Ceremonial Oath

Ceremonial Oath
STYLE: ORIGIN: SwedenFORMED: 1989LABEL: Century Media Records
  • Oscar Dronjak-Vocals, Guitars
  • Jesper Strömblad-Bass
  • Anders Iwers-Guitars
  • Markus Nordberg-Drums

Ceremonial Oath is a Swedish melodic death metal band who formed in 1989 under the name “Desecrator“, changed their name to Ceremonial Oath in 1991 and disbanded in 1995. During their short career they released three demos, one EP and two full-length albums. Their influence is greater than their short lifespan suggests: several of the band members would later create or join metal bands that would gain fame and fortune on the future metal scene, such as In Flames, an influential band to the melodic death metal genre; and Hammerfall, a band who would greatly influence the awakened interest in power metal and traditional heavy metal.

Ceremonial Oath reunited for an appearance at the inaugural edition of The Gothenburg Sound festival in January 5–6, 2013 at Trädgår’n in Gothenburg, Sweden, and also made appearances on a few other festivals later the same year. In addition to that, a remixed and remastered version of the 1993 album The Book of Truth was re-released in the beginning of 2013.

If you noticed we are missing a video from this artist (Official one) please let us know by sending e-mail to [email protected]

Carpet / 1995

Ceremonial Oath-Carpet
  • Album Info
  • 1995
  • Black Sun Records

1. The Day I Buried
2. Dreamsong
3. Carpet
4. The Shadowed End
5. One of Us / Nightshade
6. Immortalized
7. Hallowed Be Thy Name (Iron Maiden cover)

Carpet is the second and final studio album by Ceremonial Oath released in 1995 on Black Sun Records. The band would break up following this album; bassist Jesper Strömblad would move on to In Flames. Vocalist/Guitarist Oscar Dronjak would leave before the release of this album, and the vocals were handled by Anders Fridén. 

The Book of Truth / 1993

Ceremonial Oath-The Book of Truth
  • Album Info
  • 1993
  • Modern Primitive

1. Prologue: Sworn to Avenge
2. Chapter I: The Invocator
3. Chapter II: For I Have Sinned – The Praise
4. Chapter III: Enthroned
5. Chapter IV: Only Evil Prevails
6. Chapter V: Thunderworld (Welcome to Forever)
7. Chapter VI: Lords of Twilight
8. Chapter VII: Ceremonial Oath
9. Chapter VIII: The Lost Name of God
10. Chapter IX: The Book of Truth
11. Chapter X: Hellbound

The Book of Truth is the debut studio album by Ceremonial Oath. The album was released in 1993 through Modern Primitive Records.

No news found for this band.

Is your pencil sharp? Do you like writing? Contact us and maybe you could become a part of Nordic Metal Team.