STYLE: ORIGIN: SwedenFORMED: 1989LABEL: Pulverised Records
  • Klas Morberg - Vocals/Guitar
  • Håkan Morberg - Guitar
  • Johan Bolin - Bass
  • Thomas Johnson - Drums

Desultory was part of the first wave of Swedish death metal bands, alongside EntombedDismember, and others. Into Eternity, their Metal Blade debut following a lesser-known EP release, is standard for the genre, energetic and forceful, straddling the line between the more brutal American death style and the melodic Gothenburg variety.

Though not groundbreaking, it was considered a fine album by fans. By most accounts, their followup, Bitterness, is more of the same, but 1996’s Swallow the Snake takes quite a different approach, dropping the death vocals (and, for the most part, death metal itself), for a more heavy rock sound likened by some to Soundgarden. Having been dropped by Metal Blade, they disappeared, but the three members from the Snake album recruited a new fourth member and, continuing the progression from that last album, continued on as the rock act Zebulon, releasing one EP and two LPs.

Aftonbladet has called Desultory’s final album a “fine farewell.”

The band reformed around 2008 and began the process of trying to find a new record deal along with writing new material. Having signed to the Singaporean label Pulverised Records, they released Counting Our Scars to critical acclaim, including the song “This Broken Halo”.

2017 would see the end of Desultory’s tale.

If you noticed we are missing a video from this artist (Official one) please let us know by sending e-mail to [email protected]

Through Aching Aeons / 2017

Desultory-Through Aching Aeons
  • Album Info
  • 2017
  • Pulverized Records

1. Silent Rapture
2. Spineless Kingdom
3. Through Aching Aeons
4. In This Embrace
5. Beneath the Bleeding Sky
6. Slither
7. Divine Blindness
8. Breathing the Ashes
9. Our Departure

Through Aching Aeons is the fifth, and final album by Swedish death metal band Desultory, released in 2017 on Pulverized Records. Desultory would announce their split following the album’s release, with the Swedish press calling this,”A fine farewell.” 

Counting Our Scars / 2010

Desultory-Counting Our Scars
  • Album Info
  • 2010
  • Pulverized Records

1. In a Cage
2. Counting Our Scars
3. Ready to Bleed
4. This Broken Halo
5. The Moment Is Gone
6. Uneven Numbers
7. Dead Ends
8. Leeching Life
9. A Crippling Heritage

Counting Our Scars is the fourth full-length album by Swedish death metal band Desultory, released in 2010 on Pulverised Records, and their first since 1996’s Swallow The Snake. Following Swallow The Snake, Desultory disappeared from the scene after being dropped by Metal Blade Records. The band would reform in 2008 and began looking for a record label, eventually settling down on Pulverized Records. Counting Our Scars would mark a return to Desultory’s death metal sound. 

Swallow the Snake / 1996

Desultory-Swallow the Snake
  • Album Info
  • 1996
  • Metal Blade Records

1. Mushroom Smile
2. The Bitter Man
3. Before Today, Beyond Tomorrow
4. Swallow the Snake
5. In My Veins
6. Blizzard in My Blood
7. Zone Traveller
8. Beneath
9. King of the Valley and the Western Sky
10. Nothing Dies
11. Silent Suffering

Swallow The Snake is the third full-length album by Swedish death metal band Desultory, released in 1996 on Metal Blade Records. Following the departure of Stefan Pöge, the band changed styles; Swallow The Snake is a more rock-oriented album likened to bands like Soundgarden, as opposed to the previous two albums with the traditional Swedish death metal sound. This album would go on to receive terrible reviews and would lead to Metal Blade Records dropping Desultory. The band would disappear from the scene, with three members of this album continuing in this style, naming themselves Zebulon. 

Bitterness / 1994

  • Album Info
  • 1994
  • Metal Blade Records

1. Life Shatters
2. Left Behind
3. A Closing Eye
4. Taste of Tragedy
5. Bleeding
6. Among Mortals
7. Enslaved
8. Winter
9. Cold Bitterness

Bitterness is the second full-length album by Swedish death metal band Desultory, released in 1994 on Metal Blade Records. 

Into Eternity / 1993

Desultory-Into Eternity
  • Album Info
  • 1993
  • Metal Blade Records

1. Into Eternity
2. Depression
3. Tears
4. The Chill Within
5. Visions
6. Twisted Emotions
7. Forever Gone
8. Passed Away
9. Asleep

Into Eternity is the debut album by Swedish death metal band Desultory, released in 1993 on Metal Blade Records. 

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.