Dimension Zero

Dimension Zero
STYLE: , ORIGIN: SwedenFORMED: 1995LABEL: Vic Records
  • Andreas Solveström-Vocals
  • Jesper Strömblad-Guitars, Bass
  • Hans Nilsson-Drums

Dimension Zero is a melodic death metal band based in Gothenburg, Sweden. It was formed in 1995 as a side project by In Flames‘ former guitarists Jesper Strömblad and Glenn Ljungström. The former Marduk drummer and vocalist Jocke Gothberg joined later on vocals, as well as Hans Nilsson (ex-Liers in WaitDiabolique, Crystal Age) on drums.

The band released Penetrations from the Lost World in 1997 before splitting up the following year. They reformed in 2000, and later recorded Silent Night Fever and This Is Hell. Tours have been rare due to members’ other musical commitments.

Musically, they have been described as strictly old-school Swedish death metal in the range of At the GatesUnleashed and Defleshed. Because of Dimension Zero’s inception by In Flames‘ lead guitarist, Jesper Strömblad, their albums have drawn critical comparisons with some of In Flames‘ earlier work. Their latest album, He Who Shall Not Bleed, was released in 2007.

In May 2014, it was announced that the band would reunite for the Gothenburg Sound Festival, which was set to take place in January 2015. In November 2014, a video message from vocalist Jocke on Gothenburg Sound’s official Facobook page announced that Dimension Zero had been forced to cancel due to “family circumstances” and was replaced by Jesper Strömblad’s new band The Resistance. The band is slated to instead reunite for Gothenburg Sound 2016.

On March 31, 2016 Jesper Strömblad announced that Jocke Gothberg and Daniel Antonsson have parted ways with Dimension Zero. The replacement for Jocke Gothberg was later announced as Andy Solveström formerly of Amaranthe.

If you noticed we are missing a video from this artist (Official one) please let us know by sending e-mail to [email protected]

He Who Shall Not Bleed / 2007

Dimension Zero-He Who Shall Not Bleed
  • Album Info
  • 2007
  • Toy's Factory

1. He Who Shall Not Bleed
2. Unto Others
3. A Paler Shade of White (A Darker Side of Black)
4. Hell Is Within
5. Red Dead Heat
6. I Can Hear the Dark
7. Going Deep
8. Is
9. Deny
10. The Was
11. Way to Shine
12. Stayin’ Alive (Bee Gees cover)

He Who Shall Not Bleed is the third album by the Swedish melodic death metal band Dimension Zero.

The sampling at the beginning of the title song is a line by James Gregory from the film Beneath the Planet of the Apes.

“A Paler Shade of White” could be a reference to “A Whiter Shade of Pale”.

This Is Hell / 2003

Dimension Zero-This Is Hell
  • Album Info
  • 2003
  • Regain Records

1. The Introduction to What This Is
2. Dimension Zero
3. Immaculate
4. Blood on the Streets
5. Into and Out of Subsistence
6. The Final Destination
7. Amygdala
8. Killing My Sleep
9. This Light
10. Di’I Minores

This Is Hell is the second album by the Swedish melodic death metal band Dimension Zero.

Glenn Ljungström left after the recording and before the album’s release; he did not appear in the music video for “Immaculate”.

Silent Night Fever / 2002

Dimension Zero-Silent Night Fever
  • Album Info
  • 2002
  • Regain Records

1. Silent Night Fever
2. The Murder-Inn
3. Through the Virgin Sky
4. Your Darkest Hour
5. Not Even Dead
6. They Are Waiting to Take Us
7. Until You Die
8. End
9. Slow Silence

Silent Night Fever is the first album by the Swedish melodic death metal band Dimension Zero, distributed jointly by Century Media and Regain Records. The title is a play on words of the John Travolta film, Saturday Night Fever.

The album was released after six years of demos and EPs which the band had recorded between main projects. Their music has been described as an ode to the early days of Gothenburg death metal, with songwriting more based on the grindcore and thrash metal influences than the NWOBHM inspiration that would permeate later on.

Although not a commercial success, the album received positive critical marks and helped the band to release a second album one year later. A cover of The Beatles’ “Helter Skelter” is on the Japanese edition.

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.