STYLE: ORIGIN: FinlandFORMED: 1990LABEL: Xtreem Music
  • Esa Lindén-Vocals
  • Jussi Kiiski-Guitars
  • Tuomas Karppinen-Guitars
  • Sami Vesanto-Bass
  • Tuomo Latvala-Drums

Demigod are a death metal band formed in 1990 in Loimaa, Finland. The band’s debut album Slumber of Sullen Eyes is highly regarded in the heavy metal community. Terrorizer included it in their list of “40 death metal albums that you must hear”, commenting: “It is with this often overlooked classic that one of the greatest love stories of all time unfolded: Florida’s pummeling groove meets Sweden’s buzzsaw guitar work in a union so deliciously evil it could move the hardest of bangers to tears of joy.”

Demigod was a popular group in the death metal underground of the 1990s; however, despite a steady status and a healthy number of gigs, the band split up in the mid-90s. Demigod re-formed in 1998, and was eventually signed by Spikefarm, a sublabel of the major Finnish metal record company Spinefarm, who released the band’s second album Shadow Mechanics.

Somewhere between 2002 and 2006, this co-operation came to an end, and the band recorded the follow-up to Shadow Mechanics without a label. The recordings were finished in the summer of 2006, and the album was released by the band’s own label, Open Game Productions, in 2007. Since late 2007, worldwide distribution has been handled by the Spanish label Xtreem Music, leaving only the Scandinavian market for the band’s own label. Xtreem Music has also re-released the debut album, previously long out of print.

In 2012, Esa Linden and several of the other “Slumber of Sullen Eyes” members took part in several reunion shows. After the string of shows was brought to a close, the band intended to begin writing another album.

If you noticed we are missing a video from this artist (Official one) please let us know by sending e-mail to [email protected]

Let Chaos Prevail / 2007

Demigod-Let Chaos Prevail
  • Album Info
  • 2007
  • Xtreem Music

1. Not Dead Enough
2. Let Chaos Prevail
3. Dark Turns Black
4. Cult of Sickness
5. God Said Suffer
6. To See the Last One Di
7. Self-Caged
8. End of Evolution
9. The Uncrowned
10. Baptized in Enmity

Let Chaos Prevail is the third full-length album by Finnish death metal band Demigod, released in 2007 on Xtreem Music. 

Shadow Mechanics / 2002

Demigod-Shadow Mechanics
  • Album Info
  • 2002
  • Spikefarm Records

1. My Blood Your Blood
2. In the Mirrors
3. Lost Within
4. Where the Shadows Clash
5. Trail of Guilt
6. Gates of Lamentation
7. Silent with Earth
8. Derailed
9. Crimson Tears
10. Drifting
11. Burning

Shadow Mechanics is the second full-length album by Finnish death metal band Demigod, released in 2002 on Spikefarm records. This was the first album Demigod released since reforming in 1998. 

Slumber of Sullen Eyes / 1992

Demigod-Slumber of Sullen Eyes
  • Album Info
  • 1992
  • Drowned Productions

1. Apocryphal
2. As I Behold I Despise
3. Dead Soul
4. The Forlorn
5. Tears of God
6. Slumber of Sullen Eyes
7. Embrace the Darkness / Blood of the Perished
8. Fear Obscures from Within
9. Transmigration Beyond Eternities
10. Towards the Shrouded Infinity
11. Perpetual Ascent
12. Darkened
13. Perpetual Ascent
14. Anxiety
15. Reincarnation
16. Succumb To The Dark

Slumber of Sullen Eyes is the debut album by the Finnish death metal band Demigod. The album was released in 1992 on the Drowned Productions label. It was out of print for years but has been re-released worldwide by Xtreem Music in 2006. This remastered 2006 version includes the 1991 demo Unholy Domain as a bonus. The colour scheme of the artwork is somewhat different on the re-release, emphasizing copper and dark brown instead of the red-green-black of the original. As even the re-release CD had become hard to get, it was repressed in 2009.

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.