STYLE: ORIGIN: FinlandFORMED: 2007LABEL: Napalm Records
  • Mikko Häkkinen - Vocals
  • Helena Haaparanta - Vocals
  • Jakke Viitala - Guitars
  • Miska Sipiläinen - Bass
  • Janne Jukarainen - Drums

Wearing many a mask, Crimfall’s cinemascopic metal eludes easy descriptions. Harsh influences from their northern homeland and its violent roots meet echoes of black metal, but it is all iced with epic orchestration and symphonic soundtrack atmosphere. The melodies convey soundscapes of majesty and long lost histories as the interplay of Mikko’s demonic screams and Helena’s heavenly vocals bring forth the raw despair and beauty, painting contrasts with a heavy hand as seasons of war cycle in their unforgiving descending spiral.

Crimfall’s story began in 2007 in Finland as Jakke Viitala gathered talented musicians around him to drive forth his lifelong vision of music that would respect no boundaries. Three albums have been released since then: debut As the Path Unfolds… (2009), and The Writ of Sword (2011), which they supported with European tours. Crimfall is now known for uncompromising visual live shows and diverse albums crafted with patience, as they never do anything half-hearted.

After six years of battle preparations, Amain – set to be released on August 25th, 2017 by Metal Blade Records – is their most ambitious album, combining familiar elements with fresh inspiration, and wreathed in massive crisp production from Fascination Street Studios. Featuring music that spans from monumental orchestrations to songs whispered over fading pyres, Amain contains layers upon layers of grand melodies woven between jagged shadows. On this latest release, Crimfall also continues to sing the stories of wars waged in vain, advocating freedom from religious dogmas and the bloody chains of tradition.


Amain / 2017

  • Album Info
  • 2017
  • Metal Blade Records
  1. Eschaton
  2. The Last Of Stands
  3. Ten Winters Apart, Pt. 1: Far From Any Fate
  4. Ten Winters Apart, Pt. 2: Song Of Mourn
  5. Ten Winters Apart, Pt. 3: Sunder The Seventh Seal
  6. Ten Winters Apart, Pt. 4: Dawn Without A Sun
  7. Mother Of Unbelievers
  8. It’s A Long Road
  9. Wayward Verities
  10. Until Falls The Rain

The Writ Of Sword / 2011

  • Album Info
  • 2011
  • Spinefarm Records
  1. Dicembré
  2. Storm Before The Calm
  3. Frost Upon Their Graves
  4. Cáhceravga
  5. Shackles Of The Moirai
  6. The Writ Of Sword
  7. Geađgái
  8. Silver And Bones
  9. Son Of North

As The Path Unfolds... / 2009

  • Album Info
  • 2009
  • Napalm Records
  1. Neothera Awakening
  2. The Crown Of Treason
  3. Wildfire Season
  4. Where Waning Winds Lead
  5. Sun Orphaned
  6. Ascension Pyre
  7. Shadow Hearth
  8. Non Serviam
  9. Aubade
  10. Hundred Shores Distant
  11. Novembré
No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.