ORIGIN: NorwayFORMED: 1994LABEL: Peaceville Records
    • Vicotnik-Vocals, Guitars
    • Thunberg-Guitars
    • L.E. Måløy-Bass
    • Sekaran-Drums

Dødheimsgard (also known as DHG) is a Norwegian extreme metal band formed in 1994. Dødheimsgard was originally a black metal band, but 1999’s 666 International saw them change into an experimental and avant-garde / industrial metal band. In 2000, they shortened their name to DHG.

Their name,”Dødheimsgard” is a contraction of three words: Død which means ‘death’, heim which means ‘home’ and gard which means (at least in this context) ‘realm’. A natural translation into English would be “Realm of Death”.

The band was founded in the year 1994, the band at the time consisted of three members: Vicotnik (Drums, Backing Vocals), Fenriz (Bass, Additional Vocals) & Aldrahn (Lead Vocals & Guitar). This line up recorded a promotional demo before releasing their debut album Kronet til Konge on Malicious Records in 1995. After the release of the album they recorded another promotional demo.

Sometime after the release of their second promo, Fenriz had left the band, in his place, Alver (Bass), and Apollyon (Guitar, Vocals), joined the band. This line up recorded the album Monumental Possession in December 1995, and released it in 1996.

For their follow up effort, an EP named Satanic Art released in 1998, the band was joined by new members Galder (Guitars), whom at the time was a member of Old Man’s Child and would later go on to join Dimmu Borgir, and Cerberus (Bass), who replaced Alver, & Zweizz (Keyboards & Effects). On this release, Apollyon switched to playing the drums instead of guitar. Sometime after the release of the EP, Galder & Cerberus would depart from the band.

The following year Dødheimsgard recorded the next album in their catalog entitled 666 International, which was released in 1999. For this album the band had a new member, Czral, on Drums, as Apollyon once again switched instruments and played bass.

Sometime after the band had released their previous album, Aldrahn, Zweizz & Apollyon had departed from the band’s ranks.

The band had been working on new material & featured new members Kvohst (Vocals), Thrawn Hellspawn (Guitars) & Clandestine (Bass). When recording the new album, the band featured Mort (Samples), Czral (Drums) & Bliss (Programming). Aldrahn made a guest appearance on the album as well.

In 2006, they completed the new album Supervillain Outcast, which was released in April 2007 by Moonfog Productions and The End Records. On January 4, 2008, it was announced that vocalist Kvohst had left the band. However, in October 2010, he had rejoined and new members Terghl (Drums) & Blargh (Guitars) had joined the band.

Sometime during 2011, the band announced that Kvhost had once again left. In the period following Kvhost’s departure it appeared that members Blargh, Thrawn Hellspawn & Clandestine had also departed from the group.

In 2013, original vocalist, Aldrahn, was announced to have made his return to the group & that the band were working on a new album. The band released their fifth studio album, A Umbra Omega, on March 16, 2015. After the release of the album, new members Thunberg (Guitar) & L.E. Måløy (Bass) had joined the group.

In June 2016 Vicotnik announced that Aldrahn had once again left the band due to strains on their personal relationship. The band continued to tour despite Aldrahn’s absence with Vitcotnik performing lead vocals for the entirety of the shows during their arranged performance dates.

As of January 2018, Dødheimsgard has been working on a new album.

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.
DISCLAIMER! None of the tourdates presented on this page belong to Nordic Metal. All the tourdates content belong to Bandsintown. We are using their data through a written consent between Nordic Metal and Bandsintown.
Tourdates are shown as they are and Nordic Metal is not responsible for any false information.

No album reviews found for this band.

If you are interested of writing album reviews, contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.
No livereviews found for this band.

If you are interested of going to concerts and writing reviews, contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.
No videos found for this band.