Barren Earth

Barren Earth
STYLE: , , ORIGIN: FinlandFORMED: 2007LABEL: Century Media Records
  • Jón Aldará-Vocals
  • Sami Yli-Sirniö-Guitars
  • Janne Perttilä-Guitars
  • Olli-Pekka Laine-Bass
  • Marko Tarvonen-Drums
  • Antti Myllynen-Keyboards

Barren Earth was formed in Helsinki in the Autumn of 2007. This new ambitious, progressive death metal band was originally conceived in late 2006. With a head full of new, brutal, yet melodic songs, Olli-Pekka Laine asked drummer Marko Tarvonen to form a new progressive death metal group with him. Around 2005, Tarvonen, keyboardist Kasper Mårtenson, and Laine played in a prog-rock project called The Camel Gang (influenced by The James Gang and English prog-rock band Camel), so they knew they already had the chemistry. Tarvonen agreed to go for it, Mårtenson and guitarist Janne Perttilä joined the band as well, and little by little, things started snowballing towards the first incarnation of Barren Earth.

At the end of 2007, Tarvonen, Laine, Mårtenson and Perttilä gathered together and laid down the final plans. Still lacking a lead guitarist, the guys called their old friend, Sami Yli-Sirniö, as they knew his playing style to be a perfect match. Rehearsals began immediately, and by the summer of 2008, Barren Earth found themselves in the studio, recording the four first songs they had put together. When it came down to finding a vocalist, the name of Mikko Kotamäki popped up. The band knew that Kotamäki’s skills in growling and singing were what the fresh promotional recording screamed for. Luckily he agreed to join, and Barren Earth had found its final form.

The music of Barren Earth combines elements of modern and traditional death metal, with 70’s prog rock and folk. Among the band’s influences are artists like Paradise Lost, Opeth, Pink Floyd, Jethro Tull, and also some pioneers of Finnish prog.

The members’ individual backgrounds in many internationally known and acclaimed outfits is a testament to the quality of the band’s music. These same backgrounds are obviously also echoed in Barren Earth’s music.

If you noticed we are missing a video from this artist (Official one) please let us know by sending e-mail to [email protected]

A Complex of Cages / 2018

Barren Earth - A Complex of Cages
  • Album Info
  • 2018
  • Century Media Records

 1. The Living Fortress
2. The Ruby
3. Further Down
4. Zeal
5. Scatterprey
6. Solitude Pith
7. Dysphoria
8. Spire
9. Withdrawal


A Complex of Cages is the fourth studio album of the Finnish metallers Barren Earth. It was released on March 30, 2018 by Century Media Records.

On Lonely Towers / 2015

Barren Earth - On Lonely Towers
  • Album Info
  • 2015
  • Century Media
  1. From the Depths of Spring
  2. Howl
  3. Frozen Processions
  4. A Shapeless Derelict
  5. Set Alight
  6. On Lonely Towers
  7. Chaos, the Songs Within
  8. The Vault

The Devil’s Resolve / 2012

Barren Earth - The Devil's Resolve
  • Album Info
  • 2012
  • Peaceville Records

1. Passing of the Crimson Shadows
2. The Rains Begin
3. Vintage Warlords
4. As It Is Written
5. The Dead Exiles
6. Oriental Pyre
7. White Fields
8. Where All Stories End
9. Martyrs Of Devotion (Bonus Track)
10. World In Haze (Bonus Track)

The Devil’s Resolve is the second full-length album by Finnish progressive death metal band Barren Earth. The album is said to contain even more 1970s progressive influences while keeping the brutality associated with the band. On their website, the band stated that twelve songs were written originally, hinting that bonus tracks may be released on future versions of the album. The Devil’s Resolve was released on March 12, 2012.

Curse of the Red River / 2010

Barren Earth - Curse of the Red River
  • Album Info
  • 2010
  • Peaceville Records

1. Curse of the Red River
2. Our Twilight
3. Forlorn Waves
4. Flicker
5. The Leer
6. The Ritual of Dawn
7. Ere All Perish
8. Cold Earth Chamber
9. Deserted Morrows

Curse of the Red River is the debut studio album of the Finnish progressive death metal band Barren Earth. It was released on March 31, 2010, through Peaceville Records. The album led the band to receive the title of “Newcomer of the year” in 2011 at the Finnish Metal Awards, and “Best debut album” at the Metal Storm Awards in 2010.


Helsinki based progressive death metal band BARREN EARTH finally plays a headline show in their hometown and the opening act, OCEANHOARSE, can be surely considered one of the latest sensations of

April 4, 2018 by steelrain