STYLE: , ORIGIN: FinlandFORMED: 1999LABEL: Avalon
  • Erkki Seppänen - Vocals
  • Rami Keränen - Guitar
  • Seppo Kolehmainen - Guitar
  • Akseli Kaasalainen - Keyboards
  • Janne Juutinen - Drums
  • Heikki Ahonen - Bass

Dreamtale is a Finnish symphonic power metal band from Tampere, formed in 1999.

The music project was founded by guitarist Rami Keränen in early 1999. Keränen also served as the band’s vocalist until 2002. The band first gathered fame by playing as Sinergy’s supporting act in Finland, and their second demo, Refuge from Reality, sold out on the day of its release.

Most of the copies of the demo were sold in Japan, which helped the band make itself known to record labels. Dreamtale started receiving recording deal offers from around the world, and in August 2001 signed a deal with Spinefarm Records.

In December 2001, Dreamtale started the recordings of Beyond Reality. After finishing the album, Dreamtale went through changes in their line-up: Pasi Ristolainen replaced bassist Alois Weimer, and a new singer, Tomi Viiltola, joined the group. Keränen is the sole founding member to remain with the band.

Beyond Reality, which was released in Japan in June and elsewhere during July 2002, selling well and gaining the band a following in Japan. To please Japanese fans, the band quickly began recording a second full-length album.

Recordings for their second album Ocean’s Heart were begun in January 2003 at Fantom studios Finland, where the album was then mixed by Samu Oittinen. Finishing touches were added with Mika Jussila’s mastering at Finnvox-studios.

Keyboardist Turkka Vuorinen left the band in 2006 and was replaced by Akseli Kaasalainen. In late 2008, bassist Pasi Ristolainen left the band, mainly because of a lack of motivation. Dreamtale has since replaced him with Heikki Ahonen.

In 2010, they released samples of songs called Angel Of Light, Reasons Revealed and Strangers’ Ode. The 5th album called Epsilonwas released in 2011 through the band’s own label Secret Door Records. This album saw the return of original drummer, Petteri Rosenbom. With Epsilon released also in Russia by Fono Ltd., the band played their first shows abroad in St. Petersburg and Moscow in October 2011.

It was announced on the 14th of January, 2013 that their 6th studio album was being recorded. Timo Tolkki mixed the album in February and the track list was revealed that same month. The album, World Changed Forever, was released on April 26, 2013.

On 9 December 2016, Dreamtale released their 7th studio album, entitled “Seventhian… Memories of Time”. Alongside the 12 new songs that comprise the first disc, re-recordings of several tracks from the band’s earlier albums were also released.


Seventhian ...Memories of Time / 2016

Seventhian ...Memories of Time
  • Album Info
  • 2016
  • Secret Door Records

Disc 1: Seventhian

1. Dreality
2. For Our Future
3. October is Mine
4. Picnic Inferno
5. Cabal Toyboy
6. True Life
7. Reality Reborn
8. Fusion Illusion
9. Names On The Wall
10. Greenback Hunter
11. Moral Messiah
12. Embrace My Scars

Disc 2: Memories Of Time

1. Refuge From Reality
2. Call Of The Wild
3. Angel’s Eyes
4. Two Hundred Men
5. My Only Wish
6. World’s Child
7. Take What the Heavens Create
8. Firebird

Seventhian …Memories of Time is the seventh studio album by Finnish power metal band Dreamtale, released globally on the Secret Door Records label on 9 December 2016 in Europe. It was released earlier in Japan, on 23 November 2016. It comes as a two-piece CD set: the first disc, “Seventhian” contains new songs, and the second disc, “Memories of Time” contains new re-recorded versions of the band’s older tracks, with the disc title being a reference to one of their tracks from their first album Beyond Reality.

