myllyvirta - keyboards (2000-present)

EXCALION is a Finnish metal band led by Jarmo Myllyvirta that has released four albums since 2005. They are a largely a studio-based outfit that has only toured around their native country.

The band was formed in December 2000 in Konnevesi, central Finland. The name came from a misspelling of Excalibur, suggested by ex-bassist Timo Sahlberg. In the autumn of 2001, EXCALION recorded their first demo, “Forlorn”. The next two years, the band played a few gigs while working on their material. In autumn of 2003, EXCALION made a second demo titled “Obsession to Prosper”. At the end of 2003 the band signed a deal with Sound Riot Records, and the recording of EXCALION‘s debut album was finished at Studio Watercastle in September 2004. The debut album, “Primal Exhale”, was released through Sound Riot Records in autumn 2005. It was released by Stay Gold/Art Union Records in Japan.

Early 2005, before the release, the band went through some line-up changes. Kimmo Hänninen left the band and bassist Timo Sahlberg left shortly after. When the band found a new guitarist, Vesa Nupponen, the decision was made that Tero Vaaja would switch to the bass, and EXCALION would continue as a five-member band with one guitar.

In May 2006, the band began to record their second album, “Waterlines”. The material for this album was more melodic with a greater emphasis on the vocal lines. The recordings once again took place in Watercastle Studio while the band decided to move to Limb Music (except Japan) after issues with the previous record company. It was released March 2, 2007.

On 29 January 2010, the new album called “High Times” was released, again in Limb Music. In 2014 it was announced that Nupponen and Pääkkönen had left the band and were replaced by Marcus Lång on vocals and Aleksi Hirvonen on guitars.

On 5 july 2017, the album named “Dream Alive” was presented on Katse Ravintola, in jyväskylä city. Being this the first show with this new material and formation with Onni Hirvonen on bass guitars.

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.
DISCLAIMER! None of the tourdates presented on this page belong to Nordic Metal. All the tourdates content belong to Bandsintown. We are using their data through a written consent between Nordic Metal and Bandsintown.
Tourdates are shown as they are and Nordic Metal is not responsible for any false information.

No album reviews found for this band.

If you are interested of writing album reviews, contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.
No livereviews found for this band.

If you are interested of going to concerts and writing reviews, contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.
No videos found for this band.