World Changed Forever / 2013

World Changed Forever
  • Album Info
  • 2013
  • Secret Door Records

1. The Shore
2. Island of My Heart
3. Tides Of War
4. We Have No God
5. The Signs Were True
6. The Heart After Dark
7. Join The Rain
8. Back To The Stars
9. World Changed Forever
10. My Next Move
11. Dreamtime
12. Destiny’s Chance

World Changed Forever is the sixth studio album by Finnish power metal band Dreamtale. Released on The Secret Door Records label on 26 April 2013 in Finland, it reached number 41 on Suomen virallinen lista, The Official Finnish Charts.

Epsilon / 2011

  • Album Info
  • 2011
  • Secret Door Records

1. Firestorm
2. Angel Of Light
3. Each Time I Die
4. Where Eternal Jesters Reign
5. Fly Away
6. Reasons Revealed
7. Strangers’ Ode
8. Mortal Games
9. Lady of a Thousand Lakes
10. March To Glory

Epsilon is the fifth studio album by Finnish power metal band Dreamtale. Released on The Secret Door record label on 11 May 2011 in Finland, with an earlier 20 April 2011 release in Japan, it reached number 39 on Suomen virallinen lista, The Official Finnish Charts.

Phoenix / 2008

  • Album Info
  • 2008
  • Spinefarm Records / Motley / Marquee / Avalon / Fono

1. Yesterday’s News
2. Eyes Of The Clown
3. Payback
4. Failed States
5. Take What the Heavens Create
6. Great Shadow
7. No Angels No More
8. Faceless Men
9. Firebird
10. The Vigilante

Phoenix is the fourth studio album by Finnish power metal band Dreamtale in 2008.

Phoenix was released in Europe through Motley Ltd., in Japan/Thailand/Korea through Marquee / Avalon and in Russia through Fono Ltd.

Difference / 2005

  • Album Info
  • 2005
  • Spinefarm Records

1. Lost Souls
2. Wings of Icaros
3. New Life
4. Lucid Times
5. Mirror
6. World’s Child
7. Sail Away
8. Fly
9. Secret Door
10. We Are One
11. Green Fields

Difference is the third album of the Finnish power metal band Dreamtale released on 25 April 2005 on Spinefarm Records. The Japanese bonus track “Powerplay” was released as a single, which immediately went number 9 on the official single chart in Finland.
On this album the vocals were sung by Jarkko Ahola, who is no stranger to Finnish metal fans.

Ocean's Heart / 2003

Ocean's Heart
  • Album Info
  • 2003
  • Spinefarm Records

1. Ocean’s Heart
2. Chosen One
3. Angel Eyes
4. Fool’s Gold
5. Two Hundred Men
6. The Awakening
7. Tears
8. Garden of Eternity
9. My Only Wish
10. If You Will Go
11. Rising Wind
12. Return to the Sea
13. Whisper

After one year from Beyond Reality, in 2003, Ocean’s Heart was published.
On this album the vocalist was Tomi Viiltola, but unfortunately the band and Tomi parted ways due to a problematic 400km distance. Ocean’s Heart-album also features the singing talent of Rainer Nygård from Diablo.

After that, in 2004, the band took a break, concentrating on writing new material and recording the third album.

Beyond Reality / 2002

Beyond Reality
  • Album Info
  • 2002
  • Spinefarm Records

1. Intro: The Dawn
2. Memories Of Time
3. Fallen Star
4. Heart’s Desire
5. Where The Rainbow Ends
6. Time Of Fatherhood
7. Dreamland
8. Call Of The Wild
9. Dancing in the Twilight
10. Refuge from Reality
11. Silent Path
12. Farewell…
13. Secret Wish (Japanese bonus track)

Beyond Reality is the 2002 debut album of Dreamtale. Marco Hietala from Nightwish and Tarot sings on track number 4 and 5.

‘Intro’ is actually ‘Hummel Gets the Rockets’ from the soundtrack of The Rock, composed by Hans Zimmer.

The albums was recorded at Deerhouse Studio, 303 Studio, Headline Studio, Finnvox Studios and LaLa-Records Studio during December 2001 – March 2002 and mixed and Mastered at Finnvox during March 2002.

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.